RSS

I Don’t FEEL Like It!

24 Jan

“I Don’t FEEL like it!”
Ever heard that one?
I wish I had a dollar for each time one of my boys said that when I asked him to do something!

A few years ago our Pastor, Tom Mullins, was speaking on Palm Sunday. His statement, “The battle was won in the Garden,” really made me stop and think. The battle was “I don’t FEEL like it.” Mark 14:32-41 records the story. Jesus knew from the moment of His birth that He was sent to earth to die. Yet, as the reality of that thought bore down on Him, three times Jesus prayed, “take this cup from me” – basically saying  “Can’t we do things another way? This isn’t what I want to do.”

But in the end He said, “Not what I will but what You will.”
That’s the victory – submitting to what God wants, the way He wants, when He wants,
even when I don’t FEEL like it.

all our junk nailed to the cross!

As I was mulling over this recently, a new thought struck me.
(I love how God’s Word is living and active – fresh every time I study it!)
Jesus sweated as He was in the process of submitting.
I realized that submission can be a struggle and process, (and I am so not a “process” kind of person!)

How often do I want a quick easy response from my boys?! Yet Jesus prayed 3 times and sweated profusely in the process of saying, “I don’t FEEL like it, but I’ll do Your will.” He prayed for at least one hour according to Mark 14:37, probably more than that.  That’s not a quick easy response in my book! I’d have a conniption if one of the boys said, “I’ll be back in an hour mom. Just need to go pray,” in response to something I’d asked him to do!!

God is teaching me to be patient (dare I say that? :-)) with the boys and allow them the process of submission –  sweat and all. “I don’t FEEL like it” isn’t an excuse for disobedience, but neither can I rush the process of God dealing with their hearts. He does such a better job than I do anyway! And I need to be a good model for the boys. I need to let them know that there are times I don’t want to do something, but I am doing it because God wants me to, or times that I want to do something and I don’t because God wants me to. The ultimate victory is submitting to God’s will.

How about you?
Are there things you don’t want to do but you do anyway out of obedience?
How do you handle the “I don’t FEEL like it” response in your house?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “I Don’t FEEL Like It!

  1. My Life Interrupted

    January 24, 2012 at 8:39 am

    Awesome blog Michelle!

     
  2. Heidi

    January 25, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    I am excited to see your blog here… and can’t wait to visit it again and again!

    I definitely feel your pain when I don’t get the response from my boys that I expect. Everyday I feel like I am learning a new lesson on patience.

    As to the other question… I definitely have moments where I am saying to God, “I don’t feel like it!” One simple one can be not feeling like going to church. I do so out of obedience and wow… EVERY SINGLE TIME it is an amazing lesson to me about God’s love for me and how He knows what is good for me.

    Love and hugs to you!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 4, 2012 at 10:29 am

      Hey Heidi. Don’t you love how God blesses our obedience! I really like it when I can see it in real time. I know sometimes we have to wait, but when God shows His hand I love it! It’s neat to be able to share life together. I linked your blog to mine – another achievement for me! 🙂 Hugs to you, girl. Love you!

       
  3. Kim

    January 25, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    This is awesome. I remember having a girls bible study with you as our fearless leader.
    I guess this is the next best thing to actually being together.
    Thank you for this thought provoking blog.
    Love you!!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 4, 2012 at 10:27 am

      Thanks, Kim! I do remember that girls Bible study. Not so sure about the fearless leader, but it was good to be together! 🙂 Congratulations, by the way, on 20 years with David – shoes and all 🙂 Tim & I are celebrating 20 in June and I can’t believe it. We’ve all got some good history together, don’t we? Sure do love you!

       
  4. elizabeth ann babbitt

    January 27, 2012 at 8:37 am

    Your insight gives new meaning to the phrase “sweat it out.” Thanks for the depth of wisdom in this reflection. I love you.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 4, 2012 at 10:26 am

      Mom, I never thought about the implications of that phrase! Cool. And any wisdom I have I gleaned from you! I love you, too.

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
