RSS

What are you Waiting for?

01 Feb

I don’t like waiting. For some reason that word has a negative connotation for me. I picture fingers drumming on the table, bangs being blown sky high by the pouty-lip sigh coming from the mouth. Nothing pretty there.  Imagine if that was the attitude of the Israelites as they walked around Jericho for 7 days. I can hear it now,

  • Haven’t we been walking around in circles for the past 40 years?
  • I know our shoes haven’t worn out, but this is pushing it.
  • How many miles do you think we’ve logged?
  • Sure wish our parents would have taken these guys out 40 years ago.
  • What? Gotta go around again? When are we ever gonna get in?

The picture I see is a group of people dragging their feet making a big cloud of dust. Again, nothing pretty there! Certainly not a picture that would inspire fear in an enemy!

I was challenged a few Sundays ago to view waiting in a different light. In his series called “Chasing the Giants” on Joshua, Pastor Todd Mullins told us that the word “wait” actually means “hoping” or “looking expectantly for.”  Now look at the picture:

  • I wonder what’s gonna happen when we shout?
  • Do you think we’re getting in their heads?
  • I can hardly keep quiet!
  • I can’t wait to see their faces when those trumpets blow!
  • This is gonna be great!

Now people are walking with purpose, confidence, expecting great things, and inspiring fear in the enemy!

I am waiting right now for God to move in an area of my life. Because of Pastor Todd’s message, I am waiting with a different attitude. I am choosing to praise God for the result I can’t see, and I’ll keep walking (and yes, sometimes I feel like I am walking around in circles!).

I love the chorus of this praise song,

“Waiting here for You, with our hands lifted high in praise.”

That’s my new attitude and my new goal.

Are you waiting for something? Got any stories of God’s perfect timing? Can’t wait to hear yours and share mine when it happens! 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “What are you Waiting for?

  1. Erin

    February 1, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Well said my friend. Yes I am not very patiently yet prayerfully waiting for some life changing decisions to be made, I’m thankful you are beside me (or sometimes. To the back left if in running formation) also in prayer!!

    Love the blogs

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 1, 2012 at 2:19 pm

      Yep, I’m mostly behind you! 🙂 But beside you in life. We will lift our hands in praise together, right?!Love ya!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
