RSS

It’s the Small Stuff

16 Feb

I’ve decided it’s harder to teach the heart than teach academics! Academics are objective, list-oriented, and grade-able (not sure that’s a word, but you get the point!) I love academics!!

Look how clean, how black & white, how easy to see results! 🙂

Hearts are organic, fluid, in-process. Up & down. On a journey. And I think I’ve mentioned I’m not a process person! I like the destination, the results! And ultimately, I don’t control their hearts, God does. Ouch! (for me, anyway, because I like to control!)

Not so neat, little jagged around the edges...

Today there’s a blog link to the MOB Society (I love that name!) where we brag on our boys. Of course, my first reaction is to record what amazing things they’ve done. But then God convicted me that I need to record the Small Stuff – the regular, daily choices the guys make.

  • Choices like pushing through “I don’t FEEL like it
  • Choices to forgive
  • Choices to think of others more importantly than themselves
  • And how do you get pictures of those things?? (Another reason heart training is harder! Can’t document it as well.) Although, I do have one picture that’s worth 1000 words, which is why I have it – to remember that God changes hearts through His Word. He’s so much more effective than I am!!

Luke 16:10 says, “If you are faithful in little things (Small Stuff), you will be faithful in large ones.” and Matthew 25:23  gives us the encouragement that the Small Stuff matters!

What Small Stuff is going on in your life or your family’s life today? It matters!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “It’s the Small Stuff

  1. Michelle Eichner

    February 16, 2012 at 9:35 am

    And how cool is this?! RIght as I was posting (literally!), one of my men came out of his room and said, “Sorry for my bad attitude this morning, Mom.” GOD IS AMAZING!!!

     
  2. Allison hoffman

    February 16, 2012 at 11:52 am

    what a great reminder – it is the small daily decisions that culminate into a life of obedience to Christ!!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 16, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      and I need to remember that daily, Allison, & model it for my boys!

       
  3. ginger

    February 16, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    you are an amazing mom..keep doing what you are doing and you will see the fruit!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 16, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      Oh, Ginger, thanks so much for that encouragement! I appreciate it!

       
  4. Gidget

    February 16, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    Wow – that is so sweet! What a wonderful heart you are training! You’re absolutely right that training the heart is not for the weak, that’s for sure!

    I had a little moment last night where I was just blown away by my son – I tripped a little while going into his room to check on him. it woke him up from a deep sleep, and instead of being upset about being awoken, he asked me “Did you hurt yourself?” “Are you ok?” These are the moments when I think HALLELUJAH God is working even through me. 🙂

     
  5. Michelle Eichner

    February 16, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    What a neat story, Gidget! I love those moments when we see God at work. Thanks for sharing!

     
  6. Audra Caldwell

    February 16, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    Love this! and I totally agree it is easier to teach academics than heart issues… I am reminded of that everyday! Thank you for the Share!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 17, 2012 at 12:01 pm

      You’re welcome, Audra. I need the daily reminder, too! 🙂

       
  7. Allyson

    February 17, 2012 at 11:47 am

    Wonderful thoughts, and so true. It is so much easier to teach facts from books than it is to guide hearts, modeling Chirst-like behavior. I find this especially true because my boys are with me pretty much 24-7, watching every action and reaction. It’s not that I’m performing, but if I’m not fully yielded to the Holy Spirit’s control, moment by moment, my boys are the first to notice. They’re all teachable moments though, the good and bad. Thankful that God’s not finished with my heart either, and for the privilege of growing right along with my boys. Thanks for sharing your heart with us. *hugs*

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 17, 2012 at 12:09 pm

      How true Allyson! Modeling is hard for me. Thanks for the reminder that God can use the bad moments for good! Hugs to you, too! 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
