RSS

“Cuz I want my life to change”

18 Feb

What a Friday! Here’s the quote of the day (or maybe the year!!)

Mommy, can we do God-time together ‘cuz I want my life to change

Here’s the story. Our youngest has really been struggling lately with a negative attitude. Thursday evening into Friday morning were more of the same. I (key word here) had done everything I (key word) knew how to do to get him to change that, including praying, quoting scripture I thought would help, disciplining, etc.etc.

Enter God. I called Tim to pray with me, but before we could connect, David heard these verses as Michael said his Bible memory passage for the week:

Matthew 6:2-23

Michael said, “What about someone who’s blind?” I explained that this passage isn’t talking about your actual eyesight and whether or not you need glasses. It’s talking about your focus. If you focus on what’s good, you’ll shine with God’s light. If you don’t you won’t. Then I told David how his focus on the negative was bringing darkness into his life, but God wanted him to be full of light. (Trust me, this is ALL the Holy Spirit working here, not me! I already told you I‘d done everything I knew to do!)

A few minutes later, David came to me a little teary-eyed and said; Mommy, can we do God-time together ‘cuz I want my life to change. Unbelievable!! God took a passage I never would have chosen to accomplish the purpose He had for David – changing his heart. Because God’s Word is

  • Powerful!
  • Active! 
  • Sharper than a 2-edged sword 
  • It does not return void
  • It accomplishes the purposes God has for it. 
  • Every bit of it. Every time. 

I am in awe!! I wish you could have seen the change in David for the rest of the day. Of course he still had some struggles, but the overall attitude change was literally the difference between night and day (how perfect is that, considering the verses God used!) Like I said, I am in awe! We have an amazing God!!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to ““Cuz I want my life to change”

  1. Tara@PohlkottePress

    February 20, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    wonderful moment with your son 🙂

     
  2. Jen

    February 21, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    God blows me away every time I allow Him to intervene and not try to parent all on my own. What an encouraging story! I am so glad you linked this up to SDG. Welcome!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 21, 2012 at 4:44 pm

      Thanks so much, Jen. I love what SDG is all about!

       
  3. Laura Boggess

    February 22, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Wow. Isn’t God good? Just when it seems there are no solutions, enter God. 🙂 Makes me smile. So glad you linked up to Playdates with God this week.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 28, 2012 at 10:55 am

      Thanks, Laura. He is amazing and I am very blessed!! 🙂

       
  4. Kasey

    February 22, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    When we stop trying so hard and step aside and let God do the work we can’t, the result is mind-blowing! This incident is such a wonderful testimony to the power of the Father! Bless you, Mama, for being sensitive to the call and heeding it!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 22, 2012 at 9:35 pm

      You are so right, Kasey! Thanks for your encouragement. 🙂

       
  5. glendachilders

    February 22, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    It is such a lovely thing to have God’s help as we parent.

    Fondly,
    Glenda

    ps. Welcome to the Soli Sisters.

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
