RSS

Unaffected

21 Feb

We’ve been watching the bald eagles and their nest in Decorah, IA. It’s great science. 🙂 So far this year they have 2 eggs. Last night it snowed in Decorah.

Today I saw a picture that got me thinking. If you look closely, you’ll see a bald eagle’s head sticking out of the snow just left of the center of the picture toward the top of the nest. As I read information on the eagles and saw how God has created them to withstand the elements, I saw a great spiritual analogy.

Unaffected. Mama Eagle teaches me

  • Focus on God’s Purpose for me is key to being Unaffected by tough times. Mama Eagle’s purpose is to protect those eggs. She stuck with it through a snow storm last night!
  • Just because it isn’t pleasant doesn’t mean I change course or loose focus. Mama Eagle didn’t panic because of a snow storm and try to come up with an alternate plan to stop the snow. God gave her what she needed to withstand the snow, so she stuck with the God’s plan. His is best, anyway!
  • Perseverance pays off. I just have to wait (not my favorite thing to do!)
  • Circumstances don’t change my Purpose and Calling. She’s still Mama Eagle. She’ll sit on those eggs and care for those babies through any weather until they’re ready to fly.
  • Circumstances don’t change the Truth of God’s Word. Matthew 7:24-25 “Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 25 The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock.” What stability that brings!
  • When I’m Unaffected I show my trust in God. Mama Eagle didn’t get in a tiz (like I would have!). She calmly waited out the storm and weathered it just fine.

This is a great visual reminder of Matthew 14:22-31. When Peter focused on Jesus, Peter was Unaffected. When Peter focused on circumstances, he sank!

My goal is to be Unaffected this week.
My biggest challenge will be not letting my boys’ behavior affect mine!
How about you?

 
14 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Unaffected

  1. Rich Kenney

    February 21, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    Wonderful analogy and interesting photo. Great post!

     
  2. Theresa (@RedOakLane)

    February 22, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    This is AWESOME! Thank you for linking up! I love that you found a way to incorporate God’s word, too!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 22, 2012 at 2:40 pm

      Thanks for your encouragement and enthusiasm Theresa! I appreciate it. Trust me – it’s all God! 🙂

       
  3. Ticia

    February 24, 2012 at 9:04 am

    What a great analogy. I need to work harder at finding those in our lessons.

    Coming over from Look what we did!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 24, 2012 at 9:32 am

      Thanks, Ticia. Love your blog name. Hopefully I’ll get in on that Enchanted Thursday hop someday! Thanks for sharing.

       
  4. Joan

    February 25, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    Great analogy, Michelle! I love how God uses His creation to teach us His truth.

    Blessings to you and thank you for linking up at Reflections of His Grace.

     
  5. Dionne

    February 28, 2012 at 8:40 am

    What a BEAUTIFUL analogy. I so needed to hear that today. Glad to have stumbled to your blog from soli de gloria. I like how you brought up the truth in God’s word…that verse was good for me to read again. I like how you say “unaffected”…with my boys I always say to myself, “Don’t react, just respond.” I tend to react more. Thank you for inspiring me today!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 28, 2012 at 10:39 am

      Praise God, Dionne, and thanks so much for sharing! I appreciate the encouragement!

       
  6. 3dlessons4life

    February 28, 2012 at 8:49 am

    Love what you gleaned from examining the eagle — some new thoughts for me. It’s so hard to not get your feathers all ruffled. Isn’t it? Thanks for the reminder that I need to keep my focus on Christ in the midst of the wintery blast. So glad to find you on here. I am a Florida girl, too. 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 28, 2012 at 10:43 am

      It’s a little easier to deal with virtual snow, isn’t it? 🙂 Romans 1:20 – I love how God uses EVERYTHING to bring our focus on Him.

       
  7. Jen

    February 28, 2012 at 9:56 am

    You know, I have a bad habit of complaining about the difficult things instead of rejoicing that He gives me the strength to rise to the occasion. I love this analogy. Thank you for being a part of SDG!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      February 28, 2012 at 10:44 am

      I’m enjoying the SDG community. I’m glad you were encouraged, Jen.

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
