RSS

Blogging Blessings AND BATTLE!

01 Mar

AM I SHOCKED?
NO!
Surprised?
Of course not!

Whenever I sit down to catalog God’s blessings in the form of my boys’ great behavior, things get nasty! Today was right on track. Here’s why I’m writing this post:  to testify to the fact that God’s Word WORKS! Absolutely! Every time!

Yesterday – wrote Blogging Blessings.
Yea. Nice, warm & fuzzy!

Today – WAR ZONE!
Ugly, exhausting, maddening!

ALL THREE of them had spiritual battlesbig, ugly ones! Ones that had me in prayer mode and almost sent me to my prayer closet. This is life – the constant struggle. And, personally, one of my biggest drawbacks to home schooling. I see the struggle all too often!! What’s worse, I often get caught up in the struggle instead of modeling what should be done. Today I went into Battle Mode and here’s what we did.

  1. God convicted me that the struggle wasn’t with the boys, “but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” Ephesians 6:12
  2. God convicted me that I needed to let the boys know that fact – the battle was spiritual
  3. We had a PowWow in the living room where we…

Bible

  • read James 5:16 “Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.”
  • Confessed our sins out loud (me too!), and prayed for each other.
  • Talked about spiritual warfare and that His Word is a mighty weapon to pull down fortresses!!
  • Recited Psalm 1 and Psalm 8:2, “From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise because of your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger.”
  • Praised God “popcorn style” for Who He is and what He’s done. We used a nerf-type football to toss underhanded to each other. Worked well for a while, then….well…. boys will be boys…. I’m sure you can picture it!

Our pastor recently said that when we praise, the enemy has to SHUT UP! It happened today! By the end of our praise time the boys were laughing. They could see the change in their attitudes. God is faithful!

1boys

It’s only lunch time, so I’m sure we’ll have a few more battles today,
but I just had to testify to the fact that when we obey, God blesses!!
His Word WORKS!
Absolutely!
Every time!!
HALLELUJAH! 🙂

 
13 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Blogging Blessings AND BATTLE!

  1. Mandy

    March 1, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    Love it. Thank you.

     
  2. Amy @ byhisdesign5

    March 2, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    Love it! I, too, felt the spiritual battles when I began actively looking of the little blessings in life. But the more I recognize those small everyday blessings, the more Satan is pushed out of our lives. Thanks for sharing

     
  3. Gidget

    March 3, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    Wow – I really need to remember this plan of action! Whenever we sit down to our Bible study, the enemy attacks big time! We have arguments over where feet are, who’s making noise while eating, and who can’t seem to sit still. It’s been such a struggle for me that the rest of our subjects are fine, but Bible is where the most conflict occurs.

    I think we need to start our time together with more PRAISE before diving into the Knowledge part…. Thank you for sharing, Michelle!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 3, 2012 at 8:05 pm

      Oh Gidget, I totally relate! Memorizing anything BUT Scripture seems to come easily, but that… well… and we have many of the same issues during devotions, etc. I’m so glad you were blessed! One good thing about the battle – it means we’re active, right?! Press on and Praise on, my friend! 🙂

       
  4. Joan

    March 4, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    Great post! Yes there is power in praise!

     
  5. 3dlessons4life

    March 5, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Your pastor is spot on. Thanks for this reminder. So glad I stopped by today.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 6, 2012 at 10:00 am

      We are blessed, for sure! I’m so glad you stopped by, too. Have a great day! 🙂

       
  6. desiray

    March 9, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    Anytime we sit down to read or pray the enemy comes because he does not want us getting the word in us, even in our praise and worship he comes this is why we must have a made up mind to stick with it. I tell people when the enemy knows you mean business he won’t try to move you in that area he use other things and people to try to sift us. For me blogging has always been a blessing because you never know who will come to your page and read what you write. They might not comment but something they saw touched them and normally they come back. So keep blogging because we will never know who’s heart we are touching. AMEN

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 9, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      You are so right, Desiray! I’ve just started blogging, but I’ve enjoyed it so far. Thanks for your encouragement.

       
  7. Judith

    September 21, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    Great post, Michele. Parenting is hard and also a blessing. Don’t give up on homeschooling is it all worth it.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      October 11, 2012 at 9:49 pm

      I needed to hear that, Judith! Thank you so very much. It’s been a struggle this year, but I need to be faithful. Thanks again! Hugs to you.

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
