RSS

Proceed with Prayer!

07 Mar

I realize I need to Beware the Month of March!

Last March I had an interesting experience. I had been running with some friends who talked me into doing a half-marathon. (I also need to beware who I hang out with! :-)) We had been training for a while. The week before the half-marathon our local community had the Race for Faith. We decided that would be a good prelude 10K, about 6ish miles.
No biggie. Been doing 6 miles for quite some time.
Piece of cake. 
OOOPS! Forgot to Proceed with Prayer!
And I got my tail whipped!

That 6 miles had to be the worst 6 miles I had ever run! By mile four I was ready to shoot anyone who mentioned a half marathon!! And then I got super nervous! If I couldn’t run a dinky 6-mile race, how on earth would I finish a 13.1 mile race?? So, before the 13.1, of course, I Proceeded with Prayer! I prayed like crazy that next week, asking everyone I knew to pray also. And then came the half. Now, I’m not one who enjoys running for running’s sake – really. I enjoy the company and fellowship, and the fact that people get me out of bed to exercise. But that half marathon really was a spiritual experience for me!

  • My fears were taken care of
  • Each mile ticked off quickly
  • It was hard, but I actually enjoyed the running
  • I had a 13.1 mile conversation with God
  • He allowed me to run and not be weary, and walk and not faint (Isaiah 40:31)

As I processed my races, God brought to mind the story of Joshua in the Old Testament. Joshua led the Israelites in the great battle of Jericho!     Big, strong city.    Fortified beyond belief.     Not easy to conquer.  However, God fought for them, and they won in amazing fashion! YIPPEE!! Next on the list – dinky little town of Ai.  No biggie. Got this conquering thing DOWN!   Piece of cake.  OOOPS! Forgot to Proceed with Prayer! And they got their tails whipped!

There’s a difference I see between the Battle of Jericho and the Battle of Ai.
Before Jericho, lots of conversations
between God and Joshua are recorded (Joshua 1-6).
Before Ai (Joshua 7), no conversations between God and Joshua are recorded until the Israelites got their tails whipped (kinda like I did in that Race for Faith!!).

I saw the parallel in my life. Little stuff – Got it.   No problem.   I can handle this on my own.
WRONG! Forgot to Proceed with Prayer!

The problem is, I rely on my own understanding, thinking, etc. instead of God’s, which is exactly what Proverbs 3:5-6 tells me NOT to do! And every time I get my tail whipped!! You’d think I’d learn my lesson, but I just had another experience this March where I jumped right into making a decision without Proceeding with Prayer! What happened, you ask??   You guessed it – I got my tail whipped!  See why I need to Beware the Month of March? 🙂 So hopefully by having a written record of these mistakes, I’ll learn to Proceed with Prayer, no matter the situation. Ask me how it’s going!

Do you have any situations where you’re tempted to not Proceed with Prayer?
Any times you’ve Proceeded with Prayer and God’s done amazing things?
Leave a comment and share your experiences!
Thanks! 🙂

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Proceed with Prayer!

  1. Jen

    March 7, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    There have been so many times I’ve had such hard training runs that I don’t know how I’ll be able to finish the race, much less finish it strong. But, how often do I pray before training runs? Not often. How often do I pray before a race? All the time. What a difference prayer makes!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 8, 2012 at 3:29 pm

      I so am there with you, Jen! Thanks for your comment.

       
  2. Erin

    March 7, 2012 at 7:05 pm

    Who are these evil runners that drag you out of bed and make you run??, lol this was an amazing blog! What a wonderful reminder!! Yup, I do often proceed without prayer, and often kick myself in the butt for it, lots of prayer has gone into parental decisions lately! PTL, He knew best of course

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 8, 2012 at 3:29 pm

      I love those evil runners, you know! 🙂 So excited about the parental decisions. Next run we’ll have to pair up so I can hear. Love ya, girl!

       
  3. Sarah Hamze

    March 7, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    I really needed to hear this today. There are times I forget to proceed with prayer. God bless!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 8, 2012 at 3:30 pm

      So glad you were blessed, Sarah. I need that reminder so often! God Bless you, too! 🙂

       
  4. Amy

    March 8, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    Great post, thank you. It was very timely with the book I’ve been reading (The Circle Maker), maybe God wants to be sure I get the point!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 8, 2012 at 3:32 pm

      Gotta love those repetitions, don’t we, Amy?! I always sit up and take notice when the same idea keeps coming around. Thanks for your encouragement! 🙂

       
  5. Jelli

    March 9, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    Great job!

     
  6. Mari-Anna Stålnacke (@flowingfaith)

    March 10, 2012 at 2:27 am

    How many times do we need to “get our tails whipped” before we learn to “proceed with prayer”? Wouldn’t our lives be so much easier if we’d remember to always “proceed with prayer”? Thank you, Michelle, for such a delightful post! BLESSINGS!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 10, 2012 at 8:21 am

      Absolutely, Mari-Anna! I so appreciate your words of affirmation. Thanks and Blessings to you as well! 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
