RSS

Fasting and FEASTING!

12 Mar

Seems like a contradiction, doesn’t it?
You can’t fast and FEAST at the same time!
Or can you?

We’re in a series at church called “Rhythms” on the spiritual disciplines that need to be patterns in our lives so we stay spiritually healthy. Yesterday was on the discipline of fasting. I have a new outlook on that today. Most of what I’m sharing today came from Pastor Todd Mullins and his wife Julie, who taught yesterday. Here’s some of what I learned:

  1. We don’t live in a culture that fasts, we live in a culture that consumes.
  2. The things of this world don’t satisfy in the long term. A person can stuff themselves at an all-you-can-eat buffet, and still be hungry the next day.
  3. Fasting is a way to deny myself and strengthen my “no” muscle (Luke 9:23)

Most of the time I have looked at fasting as something to
give up,
go without,
deny myself –
almost a time of deprivation.
But yesterday I was really challenged to change my focus.
2 key things that Pastor Todd & Julie said really stuck with me,
and I appreciate this perspective as we talk to the boys about the time of fasting.

  • Fasting strengthens our spirit.
  • Fasting is not just about abstaining, it’s about FILLING UP with God’s Word and God’s presence!
  • Fast on the things of this world to FEAST on the things of God’s kingdom

We’re heading into a time of prayer and fasting as a church. Instead of my focus being on what I’m doing without to create additional time with God, my focus is going to be filling up and feasting in His presence.Β  Like Pastor Todd & Julie said, some strongholds are broken and some deliverance comes only through prayer and fasting (Mark 9:28-29). I’m looking forward to what God is going to do in this time!

What about you?
Have you ever let go of something natural to lay hold of something supernatural?
What are you fasting so you can FEAST on God and His kingdom?

 
22 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “Fasting and FEASTING!

  1. desiray

    March 12, 2012 at 11:52 am

    I love what you Pastor Tod and wife said, because we do look at fasting as giving something up instead of being filled. And I know that God is truly going to bless your church as a whole and the people. God desires us to be filled with more of Him in our lives. I’ve been on my fast since the beginning of January and it’s all about being filled with more of God in my life. But believe me it came from allot of circumstances that God allowed to get me to the place where I need to be filled more with Him.

    Thank you for sharing this message Michelle and I pray all those who read it will take the same challenge and do the same because truly something only come out is through prayer and fasting…AMEN

     
  2. Dolly

    March 12, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    Hi Michelle,

    Visiting from Laura B’s blog…what a wonderful perspective on fasting from the things of this world so we can feast on His kingdom, and the reminder on what we focus on as we fast…only in God’s wisdom and Kingdom economy can such a truth exist…so encouraging. I am fasting from after-dinner-chocolate this Lent and fixing my thoughts more on what He values, and His sacrifice. Blessings to you and yours πŸ™‚

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 12, 2012 at 5:48 pm

      Isn’t a neat “new look” to fasting? God blessed me yesterday. I pray you’re blessed in your fast for Lent as we prepare for Easter, Dolly, becoming ready to celebrate Christ’s victory over sin and death!! Hallelujah! πŸ™‚

       
  3. Laura Boggess

    March 12, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    Such good thoughts. Lent is a time for me to focus on the excess in my life. But I love how you say fasting is about filling up with Him, also. So true. Replacing those things with prayer has really filled me this Lenten season.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 12, 2012 at 10:21 pm

      Thanks for that testimony, Laura. I’m looking forward to being filled also. God Bless you!

       
  4. Courtney

    March 13, 2012 at 7:16 am

    I never thought about fasting in this way, and I’ve never tried it, either. Now I’m intrigued. What you said about strengthening my “no” muscle is resonating. I need to do that! And letting go of something natural in order to lay hold of something supernatural – that is appealing. Thanks for these thoughts.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 13, 2012 at 8:32 am

      Awesome, Courtney! If you want to listen to the whole message, go to http://gochristfellowship.com/ ON the right hand side you can click the link to listen or watch. There’s also a link for 21 Days of prayer and fasting. There you’ll find some resources to help you get started if God leads you that way. Praying God’s blessings for you!

       
  5. Lisa

    March 13, 2012 at 8:34 am

    Thanks for sharing these great points. I’m going to have to ponder this for a bit!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 13, 2012 at 8:40 am

      Most of those great points came from my pastor and his wife. πŸ™‚ You can listen to the entire message at http://gochristfellowship.com/ Might help you ponder better if you hear all they had to say. πŸ™‚

       
  6. Sylvia R

    March 13, 2012 at 11:13 am

    Hi Michelle,
    Thanks for the good thoughts. This year I explored the fasting concept for the first time in a focused way and wrote a series of posts about my (mis)adventures and what God taught me through them. We definitely are a culture that tends just to comsume the minute our appetite beckons, and that’s not so spiritually healthy! God bless in your learning experience!

     
  7. Shari @ Leaving A Legacy

    March 13, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    Visiting your blog today from SDG. Thank you for bringing new insight on Fasting. I have never fasted before. I believe this is something God is calling me to do so that I might grow closer with Him! Amen!

     
  8. Irene @ Inspiration From The Little Things

    March 13, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    Wow, Michelle, your post changed my view on fasting. Instead of seeing fasting as a form of sacrifice, it is actually FEASTING on the things of God’s Kingdom. And what beautiful and positive message that is! This post just filled my heart with so much hope and joy, thank you so much!

    Take care and God bless! πŸ™‚

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 13, 2012 at 12:50 pm

      I’m so thankful, Irene! Thanks for sharing, and God Bless You also! Give yourself a hug. πŸ™‚

       
  9. Sarah Koci Scheilz

    March 13, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    Michell, wonderful words here! So often we see fasting as a lack, a gap, an emptiness. Thank you for reminding me that it’s actually a fullness, a vibrant fullness!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 13, 2012 at 3:24 pm

      I’m glad you were blessed. Thanks for stopping by!

       
  10. Denise

    March 14, 2012 at 1:36 am

    Bless you for sharing.

     
  11. Jen

    March 14, 2012 at 9:30 am

    This is such a reminder of how our perspective really helps us in seeing God’s true intents and purposes. What the world often views and deprivation and punishment, God intends to use to woo us closer to Him and to fill us with good things.

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
