RSS

The Mountain’s Backside

18 Mar

Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a pretty optimistic, glass-is-half-full kind of gal.
If you read the Hebrews 13:8 post, you probably guessed that I was a little down,
and you were right! Here’s the scoop.

I’ve been teaching a middle school life study on “Identity in Christ.” We consistently have 30-34 kids in that class. It’s been fun getting to know them. The past 2 weeks I wasn’t teaching because we had Grandparents in town. One of the interns at church, Allans, who also leads our boys’ life group, taught and did an amazing job! (read about that here) The deeper story is how God used that night to solidify His call in Allans’ life, and to show Allans, in a super-tangible way, the blessings of obedience.

Riding high!
Excited about what God’s doing!
Proclaiming that to anyone and everyone who would listen!

(This was a few weeks ago. NOT Wednesday!! :-))

Enter Wednesday.
It must have been a full moon!!

Kids were chatty, dis-interested. You know it’s bad when…

  • you are actually sitting on the talkers’ table and the kids are still chatting!
  • your son says, “It was kinda boring, not very powerful.” Ouch! Kids are so honest!
  • you feel old when you’re done!
  • you start to doubt if you even have the gift of teaching (despite the fact that it’s been confirmed in you and you’ve been using it for ages!)
  • you have 50 million great ideas – the next day – about how to teach the lesson!

I think I was still bummed Thursday as I went for my morning run with my running gals. We only did 3.5 miles, but at the end I was lagging behind. However, as I was running, God convicted me that I needed to be obedient to praise Him – even if the circumstances didn’t seem to warrant it. He is the same yesterday, today, and forever. Circumstances don’t change Him. I’m responsible to be faithful to His call – big or small. (so often I want that to be the BIG things!! OH I struggle with that!) He is always the same BIG God. So as I ran, the Hebrews 13:8 post percolated in my brain.

Thanks for sharing my journey.
I still feel badly about how last Wednesday went
but I’m choosing to renew my mind, and not operate on my feelings.
I’m choosing to praise God and trust Him that some nugget of His Word got through to those kids –
whether it seemed like it or not.
Pray for me this next Wednesday! 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “The Mountain’s Backside

  1. desiray

    March 19, 2012 at 12:02 am

    I must say when God want to get our attention He surely does know what to do to get it…What He spoke to you was very sober and from my experiences anytime God speaks I better listen with my ear very closely…As you mention kids are honest this is why Jesus said forbid the children not to come to me..He loved their honesty…they are just that way until someone comes and tells them different…Congrats on the run…I do biking and it takes me at least 30 mins. to do 6 miles….

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 19, 2012 at 11:06 pm

      You are right on, Desiray! I love your comment about Jesus loving little children’s honesty – hadn’t thought of that before. Keep on biking, girl! Give yourself a hug. 🙂

       
  2. Karen Langsam

    March 19, 2012 at 9:46 am

    I love your honesty and humble state of mind to share your struggles. We all struggle and you are so right, to praise Him regardless of our feelings, helps us to overcome so much! To be used by Him to do His work that he planned for us way before that first scream when we were born, is absolutely amazing. Keep up the great blogs and keep on with your ministry. It is a blessing and encouragement to all of us.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 19, 2012 at 10:44 pm

      And you are a blessing to me, my friend! Thanks for your encouragement! Love ya. 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
