RSS

Lessons Learned – Part 1

19 Mar

We’re in a time of prayer and fasting as a church.
We’re not even 1 week in, and already God is showing me things.
I love it!
Here are some of the lessons I’ve learned so far:

  1. Fasting helps us think about each other more. Because our family is all fasting different things, we have lots of chances to think of each other. •I have been so blessed by the boys’ responses to different foods I’m fasting! (It really has been sweet!) They either put foods away quickly if they’re a temptation to me, or they try to tell me how “yucky” the food is that they’re eating! •During Family Fun Night we all agreed to play a game instead of watch a movie because some of the boys are fasting electronics. •We also didn’t do dessert (a F.F.N. ritual!) because some were fasting sweets. I love how this time is knitting us together as a family.
  2. I need to refresh myself spiritually throughout the day. For some reason I’ve allowed myself to think that a morning quiet time is sufficient for the entire day. My boys have picked up on that. If they get in trouble after having their God Time, the usual response is, “See, it doesn’t work.” – like it’s one stop shopping or something. During this fast I’ve been drinking water often to help curb the pangs. The other day God gently reminded me that I need to drink of His Living Water often throughout the day – not try to gulp it all down in the morning. No one-stop shopping. 🙂
  3. “I’m caught in the rhythms of grace”– that’s a line from one of the worship songs we sing at church. The beat of the song is 3/4 (for you musicians out there) – the waltz beat – the one that makes you want to sway back and forth. I’m learning that this life is a dance, and my partner is God. He’s the lead. It’s beautiful when I let Him! I want to be caught in the rhythms of grace so that my life spills out His grace on others. My words fail – the song says it all!

This time of fasting has been joyful so far, and I’m thankful.
Yes, it’s been hard.
But God is showing me how much of ME is in my life.
I need to die to ME so HE can live in me.
I’m looking forward to sharing more lessons.
I pray that I’ll remember them long after the actual fast is over.
Thanks for praying for me!

photo credit

 
27 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

27 responses to “Lessons Learned – Part 1

  1. elizabeth ann babbitt

    March 19, 2012 at 7:53 am

    What an encouraging reminder to take in the Living
    Water throughout the day!

     
  2. Lea

    March 19, 2012 at 8:53 am

    Oh, so glad I decided to click on your link this morning at Miscellany Monday. What an enriching post and one I so needed. I, too, get in the habit of thinking that my morning devotional time is enough of the Word for the day. Oh, so wrong and I have been convicted of that and then reading your post was the “icing on the cake.” Thanks for the inspiration this Monday morning. It is so nice to meet you! Happy Spring!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 19, 2012 at 10:43 pm

      Nice to meet you, too, Lea! I’m so glad you were blessed by this post today! Just another confirmation of God’s working – and I love it! We’re having spring break right now, and spent the day at the beach. Although, here in South Florida, we don’t have much of a spring. God Bless you! Thanks so much for sharing with me. 🙂

       
  3. desiray

    March 19, 2012 at 11:37 am

    I believe if more Christians would fast like we are told to do then we would have many victories and miracles…

     
    • desiray

      March 19, 2012 at 11:38 am

      But because we don’t we look at fasting as something one has to give up…Jesus told His disciples that some things only come out through prayer and fasting…

       
      • Michelle Eichner

        March 19, 2012 at 10:51 pm

        and that’s exactly what our pastor said a few weeks ago. I’m praying for deliverance from seeing food as a source of comfort, or something I’m entitled to. I appreciate your thoughts.

         
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 19, 2012 at 10:45 pm

      I think you’re right, Desiray. I’m looking forward to some great ones, especially seeing people come to Christ! Hugs to you. 🙂

       
  4. Beth

    March 19, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    What great insights you are learning as you fast! Thanks for sharing. These are riveting truths, Michelle!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 19, 2012 at 10:52 pm

      Oh thank you, Beth! God put it on my heart and I shared, so I’m excited that you were blessed. It keeps the joy level high. 🙂 Thanks so much. Hugs to you.

       
  5. kd sullivan

    March 19, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    What great thoughts on fasting! I hope that you continue to share what the Lord is sharing with you during this time…

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 19, 2012 at 10:53 pm

      Thank you so much for your encouragement! I really appreciate it. I’m looking forward to learning more and sharing more. God Bless You! 🙂

       
  6. Chantel

    March 19, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    This is wonderful, I’m preparing to go on a media fast week and am really looking forward to it!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 19, 2012 at 10:55 pm

      It will be a great experience, Chantel. Not necessarily easy, but great. 🙂 I’m so glad you stopped by and shared your encouragement. Thanks and God Bless You next week as you spend more time with him during your media fast!!

       
  7. Renee

    March 19, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    Thanks for sharing this uplifting post! Blessings!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 19, 2012 at 10:56 pm

      Renee, I’m so glad you were uplifted! I appreciate your sharing that with me. I told someone else that it keeps the joy level high. 🙂 Blessings, to you, as well, and hugs also. 🙂

       
  8. Marianne

    March 20, 2012 at 11:17 am

    I am inspired. It has been a while since I have fasted. Nothing like being stripped of the comforts of life to draw us nearer to God. Blessings to you!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 20, 2012 at 11:59 am

      Oh I’m so blessed that you were inpsired, Marianne! Thanks for your encouragement and good wishes. Have a blessed day!

       
  9. Jelli

    March 20, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    Great post! Glad you’re getting so much out of this fast as a family. Thanks for your inspiration. Found you from Cup half full linky.

     
  10. Shanda

    March 22, 2012 at 8:37 pm

    “I like your idea that sacrifice is “the continual process of handing your life back to God, the giving of your dreams and desires.” That’s what God is teaching me during this fast – it’s not a one-time thing. My walk with Him is a journey, step by step, a continual process. A continual process of choosing to live for Him and die to me, like you said. God Bless you for sharing your heart!”

    Thank you so much for this comment on my blog. Then I came here and found this post on fasting that continued your thoughts and I love it. I love that your fast brings you back to him for nourishment several times during the day. Maybe that is what the wait is all about, God bring us back to him over and over.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 22, 2012 at 9:03 pm

      I like your perspective on the wait as well. I think you’re right, Shanda, and I’m glad to be on the journey with you.

       
  11. Sylvia R

    March 23, 2012 at 9:00 am

    What beauty there is in how your family is using a fast to love one another this way!

    And oh, that need for more than one quick-fix time with God each day: Your kids’ “See, it doesn’t work!” sounds like my own complaint to God (as a grown mommy!) when I still had a lot to learn — like, “Well, then you need to go back and try it again! — till you’re ‘caught in the rhythms of grace.'”

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 23, 2012 at 10:37 am

      It’s humbling for me to let my kids see I still have lots to learn! 🙂 I appreciate your thoughts.

       
  12. Joan

    March 23, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Michelle:

    I think it is wonderful that your family is fasting together. I really like what you said in point two about drinking from the Living Water throughout the day. I remember an old hymn that said, “I need thee every hour…” It is so true.

    Blessings,
    Joan

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 24, 2012 at 2:48 am

      Joan, I had forgotten abouut that hymn! Thanks for the reminder. Every now and then I dust off the old hymnal and play through a few. I’ll have to include that one the next time I do. What a blessing! Thank you and God Bless You, too!

       
  13. ljbmom

    March 23, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    Isn’t this the truth? I need to drink from His well all day long, not just a once time thing. I love that your church is fasting together. what a sweet and loving thing to do. I really enjoyed your words tonight, Michelle.

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
