RSS

A Dose of Reality

22 Mar

I am a Glass-Half-Full kinda girl.

But just in case you happen to think that things are always wonderful around here, our day today was anything but! Here’s just a snapshot of some of the issues we had:

  • boys fighting with each other
  • boys arguing
  • boys yelling
  • boys not listening well
  • boys not being respectful
  • boys having bad attitudes
  • MOM – letting it all get under her skin!
  • MOM – yelling at said boys!

Just to add a little perspective… some of the yelling and fighting happened during an evaluation I was doing for a home-schooler (embarrassing!!). Some of the not-listening-well happened during our field trip to meet Dr. Edgar Mitchell, one of the Apollo 14 astronauts (embarrassing!!).

Why was I so embarrassed? Because I have an image I want to maintain! I want to look right. I want everyone to think I’m a good mom. I want everyone to think I’ve got it all together. It’s all about the external. That thinking is rubbing off on the boys, too. I know one of them will hit the roof if he finds out I’ve posted this blog!

Time to look on the inside,
because that’s what God says is most important.
“The LORD does not look at the things man looks at.
Man looks at the outward appearance,
but the LORD looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7

I heard Dr. Elmer Towns talking about fasting on a radio program this week.
He said, “It’s not about what goes into your mouth. It’s about what comes out of your heart.”
So, in the spirit of transparency, I need to get the pride out of my heart!

  • I think that what others think of me matters most – wrong.
  • I think I can change boys’ behavior – wrong.   God does that, and God needs to be my focus.
  • Because I was focused on me and what others were thinking, I did not respond the right way to my boys today – wrong.
  • Therefore I missed an opportunity to model a Godly response – wrong.

God’s working on me. I’m walking this faith-journey with all of you. Just wanted to be real with you all.
I’m glad His mercies are new every morning! (Lamentations 3:22-24)

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “A Dose of Reality

  1. Jessy at Our Side of the Mountain

    March 23, 2012 at 11:23 am

    Thanks for sharing your “downs”! It seems that ALL you see on most blogs are the “ups”, but we ALL have those “downs”…and it’s OK. “Downs” are normal parts of every day. Of course they’re challenging and frustrating…and embarrassing…but they’re what makes the “ups” even more “up”! LOL

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 23, 2012 at 5:12 pm

      What a great perspective on making the ups more up! Thanks, Jessy! God Bless You.

       
  2. Heidi

    March 23, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    I am so glad that His mercies are new every morning! I find myself thanking Him often for this!!!

    My focus gets so lost. This will be a good post for me to reflect on in the future. Boys will be boys!

    😉

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 23, 2012 at 5:13 pm

      Thanks, my friend. I can’t tell you what a joy it is to be connected again – and to share our sisterhood in Christ! (but, maybe, too, it makes me feel like I’m still in high school :-)) Love ya, Heidi!

       
  3. Sarah Hamze

    March 24, 2012 at 11:35 am

    Thanks for sharing how God moves in our lives, even in the crazy, frustrating days! I am so comforted to know that God looks at our heart and not everything the world judges us upon.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 24, 2012 at 11:57 am

      And I’m glad each day is new! 🙂 Thanks, Sarah. Have a great weekend!

       
  4. daddystractor

    July 11, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    I’m just getting started homeschooling– my son starts Kindergarten this fall– and I’m looking to find some “connections” out there in the bloggy world. Your post smacked me between the eyes. Today I yelled. Today I was embarassed. Today I was prideful.

    I’ll be back :-).

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 13, 2012 at 8:24 pm

      Oh thank you! Enjoy your journey. It is fun. 🙂 So thankful to encourage you that you’re not alone!! Hugs to you!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
