RSS

Lessons Learned – Part 2

26 Mar

We’re a few days into the 2nd week of our Prayer and Fasting time as a church.
I shared some of the lessons I learned last week.
This week has been harder – in every way I think.
I feel like the finish line is far away.
The boys and I have had some challenging days.
I don’t like what I see in me.
And if I’m really honest, I’m afraid I’ll go right back to bad eating habits when the fast is over.

Here’s what I’ve been contemplating this week.

LESSON 1– In the same way I need to fill up with Living Water throughout the day,
I need to die to self throughout the day.   No one-stop shopping here, either.
Now, for a lot of you, that might not be profound. But for me it is and I’ll tell you why.

I am a list-checker kinda gal! I love lists! I love checking things off of lists! I love being DONE! I like progressing, moving forward. Therein lies the problem. This is a process. This is a journey. And I keep re-visiting things. This is all uncomfortable territory for me!

LESSON 2I need to choose best over good, and see God as my sustainer, not food.

I’m such a box-thinker. Even though a food might be good (as in healthy, or on the “ok” list), doesn’t mean it’s best to eat it if I’m doing it mindlessly. I am realizing how much I want something just because I want it. I shared in another post that Elmer Towns said, “It’s not what goes into your mouth, it’s what comes out of your heart.” Instead of asking, “What can I eat?” I need to ask, “What’s my attitude toward food?” Am I looking at that food as my sustainer? If so, I’ve just made it an idol. OUCH!

In my spirit of half-full perspective, though, the joyful spot of the week came from Tim! He sent me a text that just said, “God is awesome!” That night we had a great conversation about how God had been sustaining Tim and giving him energy, despite some late nights. And God had given Tim some creative ideas about one of the classes he teaches at Palm Beach Atlantic University – a class Tim’s been praying about for a while. These are 2 big answers to prayer for Tim.

So God has given us joy in the midst of our fast. This week is was Tim’s turn.
Thanks for sharing our journey!

I drafted this post on Saturday. Today I just had to share with you what God blessed me with on Sunday!

1st – Our worship pastor referenced Isaiah 58, and we had a specific time of praying for deliverance. Read it! It’s worth it. 🙂

2nd – God gave my oldest a neat chance to serve in middle school and learn some great lessons this weekend (it’s another story, but one that brings me joy :-))

3rd – One of the songs we sang is below. You’ll see why it was perfect for me when you hear the first few lines.

PRAISING GOD FOR FILLING ME WITH JOY YESTERDAY,
BECAUSE THE JOY OF THE LORD IS MY STRENGTH!
All glory to Him!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Lessons Learned – Part 2

  1. Denise

    March 27, 2012 at 9:01 am

    I really like this.

     
  2. Michelle Eichner

    March 27, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    Thanks, Denise!

     
  3. Joan

    March 30, 2012 at 11:45 am

    Michelle:

    I am in the sixth week of changing my eating habits. (I hesitate to say diet, because diets often fail). I have had a weight problem for most of my life, but with the Lord’s help, I will be sucessful in losing weight the keeping it off). I already know that it is because of Him that I have been able to lose 17.5 pounds so far. I couldn’t do it without his help.

    I will pray for you in this…

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 30, 2012 at 4:58 pm

      Joan, I can’t thank you enough! This really has been a revealing time – and like I said, I don’t like what I see. ish. But I know exactly where you’re coming from and you have the right focus. I appreciate that reminder – focus on Him! Thanks for sharing with me and thanks for your prayers. I will pray for you as I post this!

       
  4. Erin @ Sweetness Itself

    March 31, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    Such GOOD reminders! Just found your blog through the 1/2 full link up and so glad I did – your heart for God just shines!

    XO
    erin

    sweetnessitself.blogspot.com

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 1, 2012 at 12:58 pm

      Erin, thanks so very much for your beautiful encouragement! God Bless!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
