RSS

For & From

27 Mar

We’ve got ’em both.
Wanna know the hardest part for me?
Not being a control freak!
I need to let God be in charge of that – not easy for me!
But I don’t know why it’s not easy when I see what He does so consistently!!

What are you fasting FROM – that’s the easy part. And the boys did a good job of coming up with things that really are a bit of a sacrifice for them (after they found out fasting veggies and school work weren’t really options!:-)) toasted cheese, electronics, sweets, sodas. And one even decided to get in bed early for a week.

What are you fasting FOR – little harder question. Yet that’s the focus of this fast – what God has FOR them, not what God wants from them (Todd Mullins). Again, God put something on each one of their hearts: praying to love enemies (maybe memorizing the Sermon on the Mount had something to do with that one), not yell when frustrated, or have a respectful response even when something isn’t going down the way you want it to.

This preparation time has brought about some precious conversation – individually – with each little man. We often have good group conversation, but talking one-on-one is harder. Last night as I tucked 2 of them in (I’m thankful they still like that!), I had a conversation with each one about the upcoming fast. One of the boys made a great analogy of food being like God & Satan. Good food is hard to eat, just like doing things God’s way. Junk food is easy to eat and tastes good, but it’s bad for you, just like sin. The other one talked about how, in his opinion, fasting his favorite TV show was more of a sacrifice than fasting all TV except that show.

Earlier in the day I was able to share with one of my little men (who isn’t so little any more!) what God had shown me about Living Water. He then shared how God had used a song to minister to him as he was frustrated and struggling with something in his life. “Oh, I’m running to Your arms…the riches of Your love will always be enough.” That brought him to the point of surrender – even if it’s tough, Lord, if You want me to I will.

I’m thankful for these times when I see growth in the boys.
It always happens when I take my hands off!
It’s what God has FOR me
to see that He is so much better at directing their hearts than I am!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “For & From

  1. Brooke Cooney

    March 27, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    Love that your boys are commiting to fast this Lenten season as well. What a blessing to share this time together. My little ones may be old enough to encourage them to do this next year. Found you at Write it Girl.
    Brooke

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 27, 2012 at 3:30 pm

      Thanks, Brooke. It has made for some neat conversation as a family, and I think it’s made me more open with the boys. God Bless you!

       
  2. inhistiming

    March 27, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    Love this! Tearful now….

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 27, 2012 at 3:37 pm

      Aww. Just sharing what’s on my heart. Hugs to you! 🙂

       
  3. Jen Ferguson

    March 27, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    You have some wise little boys — it is so evident that the Holy Spirit is alive and well in them!

     
  4. Jen Ferguson

    March 27, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    It is very evident that you have some wise boys. It is so awesome to see the Holy Spirit residing in them!

     
  5. ljbmom

    March 27, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    Isn’t it amazing how fast they grow? Your not-so-little men are gorgeous. I love the way you are teaching them.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 28, 2012 at 2:36 pm

      Thanks so much, Laura! I really appreciate your encouragement! God Bless!

       
  6. Jean Wise

    March 29, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    I think these boys are blessed to have such a God seeking and God loving mama. Those conversations you are having with them are giving them deep roots. Bless you and your familiy!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 30, 2012 at 8:23 am

      Jean, thank you so much! That’s the goal. I know I’m not always the best example, but if I can keep pointing them to the One Who is and they focus on Him, He will guide them. I appreciate your comments!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
