RSS

Intentional Living Sacrifice

02 Apr

“The problem with living sacrifices is…

they keep climbing off the altar!”

I heard my dad say that one time he was preaching. (Rom. 12:1)
Not sure where he got it, but it sure has hit home with me during this time of fasting.
I’m looking forward to the fast being over!! Why?
•So I can do what I want!
•No more restrictions!
•No more denial!
•More of ME!

OK, when I look at it that way, there are so many things wrong with those thoughts I could take 5 posts to deal with them! I really don’t want the lessons to be over, but there is some truth in my wanting to give into my flesh and indulge – at least not have this be such a thought process. There’s that living sacrifice (ME) climbing right off the altar!

This week I’ve also been pondering “intentional.”
I’ve heard that tons in the past few years. I love that word! Implications for me are…
make a plan,
have a goal,
make a list (you know how I love lists!)
– all things I love doing and am good at.

God’s been showing me, though, that being intentional involves more than that. Being intentional is a daily, hourly thing. When I climb off that altar, I intentionally get back on. I need to keep choosing throughout the day to honor God in all I do – eating, teaching boys, correcting boys, laundry – ouch!, etc. As I look back on my lessons learned last week, I realize this is really a repeat of those concepts. They say repetition is the mother of all learning. I just don’t like that method!

This has been my biggest revelation this week
– intentional isn’t just plan, goal, list – it’s more.
And another sobering one, because, as you know, I don’t like process.
I like DONE!
But until Heaven, intentional for me must be…will be…a process.
I think God is trying to teach me to appreciate the process more.

Luke 9:23 Then He (Jesus) said to them all:
“If anyone would come after me,
he must deny himself and
take up his cross
daily and follow me.

all our junk nailed to the cross!

Are you taking up your cross daily? How’s it going? Thanks for sharing!

photo credit – James Duvall

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “Intentional Living Sacrifice

  1. Jenny@IntendtoLive

    April 2, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    Oh, it sure is a process, isn’t it? I find it hard to appreciate that that too, but it is definitely an ongoing challenge.

     
  2. Sharon O

    April 2, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    Oh what a question, especially during this ‘Easter week’. Taking up my cross is not an easy thing to do but as I walk slowly to His CROSS I am more able to manage this difficult journey for I know I am not alone.

     
  3. Denise

    April 3, 2012 at 9:32 am

    Thought provoking.

     
  4. Cristal

    April 3, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Reblogged this on Fruitful Fasting.

     
  5. Cristal

    April 3, 2012 at 10:27 am

    Great insight during this season where many are fasting. I am reblogging on one of my blogs (Fruitful Fasting)! 😉

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 3, 2012 at 11:58 am

      Thanks, Cristal. I’m glad you were blessed. Thanks for re-blogging, too!

       
  6. Sarah Hamze

    April 3, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    Thanks for reminding me to glorify God in everything that I do!

    By the way, I nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award! 🙂 Learn more about the award: http://sarahhamze.com/2012/04/03/versatile-blogger-award/

    Happy Blogging! Blessings, Sarah

     
  7. ljbmom

    April 4, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    Oooh, Michele, I hear you about process! I tend to be goal-focused too and this one is easy for me to lose track of. Very good thoughts here on being intentional. Thank you.

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
