RSS

that Big Fat “i” in the middle

04 Apr

Self-confidence is NOT all it’s cracked up to be!

What?? Why not??

Look in the middle of that word and what do you see?

a Big Fat “i” !

then there’s the word “SELF” to start things off!!

see where I’m goin’?

What I’ve been realizing lately is that self-confidence is anti-Biblical. Check out Philippians 3:3-14. Paul made a laundry list of his self-confidence and credentials, then put it on the trash heap.  Because it paled in comparison to Christ.  I could make the same laundry list: great background, great experiences, and lots of Christian influence from a young age. And I’m thankful for all these things!  Really.  I wouldn’t change anything.

The only problem is that Big Fat “i” in the middle of self-confidence! ‘Cuz I got a lot of it…the self-confidence  …and the “i“! Since I’m comfortable in my background and my training, it’s all too easy to habitually rely on that instead of relying on God. When I rely on my self confidence I often choose good over best. The end result isn’t even good!

I plan, prepare (good) and push (not so good) …. instead of pray (best!)
I work (good) and wonder (not so good) …. instead of waiting on God (best!)
I covet & compare myself to others (not good) …. instead of being content (best!)
I focus on ME (not good) …. instead of focusing on HIM (best!)
I end up frustrated (not good) …. instead of free (best!)

As I look at what other people are doing, I think, “I could do that!”
But the question isn’t Could I, it’s Has God Called Me? 

Paul says “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” (Galatians 2:20). That’s what I need to do – Crucify that Big Fat “i”. I just wish that Big Fat “i” would stay dead!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

15 responses to “that Big Fat “i” in the middle

  1. Shonda Knowlton

    April 4, 2012 at 9:42 am

    I need to do that!

     
  2. thecraftyhome

    April 5, 2012 at 12:17 am

    Great post! There are so many books written that are “Chrsitian” about self-confidence and it is not at all Biblical. Thanks for having the guts to write about this. 🙂
    I found you from Women in the Word link up.

     
  3. thecraftyhome

    April 5, 2012 at 12:18 am

    What a great post! So many think that self-confidence is key. So many Christian books have been written on how to have more of it and make sure our kids have it. It is so not Biblical. Thanks for posting about it.
    I found you from Women in the Word link up.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 5, 2012 at 6:10 pm

      Tiffany, I’m so grateful for your comments! Sometimes it’s hard to be in the world but not of it – for me anyway. Thanks again.

       
  4. Alecia

    April 5, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Interesting. I’ve never thought about it like that, but it’s true. We have to move from self reliance to being God reliant. I think too, that men, have a hard time with this, because they are considered the ‘bread makers’ of the family and they feel the financial responsibility lies on them. The way men are wired I think it’s harder for them to let go of that control. And trust in God. But I know women are the same, just in different ways than men.
    Good read!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 5, 2012 at 6:14 pm

      Alecia, thanks for your encouragement. I’m glad you were encouraged. Your thoughts about men and women are good.

       
  5. Carly Decker

    April 6, 2012 at 11:31 am

    Michelle this is SO good to hear! Jesus offers the best and anything else I try to come up with on my own is so short of that. Awesome words 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 6, 2012 at 4:42 pm

      Thanks so much, Carly. I really appreciate your encouragement! 🙂

       
  6. Lori Briley Fairchild

    April 6, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    What a great insight, Michelle. We try so hard to make our kids self-confident, when we should be working to make them confident in God. Thanks for tweaking my perspective.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 6, 2012 at 4:42 pm

      Oh, Lori, your words were such a blessing to me! Thanks a ton!

       
  7. Joan

    April 7, 2012 at 11:29 am

    This post spoke volumes to me. Yes, I am cruicified with Christ, help me Lord to remove the “i” and let it be all about you!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 7, 2012 at 6:49 pm

      Oh, Joan, I’m glad you were encouraged and that you shared it. I am with you! Let it all be about HIM!! Happy Easter!!

       
  8. dukeslee

    April 8, 2012 at 12:15 am

    Hi Michelle! Thank you for your perspective on where our real “confidence” comes from. A friend of mine and I call the right kind of confidence “God-fidence,” knowing that He gives us strength. It is not of ourselves.

    God bless you this weekend, and may you have a very blessed Easter!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 9, 2012 at 8:35 am

      Jennifer, I love the “God-fidence” term! How cool! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

      We did have a wonderful Easter, and I’m sure you did, too. How could we not when we celebrate His triumph over sin and death, right?! Have a blessed week!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
