RSS

Free Indeed!

09 Apr

~ HALLELUJAH!! ~
HE IS RISEN & WE ARE FREE!!
I want to shout it from the rooftops!!

Going to church Sunday we were listening to a Christian radio station.
As the DJ talked about
God taking care of the big stuff (like floods, pestilence, famine),
me holding onto the little stuff myself (I AM SO GUILTY!),
and freedom,
thoughts hit me hard and fast!

Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” (Matthew 19:14, Mark 10:14, Luke 18:16). The Message translates it this way, “Let the children alone, don’t prevent them from coming to me.
God’s kingdom is made up of people like these.”

When I think of kids – especially at play –  I think of
joy
no responsibility
trust, love
abandon
No wonder God wants us to come to him that way!
Here’s what God showed me today about coming to Him as a child
and the freedom that brings.

  1. If I am to be truly free, I need to let go of feeling responsibleNo parent would make their kids responsible for adult things like bills, taking care of the house, maintaining the car, and so forth. Neither does God expect us to be responsible for things He takes care of (Matthew 6:25-34). I am not responsible for the stuff I often hang on to  – like my kids’ hearts, attitudes, learning, behavior, etc. Interestingly enough, kids don’t usually ask for extra responsibility, either! (until they get to be teens. But God didn’t say come as a teen! :-)) Kids are perfectly content to let their parents handle life! Letting go of feeling responsible brings a sense of relief! That’s what it means to come as a child. (really it’s a pride issue – does God really need my help in anything?! Come on, Michelle!!)
  2. Closed fist vs. Open Hands. If I hold onto something, it’s in my grip, it’s my focus, it’s MINE. Opening my hands to give whatever it is (worry, control, fear, anger, problems, desires, dreams, etc) to Jesus breathes freedom and joy into my life. I let go of my control – or desire to be in control!  Kids don’t hold onto negative things often, and “God’s kingdom is made up of people like these”  – people who are open-handed, free, not holding tightly to something they shouldn’t, willing to let God be in control.
  3. FREE TO FOCUS! My Biggest Revelation!  When I let go of even the “little things,” I am free to focus on listening to God’s voice. When my attention is wrapped up in whatever I’m holding onto, that’s my focus. I can’t hear God as well. When I let go, I am free of those distractions. I can listen for God’s voice and hear it more clearly because I’m focused on Him, not what I’m holding or feeling responsible for. I have a sense of lightness and joy. Oh, that’s my goal!

If the Son has set you free, you will be free indeed. (John 8:36)
I hope you enjoy a day of child-like wonder as you let go of whatever you’re holding
and let God usher you into His presence – all day long!
The Son had set you free, so you are free indeed!

photo credit

 
32 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

32 responses to “Free Indeed!

  1. kd sullivan

    April 9, 2012 at 9:13 am

    This is good! And very freeing! I often take care on about something that is not my responsibility…but He’s commanded us to be anxious about nothing. Thank you for your encouragement this morning.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 9, 2012 at 1:50 pm

      You’re welcome, KD. So glad you stopped by. 🙂 Have a free day!!

       
  2. Sarah Hamze

    April 9, 2012 at 10:48 am

    Love it!! Praise God we are free!

     
  3. Lisa notes...

    April 9, 2012 at 11:34 am

    Good advice here. I need to embrace my freedom more too, especially letting go of feeling responsible. That’s huge. Thanks, Michelle.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 9, 2012 at 1:51 pm

      Lisa, I’m so glad you were encouraged. It’s all because of God, trust me!! Have a super day!

       
  4. joepote01

    April 9, 2012 at 11:38 am

    Reading this, I thought of how our own desire for independence can be such a source of bondage. It seems contradictory, but is actually quite true, that by releasing control, responsibility…yes and even our independence to Christ, we find true freedom.

    Thanks for the thought-provoking post!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 9, 2012 at 1:53 pm

      Absolutely, Joe. Appreciate your thoughts, too! Thanks.

       
  5. Pamela

    April 9, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    I’m sometimes stingy with my freedom, like as if I use too much it will run out. But freedom doesn’t have an expiration date. Such good steps to embracing it. Thank you.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 10, 2012 at 7:45 am

      What a great point Pamela – freedom doesn’t expire! Love it. Thanks.

       
  6. r.elliott

    April 10, 2012 at 8:54 am

    neighbors today at shanda’s…I love this encouragement here…yes free indeed…with open hands…thanks for this…blessings

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 10, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      I’m glad you were encouraged! Blessings to you as well. 🙂

       
  7. Amy L. Sullivan (@AmyLSullivan1)

    April 10, 2012 at 9:26 am

    Guilty, guilty of being too closed fisted with my life. Something I continuously strive to work on. Thanks, friend.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 10, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      I’m striving with you my friend! Have a blessed, open-handed afternoon. 🙂

       
  8. tereasamansfield

    April 10, 2012 at 10:25 am

    What a delightful post and wonderful reminder! Thank you for stopping by my blog today. It was a pleasure to hear from you and feel your hug! I look forward to reading more of you! Blessings!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 10, 2012 at 12:13 pm

      Thank you, Teresa! Ditto to you. Praying for you. 🙂

       
  9. J.E. Taylor

    April 10, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Love your post. Free to focus, that’s right where I am. I am a resident of Florida, guess we have something in common. Nice to meet you, new friend.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 10, 2012 at 12:18 pm

      Hey – how fun! Another FL girl. (Although I really claim TX, where I was born. Just can’t get it out of my blood. 🙂 We’ve been FL people our 20 years of married life. The first 2+ were in Pensacola, then God moved us down here to South FL. Glad you stopped by!! Have a great afternoon.

       
  10. Denise

    April 10, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Enjoyed this.

     
  11. Sharita

    April 10, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    This is wonderful, Michelle… “God didn’t call us to come as teens.” I am definitely one of those folks who LOVES having control and responsibility. Thank you for the reminder that God has got our back and a plan 🙂

     
  12. Michelle DeRusha

    April 10, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    #3 – that one really speaks to me! Thanks for this uplifting post, Michelle – – and for linking up to Hear It, Use It this week!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 11, 2012 at 10:10 am

      I agree, Michelle. Think it’s because we have the same name? 🙂 I appreciate your encouragement.

       
  13. ljbmom

    April 10, 2012 at 11:37 pm

    I love this song…so liberating! Wonderful post. Practicing the open hand here.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 11, 2012 at 10:10 am

      Thanks, Laura! I’m with you in that practice. Need to keep them that way. They close so quickly! Thanks for your encouragement.

       
  14. Jerri

    April 12, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    Oh, you are so right! “Letting go of feeling responsible brings a sense of relief!” I’m always feeling responsible! Time to let go!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 12, 2012 at 5:06 pm

      Yea, Jerri! My problem is I keep grabbing back… 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you were encouraged.

       
  15. Joan

    April 13, 2012 at 7:12 am

    Great advice. Too often I give things to God and then take them back.Worry and anxiety certainly puts us into bondage. Lord, help me to choose freedom!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 13, 2012 at 2:12 pm

      Joan, I do the take-back thing often, too. We’re choosing freedom together, girl. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. 🙂

       
  16. dukeslee

    April 13, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    Yes, … Amen to the open hands! And your song? Spot-on, friend. Makes me wanna dance! With open hands, lifted high…

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 14, 2012 at 3:36 pm

      Thanks so much, Jennifer! Glad to have dancing partners…open-handed ones. Help me remember not to close ’em! 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
