RSS

PROVE IT!!

16 Apr

Isn’t that the ultimate challenge?!
It’s one I often find myself taking the bait for!!

Today I was talking with the boys about Jesus’ temptation in Matthew 4. It hit me that Satan started most of those temptations, ultimately, with that challenge. Prove it! “If you are… then…”

Interestingly, Satan came at Jesus in the only way Satan could – through the physical system and values of the world, because he is the prince of this world. It’s the only system by which he can operate.

  • He challenged Jesus’ identity – You’re not worth anything. Prove who you are by what you do
  • He challenged Jesus’ physical needs. – Your physical desire for food outweighs obedience to God
  • He challenged Jesus with the lure of worldly success – You need the approval of men and lots of “stuff” here on earth, because that’s reality

Every time Satan tempted, Jesus’ answer was from God’s Word. 
Jesus had been fasting for 40 days, so He was in tune with God.

  • That focus enabled Him to be secure in who He was.
  • That focus enabled Him to deny the physical because He was already tuned into the spiritual.
  • That focus enabled Him to realize the eternal value of the spiritual life when compared to the temporal physical life.
  • That focus enabled Him to be secure enough to let God answer for Him.

That’s my desire!
I want to be so focused on God, so secure in Him,
that no matter what happens,
it doesn’t faze me.
I don’t have to Prove it,
I just have to LIVE IT!

How about you? Got anything you feel you have to prove? I’d love to hear from you! 🙂

Join us for Gratituesday at Heavenly Homemakers!

 
19 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

19 responses to “PROVE IT!!

  1. acupofearlgreywithme

    April 16, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    Yes, that can happen in parenting as well. I believe it was Abraham Lincoln that said, “No man is poor who has a Godly mother.” Scripture tells us to seek first the Kingdom ~ overall priorities to love the Lord and others, yet we can be tempted to lose focus and feel as if we need to prove ourselves to be a great parent through various methods… robbing us intimacy with God and putting us into a competition with those we are called to build up and love. Hmmm. “Prove it” can be an open gate to pride for sure. Thanks for sharing. Great food for thought. 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 16, 2012 at 2:58 pm

      Oh yes, that nasty pride! You have some great thoughts, my friend – as always! Thank you and hugs to you. 🙂

       
  2. kd sullivan

    April 16, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    This is a good reminder. I don’t have to prove who I am, I just have to be….Be in Him

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 16, 2012 at 7:34 pm

      You’re right KD – just be. I so want to prove so often, though! Thanks for your comments! God Bless.

       
  3. Denise

    April 17, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    Nice reminder.

     
  4. tereasamansfield

    April 17, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    I wouldn’t say I’ve been tempted to prove this, but I have definitely felt tempted to give up telling my story. Satan has tried to beat me down with all kinds of fears during this telling. The post I published last night, which you commented on, was actually filled with scripture. I just didn’t reference any of it because I was writing so quickly. As writing usually does, it focused my will on Christ and sent Satan fleeing! Scripture, God’s Word, is a powerful weapon and I am so glad Jesus showed us that! (By the way, You Rock! I’m so glad we met!)

     
    • tereasamansfield

      April 17, 2012 at 5:03 pm

      I failed to mention that since writing that post, which was actually Sunday, I have not had any fear!!! Praise God!

       
      • Michelle Eichner

        April 17, 2012 at 8:22 pm

        Hallelujah Tereasa!! What a great testimony to the power of God’s Word – spot on!! I’m so excited my stomach is flipping. Thanks so much for sharing!! Hugs to you. 🙂 Praising God with you!!

         
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 17, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      I love it!! I’m glad we met, too. I’ll share with you one of the quotes my husband and I often cling to – given to my parents when they started Seminary later in life. One of their spiritual mentors said, “Never doubt in the dark what God has shown you in the light.” Keep writing, my friend, even if it’s dark because the light will shine!!

       
  5. ljbmom

    April 17, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    I love how I learn when I am teaching. These are all good lessons too. Wonderful.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 17, 2012 at 8:23 pm

      Thank you Laura. Sometimes I think I’m the one who learns the most; I’m in school all over again. 🙂 So grateful that you stopped to read and were blessed. You’re an encouragement to me.

       
  6. Alicia

    April 17, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    Love this reminder… i don’t need to prove it, just live it! I’m going to write that one down in my journal and ponder it a bit more. Thanks for stopping by the Overflow, too. It’s always fun to meet new friends who are seeking hard after Christ. Blessings to you and your family.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 17, 2012 at 10:16 pm

      Blessings to you as well, Alicia. I appreciate your coming here and am glad you were encouraged. I agree – it is great to meet new friends who follow hard after our Savior!

       
  7. Jerri

    April 18, 2012 at 11:40 am

    “I want to be so focused on God, so secure in Him, that no matter what happens, it doesn’t faze me.” That’s my desire, too.

    I love the story of Christ’s temptations and how all He needed was to say the Word. I’m a big believer in knowing the Word. Satan can’t argue with the Word.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 18, 2012 at 2:05 pm

      RIGHT ON Jerri!! Satan can’t argue with the Word!! It’s our offensive weapon that’s mighty to pull down strongholds! Hallelujah! 🙂

       
  8. Brenda

    April 19, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    God is the way the truth and the light he is in control of all things we are to run with the baton which is the word of god and tell others that our saviour lives. I love the Lord he is real and true he is a healer, a way maker, a doctor a peacemaker the leader of our souls. The devil is defeated and God is exalted.

     
  9. Nicki

    April 24, 2012 at 9:48 am

    Just live it, I don’t have to prove anything. That’s good for me to remember and something to remember to teach my children as well. Thank you!!
    DV-NMV

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 24, 2012 at 1:01 pm

      You’re more than welcome, Nicki. I so need to remember that often! Have a wonderful afternoon!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
