RSS

Lessons Learned – Resolved

18 Apr

The fast is over.
Successful!
Celebrated the Resurrection – Hallelujah!

Post-fast: Had a few good days, and one where I really fell off the wagon. My struggle – how can I continue what I’ve done during the fast but not be in “fasting mode” continually??

One week later, to the day, the last lesson crystalized for me. I went to a workshop with 2 friends (may blog about that later) and God spoke to me – directly to me.

“Daniel resolved in his heart not to eat the king’s food.”

That’s the key. It’s that resolve of my heart to stay the course. To choose what God wants over what I want. My time of fasting was the starting point. Now I resolve to continue in what God showed me.

As I’ve been processing that today I realize I’ve believed a lot of lies about what I eat! I’m attempting to fill my mind with God’s truth to combat those lies.

  • “Listen to your body; it knows what you need.”   ~ WRONG! ~ I need to listen to the Holy Spirit. GOD is the one who knows what I need. Luke 12:22-34
  • “You’re missing out.”  ~ WRONG! ~ That’s the oldest lie in scripture! It’s what Satan used with Adam & Eve. Old but effective and also WRONG! Jesus said He came to give me abundant life! John 10:10
  • “You deserve it.”  ~ WRONG! ~  It’s not about me, (as much as I want it to be so often!!) it’s about HIM! ALL OF IT!! John 3:30
  • “A little bit doesn’t matter.”  ~ WRONG! ~ God says if I am faithful in small things He give me much. Matthew 25:23 He also warns that a little bit DOES matter. 1 Corinthians 5:6-7 “Don’t you know that a little yeast works through the whole batch of dough?  Get rid of the old yeast that you may be a new batch without yeast—as you really are.”

I’m working on that resolve of my heart – every day throughout the day.
Galatians 1:1
“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free.
Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves
be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”
What have you resolved in your heart?

 
20 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

20 responses to “Lessons Learned – Resolved

  1. Jen Ferguson

    April 18, 2012 at 8:55 am

    Awesome! I love how you listed each lie and then combated it with truth for ALL of us to see and take to heart!!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 18, 2012 at 2:03 pm

      Thanks, Jen! And thanks for your comment on my facebook page giving credit to the blogger, Jean Wise, with the poem!! Blessings!

       
  2. inhistiming

    April 18, 2012 at 10:29 am

    Yes! You speak such truth. We had a few hard and not fasting days during the fast. It had everything to do with resolve! What I thought I had resolved wan’t. I had to keep placing it before the Lord, and when I listened to any of those lies you listed, I failed! Thank you for sharing this today!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 18, 2012 at 2:04 pm

      You’re welcome, my friend. It took a while for the lesson to crystalize, but I heard it loud and clear when God spoke it!! Glad you were encouraged. Have a great time with parents! Hugs 🙂

       
  3. 3dLessons4Life

    April 18, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    I love that Hillsong song! Excited for you — praying that what you have “feasted on” will take root and bear much fruit!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 18, 2012 at 2:34 pm

      Thank you my friend! I appreciate it more than words can say! Hugs to you. 🙂

       
  4. Wendy

    April 18, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    I agree with what Jen posted earlier… awesome how you used the Word of God to combat each lie you encountered. This post reminds me so much of a book I have just finished reading today called ‘In the Eye of Deception’ by Nikki Rossen. Amazing how God helped Nikki (aka Sarah) use His Word to set her free from the abuse of her past and the many lies which dominant people in her earlier life had fed her. I highly recommend this book. It’s a wonderful true testimony of God’s saving grace and redemption. I believe you would appreciate this book based on what you have posted.

     
  5. Heather

    April 18, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    Stopping by from the Word-filled Wednesday link up. Love your blog!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 18, 2012 at 9:53 pm

      Oh Heather, thank you so much! Your encouragement means a lot!

       
  6. Kelli Parker Becton

    April 19, 2012 at 12:12 am

    wonderful – I needed the encouragement – I have something which I need to set my mind about in order to obey and follow Him – I can do this right? I don’t have to give in to the lies – I have authority over the darkness. Amen? Amen. getting pumped.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 19, 2012 at 8:23 pm

      Oh yes you do my friend! AMEN! So glad you’re getting pumped. Go in God’s truth – it sets you free, girl! 🙂

       
  7. Denise

    April 19, 2012 at 6:39 am

    Really good post.

     
  8. kd sullivan

    April 19, 2012 at 9:34 am

    I’m looking this up the next time I fast, what wonderful fasting encouragements!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 19, 2012 at 12:28 pm

      Oh, KD, what an encourager you are! I’m so glad you were blessed. I have to give all the credit to God and to our pastor who really set up this time of fasting as one of transformation and filling. 🙂 I was blessed and am happy to share that. You blessed me with your comments! Thanks! 🙂

       
  9. dukeslee

    April 19, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Michelle,

    I am really encouraged and strengthened by what you’ve shared here in the Scriptures regarding our wants, desires, etc., related to food. You are so very wise.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 19, 2012 at 12:30 pm

      Jennifer, what an encouragement to me today! I really appreciate it – more than I can say. Not so sure about the being wise part!, but all glory to God! He’s the thought-giver. Blessings to you! 🙂

       
  10. Joan

    April 20, 2012 at 7:36 am

    Hi Michelle – I love how you disproved all Satans lies with truth from God’s word. Your post is very encouraging to anyone who is struggling.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 20, 2012 at 8:43 am

      Thank you very much, Joan! I appreciate your encouragement.

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
