RSS

Comments & Character

20 Apr

“I’d take 2 swords instead of a shield!”

“I’d take a shield!”

These comments, while watching one of the battle scenes in Prince Caspian, show the stark difference in the character of 2 of my boys.

2 Swords – am I surprised? Not at all. This is my “I’m gonna tackle anything” boy. The one who’s literally been tackling since he was 2. The risk taker. The defensive player who’s chompin’ at the bit to get a QB sack. Of course he wants 2 swords in the thick of battle!

A Shield – am I surprised? Not at all. This is my thinker. The one who assesses things. Not a risk taker. The one who’d rather defend than take the offensive. The one who loves serving. Of course he wants a shield!

I’m thankful for the insight God gives us into our children.
Today was one of those windows.
Just thought I’d share.

What insights has God given you about your kiddos?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Comments & Character

  1. inhistiming

    April 20, 2012 at 8:58 am

    Great insights! And I can see that about them….

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 21, 2012 at 6:22 pm

      It’s not too hard when you know them, is it? 🙂

       
  2. Jessy at Our Side of the Mountain

    April 20, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    Hmm… something to ponder! I haven’t really thought about insights into my kids…they just seem to HAPPEN without me focusing on them.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 21, 2012 at 6:23 pm

      Jessy, my dad told me when we had our 1st born, “God gave him to you and you to him. That means you have insight into him that no one else does.” I’ve appreciated that wisdom. Enjoy your new focus. 🙂

       
  3. inhistiming

    April 22, 2012 at 11:40 am

    We need defenders and those who’ll fight the battle, so together they have that covered! 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 23, 2012 at 9:38 pm

      I like that thought – how we need to work together! Didn’t see that aspect of it. Such wisdom, my friend! Thanks a bunch 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
