RSS

The Sisters

23 Apr

I have had the privilege of seeing the influence of godly parenting
and the strength of roots that have grown deep in the soil of God’s Word.

I never met MomMom and PopPop Pernie. But I have met their 4 daughters, one of whom is Tim’s mom. Recently the girls lost their oldest sister. It has truly been a privilege to watch the sisters during this time and see the influence MomMom and PopPop Pernie’s godly legacy had on their girls.

The sisters have mourned, but not without hope.

They grieve the loss of physical contact

They grieve the loss of phone calls

They grieve the loss of sharing life here on earth together

One grieved the loss of being present with the family at the funeral because life circumstances prevented that

And yet

they rejoice at no more suffering

they rejoice at the opportunity to trust God and His Word

they rejoice in experiencing the truth and stability that God and His Word bring to them

they rejoice at the opportunity to tell others about Aunt Del’s vibrant relationship with her Savior

they rejoice at a reunion with a beloved husband

they rejoice at a reunion with beloved parents

they rejoice at the hope of eternity and a future reunion of their own

They testify to God’s grace and strength even in the valley of the shadow of death.

They have given me hope in my journey of parenting –
that children trained in the way they should go
will not depart from it when they grow older.

They have lived out 1 Thessalonians 4:13 and Matthew 7:24-25
and it has been my privilege to watch them.

Thank you Mom, Aunt Dee, and Aunt Enis.

And thank you, Aunt Del, for your beautiful life and legacy. I’m glad I will see you again.

 
26 Comments

Posted by on April 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

26 responses to “The Sisters

  1. bethmac1955

    April 23, 2012 at 9:10 am

    What a beautiful testimony.

     
  2. acupofearlgreywithme

    April 23, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    Beautifully said!

     
  3. Carly photography (@carlysphoto)

    April 23, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    I think the difficult time allow us to show our testimony in a new light.

     
  4. Dolly

    April 23, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    What a God-honoring tribute to two generations of lives lived well. Sorry for your family’s loss.

     
  5. tereasamansfield

    April 23, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    It is so wonderful when we can say goodbye with hope! I am not close in distance to my sisters, but we are very close at heart. You are right. It is because of our parents that we are close. They protected our relationship and now we live without so much of the strife I see many other adult siblings living with.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 23, 2012 at 9:44 pm

      Thank you, my friend, for yet another bit of hope on this parenting journey of mine! And, yes, I am so glad we can say goodbye with hope. It has been a very interesting experience, but a blessing. Hugs to you! πŸ™‚

       
  6. 3dLessons4Life

    April 23, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    This encouraged me. What a legacy!

     
  7. Michele-Lyn (@lifesurrendered)

    April 24, 2012 at 12:50 am

    This is so honoring. I love how you give thanks to those that have blessed you and given you a godly heritage. What a blessing…

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 24, 2012 at 12:57 pm

      Thank you, Michele. I am very blessed. I appreciate your comments!

       
  8. Pamela

    April 24, 2012 at 9:32 am

    How beautifully you honored these sisters. I think one of the joys of parenting is watching your children grow into mature Christians. Nothing thrills my heart more than to see my daughter teaching her children about our Heavenly Father.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 24, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      Thank you Pamela! I’m glad to hear you say that about your daughter. Again, more hope for that parenting journey! πŸ™‚ My oldest just turned 13, but I know time is and will fly. One of the verses Tim’s parents have on their wall is 3 John 1:4 “I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth.” Sounds like you’ve done a great job of passing along a legacy, too! πŸ™‚ Blessings to you!

       
  9. Jean Wise

    April 24, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    You expressed this so beautifully. Hope and encouragement!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 24, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      Thank you so much, Jean! I appreciate your encouragement. Blessings to you.

       
  10. Shanda

    April 24, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    What a beautiful tribute to those who lived and loved God well.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 25, 2012 at 9:25 am

      Thanks, Shanda. Glad it made it for On Your Heart. πŸ™‚

       
  11. Denise

    April 25, 2012 at 4:35 am

    Really lovely post.

     
  12. Jerri

    April 25, 2012 at 9:58 am

    It’s a beautiful thing to see a godly legacy lived out! It also gives us parents hope!

     
  13. ljbmom

    April 25, 2012 at 4:14 pm

    Oh, my goodness, I think I could learn a thing or two from the sisters! What a lovely, lovely legacy they leave and how blessed you are to have this living example of faith.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 25, 2012 at 6:00 pm

      Yes, Laura, I am blessed. It has really been a neat thing to watch.

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
