RSS

little…it’s big

25 Apr

little

small

tiny

microscopic

And with the help of the thesaurus….

“dinky, hardly any, imperceptible, inappreciable, inconsiderable, infinitesimal, insufficient, junior, light, limited, meager, mini, miniature, minute, not big, not large, peanut, petite, scant, short, shrimpy, shriveled, skimpy, slight, sparse, stubby, stunted, teeny, truncated, undersized, undeveloped, wee,”

Connotation – insignificant!
Not good in my mind!

What positive do you see in that list?!?

But “little” or “small” is where God has me.

If I had a penny for every blog I’ve read over the past few weeks about small things being important, I’d be rich! (If you’re one of those blogs and I commented, leave a comment to let people know who you are so they can be blessed also.) I’m getting the message of repetition!!  Last night as I was falling asleep I thought of so many “small” things in Scripture.

  • the widow gave a mite – an infinitesimal amount of money. But Jesus appreciated it more than the mega amounts given by the Pharisees
  • the little children were encouraged to come to Jesus, though everyone else wanted to shoo them away.
  • the little boy had only 5 loaves and 2 fishes, but it was enough in Jesus’ hands to feed 5,000 people
  • he who is faithful in little things will be given much
  • one small lamb was important enough for the shepherd to leave the flock
  • one small coin was important enought for the lady to clean her whole house
  • God uses the foolish things to confound the wise
  • God’s strength is made perfect in my weakness

Have I allowed culture to so seep into my thinking that I’ve forgotten what God says? I think so. Culture dismisses the small. Who picks up pennies? – too small to be worth anything. One of Satan’s lies is that little things don’t matter, and, therefore, aren’t important.

Or maybe I have a bigger issue. TBH (as the kids say – to be honest…) I don’t want small or little. I want BIG!! I’m like Peter – looking at everyone else and what God has for them instead of being focused and content in what He has for me. Peter said, “What about him?” and Jesus said, “It doesn’t matter.” (John 21:18-23) Good ‘ole Peter. Kept looking around instead of up. I think my middle name must be Peter – or whatever the girl version of that is!!

“But God, why does her blog have a million followers?”
~Jesus said, “It doesn’t matter. You must follow me.”
“But God, why does she get to have her stuff published?”
~Jesus said, “It doesn’t matter. You must follow me.” 
“But God, why can’t I speak at some event or conference? I know I could do it.”
~Jesus said, “It doesn’t matter. You must follow me.”
“But God, why didn’t I get into that group at ground level? I could’ve done that.”
~Jesus said, “It doesn’t matter. You must follow me.”

WHAM-O!! Did God meet me today!!! Oh yes, straight out of scripture!!
Luke 13:18-19
“The kingdom of God is like a mustard seed that grew into a large tree.”

can you see the seed?

I keep dismissing my calling with the boys. Yes, I’ve seen some benefits to homeschooling as far as character development (and plenty of pulling out my hair also!!) I can’t see what God has ahead; I only see the now and get discouraged by that sometimes. And, because I don’t see results quickly, or the results I want, or I feel like we keep having the same battles over and over again, I think I want to move on to something that “feels” more gratifying. Besides, I could easily quantify how many conferences I’ve spoken at, how many journals I’ve had published, how many followers I have on my blog, how many people are in the group I started, but I can’t quantify boys’ hearts!! (Did you notice how many “I”s there are in that last sentence?!? hmmm – where’s the focus there, Michelle??) In addition to my issues, most people ask, “so what do you DO?” and, since I tend to be a Martha (shocking, right?! :-)) I don’t feel like I’m doing much, or at least not doing it well.

And if I’m really really honest, I have to admit that I like Big because of my pride. I like my name & myself far too much!! Which is exactly why God has me at small!! It’s not about me, it’s about HIM.

But God sees the BIG grown tree with birds’ nests in it when He looks at the SMALL seed.

look hard - it's really there!

Maybe with God there is no Big or Small, just like there is no time.

What there is is faithful obedience.

So, like Peter, I need to get my eyes OFF of the “around here
and ON the “up there”!
faithfully obedient to what God has called me to do, no matter what I see.

What about you? What is God calling you to do that requires your faithful obedience no matter what you see?

 
19 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

19 responses to “little…it’s big

  1. 3dLessons4Life

    April 25, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Love this post! Reminds me of that verse in Zechariah 4 that says “despise not the day of small things.”

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 25, 2012 at 10:31 am

      What a perfect verse, Lyli! Thank you for that reminder this morning. Hugs!

       
  2. Christina

    April 25, 2012 at 10:57 am

    I hear you. I’ve had similar struggles. By being small, He gets to be big. It’s hard living upside down in this world that values what’s big. Thanks for sharing!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 25, 2012 at 5:26 pm

      What wise words, Christina! I like the “living upside down” idea and the being small He gets to be big! Thank you.

       
  3. inhistiming

    April 25, 2012 at 11:28 am

    Once again, I love reading your thoughts! I’ve been there myself so many times. God definitely likes to keep me at ‘small’…..allows more work in me, I think.

    You may enjoy a book called The Fisherman, written by Larry Huntsperger. It is a work of fiction, based very much on facts from the bible, written from Peter’s perspective. I’m only about half-way through but I’m enjoying it so far. Some interesting things in there……

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 25, 2012 at 5:27 pm

      oooohhhh! a book! I already love it. Maybe I can borrow it when you’re done?? Looking forward to having you back.

       
      • inhistiming

        April 26, 2012 at 12:09 am

        Sure, and though we’ll be sad to leave our family, it will be nice to return, too!

         
  4. Tracy

    April 25, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    Hi Michelle – so glad to meet you and see your blog! You may think your contribution is small, but God doesn’t. His purpose for you is yours alone and only you can accomplish it. So be encouraged, your part is valuable, necessary and most importantly, the part God wants for you. You could have been reading my mind, just BTW (as the kids say 🙂 ) I think a lot of those things too. Trusting that my contribution is used of God too. So glad you linked up and looking forward to seeing you there next week. I’d like to add, many times we don’t see the results of the seeds we plant in our obedience so although it appears insignificant, when watered that seek can grow huge!
    God bless
    Tracy

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 25, 2012 at 5:31 pm

      Oh Tracy, thanks for your encouragement! I really appreciate it. Looking forward to more link-ups! 🙂 Hugs to you.

       
  5. acupofearlgreywithme

    April 25, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    Ah, but you ARE very big in the eyes of your boys! 🙂
    Yes, motherhood provides many choice opportunities of dying to our desires in an effort to be available and to maintain consistency with our kids; knowing this, that God has first given you those abilities and passions to fulfill just what He requires. In eternity people wont be ranked by the number of earthly followers they’ve had. God is supreme there, and although we don’t always see it, He is supreme here. Thank you for that reminder. He is worthy of surrendering our abilities and wants to Him in an effort to use them best for the kingdom. He is passionate about His glory being made known and is using you.
    Thank you for such a humble post. I am personally very proud of you and Tim. What a very neat ministry you have! May God continually be made famous through your obedience and consistency in all things, at home and in service. Much Love!!!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 26, 2012 at 4:10 pm

      My sweet friend, thank you for your words of encouragement! What a blessing you are!! I really appreciate your affirmation, and the reminder to make HIM famous. I agree with you – may it be so through our obedience and consistency, even in the small stuff. Much love to you and many hugs as well!

       
  6. acupofearlgreywithme

    April 25, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    PS… My kids are watching the Princess Bride at this very moment. I have many memories of you and Tim quoting it word for word. Very funny!!! 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 26, 2012 at 4:12 pm

      As you wish! 🙂 We introduced our boys to it, and the funny thing is, they didn’t think it was as funny as we did. However, they resonated with the part of the sick boy to a T! We’ll have to show it to them when they get a little older so they can truly appreciate a classic!! 🙂

       
  7. Dolly

    April 26, 2012 at 1:04 am

    Hi Michelle,
    It’s funny but I’ve been reading that same passage in John for the past week and I keep hearing Jesus tell me the same thing: Follow me…Don’t compare. Your contribution to your children’s lives is BIG and immeasurable…Thank you for a wonderfully insightful post. Look forward to getting to know you better since we are in the same SDG small group. Blessings 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 26, 2012 at 4:13 pm

      Thanks, Dolly. Glad we’re walking the same path together! Blessings to you also. 🙂

       
  8. melissalangley

    April 27, 2012 at 10:36 am

    stopping by from HMJ – loved reading this and what a great reminder!! Thanks!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 28, 2012 at 4:49 pm

      Thanks, Melissa. So glad you stopped by! Blessings!

       
  9. Jennifer@GDWJ

    April 27, 2012 at 11:47 pm

    MIchelle, Isn’t that something, when God goes to the trouble of making sure we see his messages? He repeats Himself over and over again … and that’s a MUST with someone like me, who misses most things the first time around. Especially if they’re small. 🙂

    Blessed by this post, by ((YOU.))

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 28, 2012 at 4:55 pm

      Oh yes, Jennifer. I should live with a magnifying glass tied to my forehead! 🙂 I so appreciate your encouragement – really do! – and am glad I found you in bloggy land!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
