RSS

little…it’s precious

30 Apr

I’ve already shared how much I love it when God shows me things!

What He’s shown me in the past few days has been very precious to me.
Probably because He’s met me in unexpected places.
Like a Facebook post.

When I clicked on that notification, I was blown away! God whispered, “little…it’s big” as I read.

  • a little girl (between 1st – 3rd grade)
  • a little boy
  • a little town
  • a little competition in
  • a little church

Who knew?! One little act that I barely remember. I certainly don’t remember the contest or who won! And I don’t think I knew the impact of that invitation until Mrs. Champion posted this on my Facebook many, many years later! My sweet Savior knows how much I need affirmation, and He gave it to me. Not where or when I expected, but then again, His ways aren’t mine and His thoughts are higher than mine. Please know that all the glory goes to HIM! I only shared this to show how He met me and encouraged me.

But God had more for me!

A Navy Ship. People are in yellow at the bottom – for perspective

compass

one of the guns on the ship

A field trip to Fleet Week and a tour of a the USS Dewert. Amazing! Fun! Lots of BIG on those ships! Not a place I expect to hear God. Until we got to the navigation room. Check out the steering wheel! Can you even see it?!

I literally said out loud, “Are you serious?!” and started laughing. Then I started snapping pictures because, again, God whispered in my ear, “little…it’s big.” And the field trip took on a whole new meaning!

That little wheel steers the entire huge ship! Unbelievable!!

But God had more for me!!

Field trip #2 this week – the very next day. Went to Tim’s school, Palm Beach Atlantic, to make mugs and watch one of the professors give a demonstration using the potter’s wheel. Some neat lessons to share later. A lot of potter/clay stuff I’ve heard before, UNTIL Professor Craft took a small mug, like the ones we’d made, and placed it next to his big vase. Then he said, “It wouldn’t be too good to drink your cocoa or coffee out of this big pot. God created some of us just to be little mugs. So be happy with the mug God has created you to be.” Tim was ecstatic – eyes wide, hands pointing –  “there it is again!” 🙂 So I took the picture because, indeed, there it was again!

I’m overwhelmed at the precious gifts God has given me in the past few days!! They really have been gifts~ very personal ones. Would you believe that as I’m working on this post, the middle school boys’ life group is meeting in the living room talking about how God uses little things and we should be happy with those?! After these past few weeks, I’m not surprised!

Maybe my perspective is slowly starting to change so that I can say little…it’s precious.

Do you have any precious gifts God has given you lately, big or little?

 
19 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “little…it’s precious

  1. inhistiming

    May 1, 2012 at 2:29 am

    Godly, wise friends, and that’s oh. so. BIG!

     
  2. tereasamansfield

    May 1, 2012 at 10:05 am

    Gasp! I love the steering wheel! I love how God shames the wise with the foolish. My youngest is not little. (Well, actually, he was for awhile. 5th % for his first two years… Anyway!) His mind is little, though, and he blesses me with his way of seeing the world. During his IQ testing, he was asked what floats in the sky and rain and snow fall from it. His answer? God! Of course, he got the answer wrong, but I thought it was very wise!

     
  3. acupofearlgreywithme

    May 1, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    Very neat stories!!
    My daughter, Ana, is studying little bugs that God designed to look like the leaves on the tree as a defense. Although I’ve seen them before, today it struck me again, Wow! What a reminder of the careful mind that makes something so small and intricate and yet with amazing detail and beauty. How can anyone believe we just evolved?!
    While magnificent landscapes can make many gasp in wonder at their gorgeous wide view, it can also steal your breath to see the creative genius behind in the smaller creations like miniature flowers and insects that many pass by daily. God is so generous to not limit His incredible creations to one size, shape, or color. It can all be traced back to His desire to do things that way. What an artist! He is HUGE!!!
    Thanks for sharing!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 1, 2012 at 5:49 pm

      I’ve been thinking the same thing. How can anyone deny what an amazing God we have?! I’ve just been blown away by the personal touch over these weeks. And I love the one more example you gave with Ana’s study!! My heart is overflowing and I almost can’t contain it!! 🙂

       
  4. hopewriter2

    May 1, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    Awesome! I love those moments when it just clicks, and we realize we’ve put our hand with the God of the universe again… and He is just so amazing!

     
  5. Jennifer Johnson Camp

    May 2, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    Oh, this is so true! I am so often forgetting to look at things through the Father’s eyes — and His treasured gifts to my heart come and give me strength over and over and over, in ways that can’t be measured. I am humbled by how His love overflows, how it just can’t be contained. I want to not miss it! So happy to be in small group with you over at SDG!

     
  6. Hazel Irene Moon

    May 2, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    WOW what a blessed reminder that the little things we do turn out to be BIG things as far as God and others are concerned. An entire family saved because you wanted to win a contest!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 2, 2012 at 9:19 pm

      Thanks, Hazel. I’m so very thankful that I got to see that one. Just goes to show you that even taking the time to comment can be such an encouragement to someone. I never would have known if Mrs. Champion hadn’t posted. And I appreciate your encouragement, too! Blessings!

       
  7. lynnmosher

    May 4, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    Special new friends! So glad to connect. I love the little things. What a precious Love that gives the little things! Thank You, Lord! Blessings to you, Michelle!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 4, 2012 at 10:31 pm

      Thanks, Lynn! I’m glad for special new friends, too. Praising our Precious Savior with you!

       
  8. Cora Eelman

    May 8, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    This was just too good! I LOVE that tiny, little steering wheel! Who would have thought! But the facebook entry was priceless! You know, we all look for affirmation in our lives. We say it doesn’t matter, but when we become discouraged or tired, a kind word makes all the difference. Isn’t it great that the Lord understands that, and goes a step further to let us know that the “little” are soooooo important. I always loved that song, “Little is much when God is in it!” I’ve been humming that as I read this post. So glad I stopped by today. I needed this reminder so much!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 8, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      Oh, Cora, I’m so glad you were blessed today! Isn’t that steering wheel beyond crazy?!? I’m very thankful for such a personal, affirming God! Hugs to you!

       
  9. Maureen

    May 8, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    Church contests, Facebook, Navy ship, pottery, teaching and learning – love how the Lord has His hand in every little detail! An encouraging post, not to ignore the little things. thank you.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 8, 2012 at 3:55 pm

      Isn’t it fun when we can see His hand working, Maureen? I’m thankful you stopped by and left your input. Blessings to you!

       
  10. kelliwoodford

    May 8, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    Ha! You had me from the fb post!

    Here’s mine from TODAY:

    Just for today, remember that doing (or having) little is not the same as doing nothing.

    Little oil, little lunches, little tears on feet, all these entrusted to God became great.
    Don’t despise the little.

    “We can do no great things, only small things with great love.” (Mother Teresa)

    I copy/pasted it to make sure I had it word for word! Wow! I think I was *meant* to read your post today!

    . . . I also think we must have the same Teacher. 🙂

    Blessings!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 8, 2012 at 3:57 pm

      OH. MY. WORD.!! That is tooo cool! We definitely have the same Teacher, Kelli! I love that thought and I love how He brings us together in the classroom of life. Amazing. You were a blessing to me today. Thank you so much!

       
  11. Cheri

    May 8, 2012 at 4:18 pm

    Enjoyed your post today.

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
