RSS

more little

08 May

I just can’t escape the little!
(if you need to catch up, read little…it’s getting louder and follow the links.)
Four times in three days!

First was an Open House I was attending at Homelink, as a potential teacher for the journals we’re working on. It was a bit of a cold turkey event for me, and I felt out-shined, to be honest. But I had given the whole experience to God (again!) on the drive in. As I was expressing my concern to a friend, she said, “It’s little!” with a big smile, because she’d actually read a few of those posts. Oh how I appreciated her encouragement! What a great perspective for me!

The second time was at church during a class we’re taking. As I was chatting with my friend, Joy, somehow the topic came up. She said, “And you’re little“, with a big smile, so I wrote it down on the front of my bulletin. Because I am short of stature. Then my wonderful husband, who stands at least a foot taller than I do, let me know how much he appreciates me and he said, “Little…it’s big!” with a big smile. And I got the warm fuzzies in my tummy. 🙂

The best little, though, was reading Crazy Love.The following quote is p. 96-97

“Remember the visions from John and Isaiah of the throne room of God?
Remember the pictures of the galaxies and how tiny we are in comparison?
Remember the diversity of God, seen in the thousands of species of trees in the rainforest?
How could we think for even a second that something on this puny little earth
compares to the Creator and Sustainer and Savior of all?”

It’s my renewed perspective.
He must increase and I must decrease. 

God actually wants me little so that He is magnified…
and that’s the best little there is!!

 
18 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

18 responses to “more little

  1. Jean Wise

    May 8, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    What fun it is to enjoy how God wired us! good post!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 8, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      And what a good reminder – to enjoy how I’m wired. Thank you for that wisdom, Jean. Hugs!

       
  2. acupofearlgreywithme

    May 9, 2012 at 8:28 am

    Great thoughts and quote. It still amazes me that God allows us to be vessels of His Holy Spirit. Anything big or grand in us is just His reflection. Thanks for giving me that perspective today. 🙂 Much love!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 9, 2012 at 3:02 pm

      Ooohh – I love that line “anything big or grand in us is just His reflection.”! Such wisdom. Thanks for that perspective from you. Can’t tell you how encouraged I am that we’re connecting in blog land. Makes me feel like I could just walk right out of the parsonage and find you in The Barn at Berachah! 🙂 Love you!

       
      • acupofearlgreywithme

        May 9, 2012 at 6:57 pm

        Oh, that is too cute! I laughed at the barn comment!! Thanks! I agree about connecting again. It is really nice!

         
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 9, 2012 at 3:02 pm

      PS – can I use that line in a post and give you credit??

       
      • acupofearlgreywithme

        May 9, 2012 at 7:00 pm

        How thoughtful. Absolutely. No credit is necessary though. I appreciate your being able to relate. That is very neat.

         
  3. Dolly

    May 9, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    I’ve been enjoying your insights on the word “small” as your insights have been big…funny, I am height-challenged so I smiled when I read your post…Hugs to you, Michelle 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 10, 2012 at 9:08 am

      Thanks so much, Dolly. Glad to have someone else who sees life from my short perspective! 🙂 Hugs to you also.

       
  4. Danise Jurado

    May 9, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    less of him always means way too much of me. But when I am “little” He can be big in and through me. Oh how I need and want Him to be big in my life! Thanks for the reminder 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 10, 2012 at 9:08 am

      And thanks for your sweet comments Danise! Blessings to you.

       
  5. enthusiasticallydawn

    May 10, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    Michelle,
    love the thoughts here and especially:” It’s my renewed perspective.
    He must increase and I must decrease.
    God actually wants me little so that He is magnified…
    and that’s the best little there is!!”
    My word for the year is less and my verse for the year is Jon 3:30! I have written two posts about less being best and your post just resonated within me!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 13, 2012 at 8:42 pm

      How awesome! I can’t wait to read your posts! We’re walking the same road. Glad to have the company. 🙂 Blessings!

       
  6. Joan

    May 10, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    I was just thinking of that verse, “He must increase, I must decrease.” And here is another “little” for you. On Monday, we had a lightning storm which knocked out the internet to our desktop computer. We had purchased an in-store warranty, but I could not find the receipt. I prayed, “Lord, help me find that receipt.” Now granted this wasn’t a dire need, but nonethless, I prayed.

    After a bit, I felt led to look in my nightstand where I found my old wallet and yes, the receipt was in it! I was able to file a claim for service. Praise God that He cares about everything – the big and the little.

     
  7. Sharon

    May 14, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    It is absolutely amazing to think of how big our God is…He is beyond what any of our words can express. Then I actually find comfort in the fact that I am little because it reminds me that He is so much bigger than any of my problems.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 15, 2012 at 2:41 pm

      What a great perspective, Sharon! Love it!! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

       
  8. Jennifer@GDWJ

    May 14, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    John 3:30 comes to mind. I’ve got the same thoughts going through my mind, Michelle. Wrote about it today, too!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 15, 2012 at 2:42 pm

      Oh I love having company on the journey! Looking forward to seeing what you wrote, as always! Appreciate your encouragement, every time.

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
