RSS

true treasure

21 May

Life lessons.
The best teachers.
not always the easiest lessons
.

BLOCK PARTY! – an amazing, huge youth outreach event at church. Over 1000 kids were there.

Our neighbor was supposed to come. It had been a topic of conversation for a few days. Nathan was excited about that. A few hitches in the plan:

  • our neighbor didn’t really know anyone going besides Nathan
  • the Block Party is big with lots of kids and lots of extreme events
  • our neighbor is super shy

a few! Block Party events
photos  – Tammie Hurd

As we got ready to leave, Nathan went to get our neighbor, but came back solo.
In the process of finding out if we should wait for our neighbor or not, this happened to Nathan’s iPod.

It fell out of his pocket without his knowing, and he shut the car door on it. The sound still makes me cringe!

To understand the gravity of this, you need to know that Nathan purchased this iPod with his own money. He worked and saved for it over a good chunk of time. I went into immediate prayer mode, thinking we were going to have the longest 30 minute ride to Gardens Campus ever!! WRONG! Instead, God gave me many treasures Friday night & into Saturday!

My first treasure – Nathan’s reaction was a picture of God’s grace at work in his life. He even said, “I can’t believe I’m not mad about this!” I still pinch myself – even as I’m typing! And one of his friends, Luke, encouraged him by saying, “Everything happens for a reason.” That’s really a double treasure. 🙂

My second treasure – seeing boys from our life group, who knew our neighbor was shy and feeling uncomfortable, take him under their wing during a night of fun. Instead of thinking of themselves and just hanging with or finding their own friends, they kept our friend with them – even when he got separated from Nathan at one point.

My third treasure – seeing Nathan bring our neighbor to talk to a student ministries volunteer at the end of the Block Party because he trusted Christ!! And seeing the joy on Nathan’s face as he was part of that. During the invitation, Nathan said, “It wasn’t me. I didn’t have anything to do with it. I was just praying, ‘OK God, here’s where you do your thing’.” He prayed, waited, and watched the Holy Spirit work in his friend’s life to bring him into the Kingdom!

My fourth treasure – seeing Nathan pray about the damage to his iPod, and ask others to pray

My fifth treasure– seeing the wisdom of my parents being passed on to Nathan as he talked with them on the way to the Apple Store. My mom told him that no matter what happened to his iPod, the treasure of our neighbor’s salvation was eternal. Great lesson for a 13 year old – to begin to see the difference between eternal treasure and temporal treasure.

So – they did replace the iPod, for half the cost of a new one. Nathan’s response – “God answers prayer! We prayed that they’d replace it and they did. We just forgot to pray they’d replace it for free.” My sixth treasure – a life lesson on the importance of praying specifics!

My seventh treasurethe one that gives me goose bumps. No coincidence that it’s #7! 🙂 As Nathan talked with my parents about what happened with replacing the iPod, he realized something. If he had not shut the door on his iPod, we would have pulled out of the driveway without our neighbor. Because as Nathan was taking his shattered iPod into the house, our neighbor and his dad came walking up the sidewalk to ride with us to the Block Party. No messed up iPod, no new brother in Christ! And Nathan made the connection on his own, which is truly a treasure!

 
26 Comments

Posted by on May 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

26 responses to “true treasure

  1. inhistiming

    May 21, 2012 at 10:57 am

    Beautiful!

     
  2. toshowthemjesus

    May 21, 2012 at 11:54 am

    What a great story! I love how God works in all the details of life. Blessings!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 22, 2012 at 11:59 am

      I love that, too, Christina. Blessings to you as well.

       
  3. Beth

    May 21, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    This is a wonderful story and I love the “treasures” you’ve outlined here, Michelle. It sounds as if you have quite the godly young man, growing in wisdom and love as he navigated such a painful situation. I’m so glad that he and your neighbor were doubly blessed!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 22, 2012 at 12:01 pm

      Thank you, Beth. It really was neat to see God working in him. Thanks for your encouragement!

       
  4. acupofearlgreywithme

    May 21, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    How wonderful!!! What spiritually mature insight for a young man. What great encouragement from parent’s and grandparents.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 22, 2012 at 12:02 pm

      Hey girl. I think I appreciate that godly heritage more and more each day. Maybe because of times like these when grandparents can speak into the boys’ lives.

       
  5. tereasamansfield

    May 22, 2012 at 11:24 am

    Michelle, this is a wonderful story of providence. I always enjoy reading about your family. It appears that you are doing a wonderful job raising your children. Have you ever thought about blogging about that? Raising faithful children?

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 22, 2012 at 12:05 pm

      Oh Tereasa, thanks for your encouragement. You always bring a smile to my face. You’ve given me a challenge! Hadn’t really thought about the kid thing – I think I’m a little afraid!! (and don’t you know the minute I do blog about something wonderful, WWIII breaks out as I type!:-)) I see so many things others are doing that we don’t…you know how that goes. I appreciate you and your encouragement. Give yourself a hug! 🙂

       
      • tereasamansfield

        May 22, 2012 at 3:18 pm

        I hear ya. I have learned to be prepared for a battle in an area as soon as I blog about it. It’s like writing the words gives Satan the idea. It’s also an opportunity to lean on God and prove his promises. “I wrote this Lord and now I’m tested. HELP!”

        Maybe you could just tell us what has worked for you. I’d love to hear about the things you’d do differently, too. No one trust a perfect teacher! 😉

         
      • Michelle Eichner

        May 23, 2012 at 3:37 pm

        Now you have me really pondering and praying! Sure do appreciate you!

         
  6. Jennifer Camp

    May 22, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    Michelle, this all so beautiful. I love the quotes by your son and His recognizing the Father’s comfort and work in him. Oh, how this encourages me and my walk and my parenting! Thank you!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 24, 2012 at 8:47 am

      Jennifer, I’m so glad to be an encouragement!! Often when I post I am posting for myself. Since I homeschool, I think I often camp on what we haven’t done. Seeing God work is one of my favorites! 🙂

       
  7. ljbmom

    May 22, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    So much treasure, Michelle! And, wow to that youth event. What a wonderful thing for the kingdom. But even better–giving those kids from your youth group the chance to reach out that way. Wonderful.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 24, 2012 at 8:46 am

      We are blessed with a great group of leaders in Student Ministries, Laura! They really have a heart for kids and calling them up in their walk with Christ. I always appreciate your comments. Thanks 🙂

       
  8. Sylvia R

    May 22, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    What a heart warming post! Thank you for opening up your treasure chest and sharing these wonderful gems! Enough to have a mom’s heart soaring!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 23, 2012 at 3:38 pm

      Sylvia, what a sweet encouragement you were to me in this comment! I’m so glad you were blessed. Praise God!! 🙂

       
  9. Jean Wise

    May 22, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    Powerful, powerful witness here, Michelle. I love your and your son’s heart and wisdom

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 23, 2012 at 3:38 pm

      Thank you so much, Jean! Your encouragement means a lot!!:-)

       
  10. Kelli Parker Becton

    May 24, 2012 at 11:33 am

    I love this Michelle- there is nothing quite like seeing God work in our children – seeing them come to Him and then grow with the Holy Spirit – amazing!

     
  11. Ms. Kathleen

    May 24, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    This sounds like an absolute blast and what a wonderful outreach… planting all those seeds in children’s heart.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 25, 2012 at 10:13 am

      We’re very blessed at our church, I will say. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

       
  12. Jennifer@GDWJ

    May 25, 2012 at 8:39 am

    Oh my word! Michelle, what a GREAT story, and just.so.right for God-Incidences. My jaw dropped as I read number 7. Tell Nathan that your online friends are amazed at his spiritual maturity, and we’re excited to see what God has ahead for him.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 25, 2012 at 10:14 am

      I thought about God-Incidences when I was drafting, Jennifer. You’re so right about this being a perfect fit. Nathan will be very encouraged to hear the cheering. 🙂 Praying for you! God Bless!! Give yourself a hug. 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
