RSS

Proverbs 13:1 – the rest of the story

25 May

Anyone who knows me knows what a challenge posting in 21 words is for me!

I love poetry.

But I love to talk.
In fact, I have the spiritual Gift of Gab!
(not listed in any of the gifts passages, I know, but I’m sure it’s mine! :-))
My mom always jokes that my brother’s philosophy is “Why use 100 words if you can get by with ten?”
while my philosophy is “Why stop at 100 when there are thousands of words to use?!”

All that to say – see I told you I love talking! – there’s a bit more to the Proverbs 13:1 story I’d like to share. My heart was/is just too full to leave that precious time at just 21 words.

 

 

That night was the first time David had written in hisย journal on his own. He and I have worked through some together, but last night was solo – all the way – from the idea to the actual doing. Here are some of the neat things I got from watching the process.

the journal David used

  • David is beginning to see the importance of washing his mind with the water of God’s Word
  • He is beginning to see and use the process of journaling
  • He was able to see God working in his life
  • He is beginning to learn to meditate.ย He said, “I was reading this verse and then I just started to think about it.” As he thought, he got out his journal and started writing.
  • He said, “I think tomorrow is going to be a good day.” ๐Ÿ™‚ which means he’s beginning to see the correlation between right thinking and right living.

Oh how my mommy heart sang last night! and still is!!
If you only knew some of the fierce battles we’ve had lately – specifically with David!
Trust me, there is a real enemy of our souls and he goes after the mind!!!
We’ve been doing lots of spiritual battle and prayer with God’s Word.

Last night was just a precious reminder that God has my kids. His Word is truth. It is powerful. It changes hearts, minds, attitudes. And He is such a personal God, who desires to have a relationship with each of us, no matter our age.ย I was beyond blessed last night to receive that priceless gift of watching my little boy follow God’s leading!!

To top it off, this morning I was reading John 7. The Jewish people got a little confused and miffed that Jesus could teach like He did without any formal training. That hit me as I thought of David last night. He doesn’t have any “formal training,” either, but he can read and understand God’s word because the Holy Spirit is his teacher. Oh Hallelujah!!

May I, may my kids, remember that God and His Word are what’s eternal.
May I model that for my boys and may they catch it!
Nothing is more important than spending time in His Word,
letting God speak to me and change my life!
And any child of God can hear and understand their Daddy speaking to them!

ANYย child!ย 

What’s He saying to you?

 
13 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Proverbs 13:1 – the rest of the story

  1. Michelle Eichner

    May 25, 2012 at 11:02 am

    I’m usually a rule-follower, but the 5-Minute Friday topic was opportunity, and, even though I am a talker, I had already drafted this post. I thought it fit well, so here it is. ๐Ÿ™‚ I know you’ll all extend grace. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. Wendy

    May 25, 2012 at 11:50 am

    Michelle, this is beautiful. What a precious opportunity God gave you to witness this very important step in David’s life. It has brought a tear to my eyes as I too can witness via the photo this beautiful testimony. Thank you for letting me (a non mum) see a glimpse of God’s grace at work in the life of your precious child. What a wonderful opportunity you have granted me today ๐Ÿ˜€

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 25, 2012 at 12:52 pm

      Wendy, thank you so much for your encouragement! You made my heart smile today. Thanks for sharing. God Bless You!

       
  3. Alene Snodgrass (@AleneSnodgrass)

    May 25, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    Stopping by from 5MF. What a blessing! My heart sings with such a precious moment and story. A moment for a momma to ponder for ever. Blessings friend.

    http://www.positivelyalene.com/

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 26, 2012 at 10:05 am

      Thank you so much, Alene. I love your phrase “my heart sings.” I use that with the boys often. ๐Ÿ™‚ Blessings to you as well!

       
  4. Jean Wise

    May 25, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    God has your kids, my kids and all of us too. don’t you just love it? By the way you made me smile at ‘spiritual gift of gab” That is funny. I knew I liked you. LOL

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 26, 2012 at 10:06 am

      ๐Ÿ™‚ All great minds think alike, right Jean? We’re sisters in more than one way. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for taking on the leadership of the crew. I’m enjoying it!

       
  5. Megan @ wwwsunshinethroughthewindows.blogspot.com

    May 25, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    Oh, this is what I pray for my children! They are still young yet, just 2, 4, and 6, but already the older two know about Jesus and what He did for us. In fact, a few weeks ago my 4 year old’s teacher at church told the class to draw Jesus. My son said that he couldn’t because he can’t draw very well. The teacher said, “Just do your best.” What he drew were three crosses. Jesus’ cross with the two sinners’ crosses behind it. Wow, it just blew my mind when my husband told me about it! One of my deepest desires is for my children to grow in Christ and to want to walk with Him. You are so blessed to see the fruit of the Holy Spirit in your son ๐Ÿ™‚

    Megan @ wwwsunshinethroughthewindows.blogspot.com

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 26, 2012 at 10:08 am

      What a great story, Megan! That’s so cool! ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep being faithful. You’re already seeing the fruit of your labors and the working of the Holy Spirit in your son also. Hallelujah! ๐Ÿ™‚ So glad you stopped by. Give yourself a hug.

       
  6. tereasamansfield

    May 25, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    Great! Love it!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 26, 2012 at 10:20 am

      you know what the next day looked like, don’t you?? ๐Ÿ™‚ hugs to you.

       
  7. acupofearlgreywithme

    May 26, 2012 at 9:20 am

    Yay! Rejoicing with you! ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      May 26, 2012 at 10:20 am

      Thank you my friend!! Give yourself a hug! ๐Ÿ™‚

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
