RSS

See? I told you in 5 minutes

01 Jun

5 minute Fridays is another challenge for me.
But God had me ready for this one today!

OK, are you ready? Please give me your best five minutes on:

See…

go –

stumbling around in the dark at 2am

what can I see?

not much,

and definitely not clearly!

Settling one boy down and going back to bed, I barely fall asleep before

he’s at my bedside again.

This time I’m seeing red – or at least getting there.

No, I won’t sleep on the couch. I’m getting up to run early in the morning.

Yes, you have to get sleep. You’ll be a gripey bear in the morning.

At this rate so will I!

Finally, into brothers’ room he goes.

As I drag myself back to my bed, I’m not as tired as I was – of course.

I realized I need to see this circumstance from God’s perspective.

So what does God want me to see in this circumstance?

• A chance to realize He is in control.

I can’t control the sleep of my boys. God does that.

He allowed this, so there’s good in it somewhere, I just have to see it.

• A chance to pray for my boy & myself

–  that God would give him power, love, and sound mind instead of fear

–  that God would show Himself strong in the morning and throughout the day as I depend on Him for my strength, not my sleep

–  that God would show Himself strong to David as he also depends on God

…And then the topic of 5 minute Friday was SEE

and God said, “SEE, I don’t waste experiences.”

Hallelujah!

My goal is to see with HIS EYES!

– stop

PS – it was raining this morning, so I didn’t have to get up early and run! 🙂

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “See? I told you in 5 minutes

  1. Becky

    June 1, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    I’m coming over from Lisa Jo’s Five Minute Friday…I linked up after you. I love your perspective and how you are striving to see with His eyes…You are well on your way to reaching your goal of doing so!

     
  2. acupofearlgreywithme

    June 2, 2012 at 9:29 am

    It really amuses me how that happens. I work through something huge at the moment only to find it “Rains” or that there was a greater thing happening through the process than reaching the goal I had in mind. God amazes me when He does that! 🙂

     
  3. Kelli Parker Becton

    June 5, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    girl I can so relate! great post!!!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      June 6, 2012 at 6:52 am

      Thanks, Kelli! I really love it when I see purpose behind icky things! 🙂 And I love seeing how God had me ready for that topic. Hope you’ve had lots of uninterrupted sleep!! 🙂 Appreciate your stopping by. Blessings. 🙂

       
  4. Alicia

    June 7, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    Oh, I needed to hear that today. I haven’t slept thru the night in 14 years! My kids all seem to roam the house once the clock strikes 12– never know who will be at my bedside. And yes, I learned long ago that I can’t control my kids’ sleep habits (no matter how many “fool proof” formulas I’ve tried along the way!). I, too, have just learned to ask God, “What do you want to show me right now?” Because so often He’s used the kids to wake me up so I can listen to Him.

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
