RSS

Seeing isn’t believing

04 Jun

Thanks to LisaJo for the 5 minute Friday topic on SEE.

You didn’t really think I could say all I wanted to say in 5 minutes, did you? 🙂
of course not!

Funny how one little (there’s that theme again!) word can make such a difference.

I’ve been reading through John lately. I’ve been struck by the attitude of the people and Pharisees in Jesus’ day. They had clouded vision. When Jesus did a miracle, they weren’t willing to see it. They saw, with their very own eyes, the blind man walking around with 20/20 vision. But they weren’t sure really, come on – for real, it was him. They didn’t really believe it because they didn’t want to. They weren’t willing to see Jesus as anyone other than the son of Joseph and Mary, no matter what He did or who He said He was. Because they didn’t want to.

Over and over again in the book I’ve seen the people of Jesus’ day choose to see what they wanted to see, whether discounting miracles they’d actually witnessed, or focusing on exactly what town Jesus was from. They only chose to look with their physical eyes. As I pondered this, it seems that the root of this clouded vision is pride.

  • I’ve got the correct view
  • What see is most important
  • What I think is most important
  • What I understand is the way it is. Don’t ask me to change my view
  • If I see something I don’t like, I discount it
  • If I see something that doesn’t fit my preconceived notions, I dismiss it

The sad fact is, their obsession with their own earthly perspective obscured any eternal work God wanted to show them. The missed the truth of what God had for them.

They chose their personal perspective over God’s specific revelation,
and missed the greatest gift God ever gave!

What a sobering thought!

I don’t want clouded vision! I want to see like Jesus.

He had 20/20 vision because He always looked UP!

How’s your vision?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Seeing isn’t believing

  1. Redemption's Beauty

    June 5, 2012 at 6:57 am

    That is my daily prayer, to see the way Jesus sees and clear my clouded thinking that looks right but isn’t. We are neighbors at link ups today, nice to visit.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      June 6, 2012 at 6:51 am

      Thanks so much, Shelly! It’s a cloudy, rainy day here today, but I’m praying with you for that crystal clear vision that sees beyond the clouds! Blessings.

       
  2. Tereasa

    June 5, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    I love the book of John! There is so much rich fruit in there. I think you have summed up the problem very well. Sadly, I am often near sighted, too.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      June 6, 2012 at 6:53 am

      I like the “near sighted” idea, my friend. If it helps you at all, I think you’ve got some pretty great vision! I know I appreciate the perspective I get when I read your pen. Hugs to you! 🙂

       
  3. Jean Wise

    June 5, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    Well said and a great reminder: cloudy vision – a metaphor that will stay with me!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      June 6, 2012 at 6:54 am

      Thank you, Jean. I just commented to someone else that even though today is cloudy and rainy, I’m praying for vision to see beyond the clouds. Hugs to you!

       
  4. tereasamansfield

    June 26, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    Hey, just stopping in because nothing has come from your blog into my inbox in a while. Just wanted to make sure I wasn’t missing anything. Is everything ok? Just busy?

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 13, 2012 at 8:23 pm

      Bless your heart! I’ve been “unplugged” for several weeks – on vacation with family in the mountains. 🙂 Love that you checked on me – means the world to me!! Hugs to you! Love ya!
      ME

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
