RSS

seeing slowly

06 Jun

seeing

This is definitely the theme for the week.
(You can read about it here and here)

Today I was in John again. This time the disciples were the ones who hit me.

Many times I’ve seen John write that the guys heard what Jesus said, but didn’t really get it – until later. Today was more of the same. In the upper room they were all confused, full of questions. “What’s He talking about?” “Who’s going to betray Him?” “Where is He going?” “Why can’t I go too?” Jesus gives them reassurance and comfort. He also lets them know that they will understand… later.

Our instant society + my “hurry it up” personality = not too keen on “later.” I’m also not too keen on unanswered questions. As I was reading and journaling today, God convicted me that sometimes it takes time to see. At least to see clearly. The disciples had willing hearts. They were following Jesus. But they still got caught up in the earthly perspective, the actual literal words Jesus said, instead to seeing the deeper spiritual meaning. But eventually…later… they got it.

Just like the man whose sight was restored in stages.
Sometimes clear vision comes a little at a time.
(Hey – that’s 2 themes merging together! How awesome – only God!!)

My job is to keep going. To be faithful to read and study God’s Word consistently. To pray for understanding. But to be (dare I say it?!?!) patient, knowing that God will bring understanding to me in His perfect timing. I won’t get it all at once.

As I write this, it’s pouring rain and dark outside.
It’s cloudy.
But I’ve said to a few people today,
“I’m praying for vision that sees beyond the clouds.”
I’m comforted, knowing I can count on God to give me that vision –
in His perfect timing.

How’s your vision?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “seeing slowly

  1. Sharita

    June 6, 2012 at 8:30 am

    Great words, Michelle! I am right there with you sister– my ability to be ok with seeing slowly leaves something to be desired. “Um, yeah, Lord– I need to see this NOW. Kthanxbye.” He has taught me that slowing down and waiting for Him, while challenging, can also be a huge blessing. Thanks for this reminder today. Blessings to you!

     
  2. alifesanctified

    June 6, 2012 at 9:31 am

    Ahhh … a fellow CF’er (I go to Gardens)! Before I get to the meat of my comment may I just ask … don’t the disciples sometimes just crack you up? They do me. And thank God He allowed us to witness their humanity. If the Bible was chock full of lofty God-ness we’d never begin to imagine that we could or should follow Jesus. It’s through their antics that I can say, “Man, I just pulled a Peter,” and have it be a good thing!
    As for slowing down (I won’t mention the P word) I regret to inform that God constantly has to get me back in line. Especially these days when my life is essentially a desert and God is saying, “Wait.” It may be one of the hardest things we have to do.
    Thanks for this …
    Many Blessings,
    Felecia

     
  3. Kelli Parker Becton

    June 7, 2012 at 2:25 am

    Michelle – wonderful “insight” – lol – can’t help myself. I often tell my boys – well, “We get to know this much right now and if God wants us to know more – he’ll show us – or we’ll find out when we get to heaven” It actually seems to satisfy their curiosity when we don’t know all the answers. Now – if I can just be so good . . . .

     
  4. Jennifer@GDWJ

    June 9, 2012 at 11:54 am

    That song is so soothing. Songs like that — and truths like yours — helps me keep vision.

     
  5. Jenny Pena

    June 9, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    I love this!

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
