RSS

Rock Solid

16 Jul

Vacation is always a fun time to do things you don’t normally get to do.

This vacation as a family we climbed a mountain – that mountain in the picture! To the top!
There are no such things in Florida, let me tell you!

As we climbed, I thought of this song:

Higher than the mountains that I face
Stronger than the power of the grave
constant in the trial and the change
One thing remains
Your love never fails, it never gives up, it never runs out on me

I kept thinking about how constant God is and how we try to teach the boys about how not to let circumstances dictate their attitudes. We were enjoying the sights as we began our climb.

Then one of my boys had an attitude. Lots of complaining as we climbed
(which was the one rule we set before we started: no complaining!!)

The more I listened, the madder I got! I finally said, “Enough! I’ve had it! I’ll take him back to the car.”
My level-headed husband prevailed, encouraged our boy, and we kept climbing. Thank you, Tim!

The rocks, scenery, grandeur. I kept thinking about how constant God is and the lesson we’re trying to teach our boys – don’t let circumstances dictate attitude. And I was convicted. Because I’d done that very thing! Ugh!

At the summit I was blessed that my son came to us to apologize without any prompting.

I had to eat humble pie and apologize to him since I let his attitude affect mine.
It’s called good modeling, right?!

The good news is, we made it back down safely,
and lived happily ever after!

yeah, right!! 🙂

here are some other pictures of us at the summit. Enjoy – now that you know the rest of the story 🙂

 
27 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

27 responses to “Rock Solid

  1. inhistiming

    July 16, 2012 at 11:33 am

    Hey, wait! Were you standing in my back yard to take that first pic? 😉 You were a little closer, I think. Beautiful pics. Can’t wait until we can explore those mountains. And I always get teary when I hear your heart and see your sweet boys. Love the one of Nathan kneeling! Thanks for sharing.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 16, 2012 at 12:57 pm

      I think we were a bit closer than your back yard.:-) We were on Forbes Mill Road off of 122. I had so much fun thinking of you all doing the stuff we were doing. I really am excited for you. Just bummed for all of us. 🙂 Thanks for your encouraging words my friend.

       
  2. ljbmom

    July 16, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    Wow, those pictures from the top make my tummy flip-flop! Beautiful shots. And thanks for your transparency. I always wonder why a bad attitude is so much easier to catch than a good one? Glad that things turned out better–overcoming the grumpys. Now that’s a peak worth climbing.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 16, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      So true, Laura! Thanks. Tim took the pictures. He’s the artist. I’m the talker 🙂 Hugs to you!

       
  3. lholmes79

    July 16, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    I’m loving the pictures, Michelle – my hubby and I are photographers, so I love looking at different images. We really need to take more pics of vacays and everyday family life. Thanks for sharing! I would love for you to link this post to my blog hop over at Loving Life Wednesdays – and you’ll also be entered again for a chance to win a $25 Wal-mart Gift card. Hope to see you there! 🙂 Blessings, Lauren, lholmes79.wordpress.com

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 17, 2012 at 8:41 am

      I’ll do it, Lauren. My hubby is the photographer. And one of the boys may be a budding photographer. So glad you stopped by!

       
      • lholmes79

        July 17, 2012 at 9:23 am

        Thanks Michelle; be blessed! 🙂

         
  4. Erin

    July 16, 2012 at 10:35 pm

    Awesome pics, Hmmmm who Could have been the complainer ?? Certainly not one of those smiling studs!! I missed you lots but if the vacas result in great blogs/messages/pics I guess I can live with that : )
    Thank you

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 17, 2012 at 8:43 am

      Hey girl! Love you and praying for you this week. Isn’t it amazing – if you just look at the pictures all is well. And for the most part, all was well. Just a few moments of frustration. And as I type this to you, I think – good perspective! Keep the big picture in mind and don’t let the LITTLE stuff get to me!! Hugs to you! You’re the best. 🙂

       
  5. Jean Wise

    July 17, 2012 at 10:09 am

    What wonderful photos and message here today. love it, Michelle!

     
  6. 3dLessons4Life

    July 17, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Looks like you had a fantastic vacation. I love that song, “One Thing Remains” — one of my favorites. 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 18, 2012 at 8:34 am

      We did have a wonderful time. Even the “unplugging” was a good thing, although I missed my “virtual” friends. 🙂 Hugs to you!

       
  7. kelliwoodford

    July 17, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    Beautiful! I love hiking, but we do have that *one* son, too. The one who has a tendency to find something to complain about — even on vacation, even amidst all the glory. And I have done the same thing as you mentioned here. I have let it get to me.

    You may not have displayed good modeling in your story, but you teach me well by your humble example here. Thanks for sharing!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 18, 2012 at 8:34 am

      Kelli, thanks so much for your encouraging words! I appreciate them and I’m glad you stopped by. God bless you!

       
  8. Lori McClure (@lorimcspeaks)

    July 18, 2012 at 12:30 am

    I love that I can see myself in your son. That is awesome. Perhaps it’s time to start enjoying that climb instead of fighting it 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 18, 2012 at 8:36 am

      What wise words, Lori! That’ll preach for sure 🙂 So glad you stopped by. God Bless you!

       
  9. Dolly@Soulstops

    July 18, 2012 at 12:39 am

    What a sweet sweet story…you and Tim are good examples to your boys; it is good to let them know we apologize when we make a mistake…no one is perfect, not even mom or dad, and I can relate …awesome view…Thanks for your prayers and encouragement, Michelle 🙂 {{Hugs}}

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 18, 2012 at 8:37 am

      Thanks so much, my friend! You’re so good at encouraging me and I really appreciate it. Can’t wait to hear all the God stories on the other side of your conference and project!! Hugs to you, too! 🙂

       
  10. Jessy at Our Side of the Mountain

    July 20, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    What a great experience! Complaining/whining gets to me too! It’s so hard to remain calm and collected after a listening to it for a while though, huh?

     
  11. MarshaMarshaMarsha

    July 21, 2012 at 8:47 am

    How exciting to have done that together as a family! But YIKES! My stomach turns just looking at those pictures of your boys on the EDGE… back away from the edge! Ack! Scary scary scary… I don’t think I could ever go to the Grand Canyon. Flying and roller coasters are okay, but kids and edges and my boys with their goofiness… oh my!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 23, 2012 at 9:04 pm

      I understand exactly how you feel! To help you feel better…some of it was staged :-). But there were a few “come back here!” moments, too. Thanks much for stopping by!

       
  12. Denise

    July 25, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    Such lovely pictures.

     
  13. Elisa Pulliam

    July 25, 2012 at 11:02 pm

    Looks like such a great vacation with so many amazing lessons! Thanks for sharing today at WFW!

     
  14. Ms. Kathleen

    July 27, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    What a wonderful family victory and experience for you all! Bless You!

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
