RSS

Another Mommy Moment!

23 Jul

Service –
it’s not in the circumstances,
it’s in the heart.

Those are wise words from my mom!

If you’ve been reading for awhile, you know I had a Mommy Moment back in March, when my oldest realized he wasn’t going to be able to go to the annual Belle Blade mission trip at church.

As we’ve approached the time for Belle Glade, Nathan’s had some neat insights. He’s had opportunity to play with and witness to neighborhood kids. His comment: “I don’t have to go to Belle Glade, Belle Glade is coming to me.” I love seeing his insight!

Last night we had a pretty bad wind storm at my parents’ house. (Actually, after I drafted this I realized we got part of that bad storm that hit the northeast right before the 4th of July. I heard one person call it “a land hurricane.”)

This morning, Nathan was out with a rake, of his own initiative, cleaning up my parents’ yard and their neighbors’ yard. He was listening to Elevation, “For the Honor”, thinking about how he could honor God. He also said that helped him say, “Whatever you have, God, I’m ok with that,” during the storm. I thought about how Nathan would have been serving in Belle Glade and how God gave Nathan a chance to serve here at my parents’. And Nathan recognized it.

How I love these Mommy Moments – when I can see God interacting with my boys,
and can see them recognizing and responding!
All glory to HIM!!

 
20 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

20 responses to “Another Mommy Moment!

  1. Mindy @ New Equus - A New Creation

    July 23, 2012 at 9:56 am

    How sweet! What an awesome blessing your son is and a great example of what it means to have a servant’s heart. BTW, I see that you go to Christ Fellowship…I do, too, but my church is in New Port Richey, FL. My husband and I also serve in youth and media. 🙂 Although I’m the visual one and my Hubby is the teacher. Too funny!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 23, 2012 at 8:55 pm

      Wow, Mindy, that’s neat! Thanks for sharing and thanks for stopping by. Blessings to you!

       
  2. MaryBeth

    July 23, 2012 at 10:13 am

    I look forward to the days when I get to watch the dots connect with my son! He’s 18 months old now! 🙂

    Mary Beth @newlifesteward

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 23, 2012 at 8:57 pm

      Oh how precious, MaryBeth! Enjoy your time and read Bible stories to him every night 🙂 I know you’ll see lots of dots connected! God Bless you as you “bring him up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.”

       
  3. Beth

    July 23, 2012 at 10:54 am

    It’s the best sight a mom can behold. Great words, Michelle. And send some of that rain my way! We are so parched in Southern Illinois! 😦

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 23, 2012 at 8:59 pm

      Thanks so much, Beth! I wish I could send you some rain. I’ll pray for it for you. Have a great day.

       
  4. Jean Wise

    July 23, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Great illustration, Michelle. So often God calls us to serve the person right in front of us with ordinary kindness. I know I struggle with the thoughts that I “Should do more” instead of just being there for those in my life.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 23, 2012 at 8:58 pm

      I do that so very often! In fact, I’m working on another post with that general idea. Sure do appreciate you!

       
  5. rkloves2read

    July 23, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    This sent chills down my spine! I am a little further down the road of life and have had a few more mommy moments than you. In fact, I wrote about one myself today. You don’t stop having them when your “children” are adults. Lately, I have been struck how God uses my adult “kids” to teach me so much. It is humbling and exhilarating at the same time. Thanks for sharing you Mommy Moment with us. If you would like to read about mine it is at pearlsonmypillow.blogspot.com.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 23, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      Oh Robin, thanks for sharing! It’s good to know, also, that those moments will keep on coming. I know your feeling of being humbled by what your kids teach you!! I’m so very glad you stopped by. Blessings to you!

       
  6. Katharine Barrett

    July 23, 2012 at 9:00 pm

    It’s a wonderful thing to watch our children walk with God!!

     
  7. Alicia

    July 23, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    Oh, I’ve got chills as I read this- proof that God is indeed at work in your son’s heart. Sheer grace for a mommy to get glimpses of this. I just blogged about my glimpse this week, too, as my son returned from church camp. So grateful that He is fully capable of capturing our boys! Blessings to you, Michelle!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 24, 2012 at 2:50 pm

      How awesome, Alicia! Can’t wait to read your glimpse.:-) It’s fun to share the road of motherhood with you. God Bless!

       
  8. Glenda Childers

    July 24, 2012 at 12:00 am

    Your boy sounds sweet … rather creating his own ministry trip at home.

     
  9. Denise

    July 24, 2012 at 8:32 pm

    Precious.

     
  10. Simply God's Girl

    July 24, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    That is so sweet! Trying to remember where this is in Florida. We lived in Central Florida for about 12 years and miss is SOOOO much! But… I am happy to be back in my home state of Texas as well. Now if I could just move the two states next to one another… 😉

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 25, 2012 at 2:35 pm

      Oh you fortunate girl to be back in the great state of TX!! I told my boys that if I could have I would have driven the 12 hours to have them there so they’d be Texans (like me)! 🙂 They’re pretty partial to being Florida Gators now, since this is all they’ve known. We’re in South Florida, but these pictures are from my parents’ place in Virginia. We were there when that bad storm hit the northeast right before July 4th. Thanks for stopping by!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
