RSS

2 More Mommy Moments!

25 Jul

Fun home-show fireworks…for a while… on the front porch Friday night!

until…

roaring in the background got louder

wind got stronger

lightening got brighter

& we headed for the basement

where

lights got dimmer

and eventually went out.

It was the big storm before July 4th that I wrote about in Another Mommy Moment. Knocked out 3 trees in my parents’ neighbors’ yard. Not the kind of event that’s for the faint of heart. It was weird!

Of my three, David tends to be the one who fears the most. We work on it often – memorizing & reciting Scripture, rehearsing blessings, claiming God’s promises – to combat that fear. Needless to say, that Friday night was tough for him!

Saturday afternoon David came to me and let me know that during the storm he remembered something from Nitro at church. He told me about the week before we left on vacation. His life group leader said, “I can trust God with __” and told the kids they could put anything in the blank. David thought about that during the storm and it helped him not be afraid as much. Mommy Moment #2! Thank you, God, for bringing to David’s mind exactly what he needed when he needed it!As I drafted this post in my head on Saturday
~ with Nathan out raking and David telling me his story ~
I thought about Michael.
Didn’t want to leave him out.
I know God is working in his life, too,
but I didn’t have anything to post.
I couldn’t see it.
I might have even prayed about it. Maybe…

Tim & I took a few days to enjoy celebrating our anniversary together, so I didn’t get to draft my post on the computer. Mom & Dad kept the boys. Didn’t think about the post too much while we were away. When we got back the first thing Michael did was to show me his Resolution,
and I knew why I hadn’t gotten to the computer!

While we were gone they had watched Courageous. It was at least the 2nd time Michael had seen it. After the movie was over, of his own initiative, he went upstairs and wrote out a Resolution of 10 things. He started it “Expectations List. I WILL” and then listed 10 principles he was going to use to live his life. Things like “honor God in WHATEVER I do”, “work to the best of my ability in ANYTHING”, “keep my mind pure through tests and challenges in teenage and adulthood years” ~ And there it was – Mommy Moment #3! Probably more special to me because of my wanting to see tangibly God’s doing something in Michael’s life. And God gave me that glimpse.

Three moments for 3 boys.
Because God is gracious!
Again, all glory to Him!!
I just love it when He lets me in on what He’s doing in my boys’ hearts.

PS – Michael has said numerous times since then, “Boy, that Resolution has really come back to haunt me!” 🙂 Or he’ll say to his brothers, “You really need a Resolution!”  I knew you’d all love that one! 🙂

 
21 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

21 responses to “2 More Mommy Moments!

  1. tereasamansfield

    July 25, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    Ha, ha. You are so blessed!

     
  2. Lisa

    July 25, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    What a blessing for your boys to learn to rely on God from an early age!

     
  3. acupofearlgreywithme

    July 25, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    I enjoy your sensitivity to their growth in spiritual moments. You must be an encourager to see it. Imagine the impact others have had in our lives, simply because they have seen the Lord moving in us and then simply share what they see? I pray, as a mom and wife, I continually take advantage of encouraging my kids and husband in the Lord as well. He is worthy and does amazing things!! What a blessing it is to witness our kids seeing Him move as well. Much love! 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 25, 2012 at 5:00 pm

      Thank you, my sweet friend! I do think I have the gift of encouragement 🙂 I agree with your prayer, and my prayer for the boys is “when they are old they won’t depart from it”. Love you!

       
  4. Laura

    July 26, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    Wow, you have quite the young man there, Michelle. Goof preparation for those storms of life. Thank you for the prayers for our family. So blessed by them. By you.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 29, 2012 at 8:14 pm

      I found this after your last comment. I so appreciate your encouraging words! I am blessed by you as well! Give yourself a hug 🙂

       
  5. Laura

    July 26, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    Oh, dear–GOOD–preparation. 🙂 how I hate auto spell.

     
    • Laura

      July 26, 2012 at 12:48 pm

      And now I’m wondering if you received my original comment. I said, what a wonderful young man you have there. This is good preparation for the storms of life. And…thank you for the prayers.

       
      • Michelle Eichner

        July 26, 2012 at 2:20 pm

        Thank you, Laura. I appreciate your encouragement!! How are things? Still praying. Hugs to you.

         
  6. Joan

    July 27, 2012 at 7:16 am

    Michelle:

    These “Mommy Moments” are such a blessing. I’m reminded of the verse about training a child in the way he should go.

    Blessings!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 27, 2012 at 4:32 pm

      Thanks, Joan! I am claiming that verse!! 🙂 Glad you stopped by.

       
  7. Michy loving our journey

    July 27, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    Thank you so much for coming by my new linky party! Quite the pics-and a great fit for the party! Would love for you to return anytime. My hubby and I LOVED that movie–what a great one to watch when my lil’ guy is a bit older…good idea!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 29, 2012 at 7:23 pm

      Thanks so very much! I appreciate your encouragement. We loved Courageous, too. I wonder what other great movies will be out for your little guy when he’s ready for them! Blessings to you!

       
  8. Jessica

    July 27, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    I can’t wait to see Courageous! We are going to watch it for our date night this week! Thanks for sharing how God is working in your lives!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 29, 2012 at 7:24 pm

      I know you’ll love it, Jessica! Good for you having a date night! I love sharing what God is doing – all glory to HIM! Blessings to you and give yourself a hug. 🙂

       
  9. Sharon

    July 28, 2012 at 9:50 am

    I love how God speaks to us through our family! Wonderful mommy moments given by God. 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 29, 2012 at 7:25 pm

      Thanks, Sharon. I love it, too, when God lets me in on what He’s doing. Blessings!

       
  10. dukeslee

    July 30, 2012 at 12:08 am

    Storms are so scary. Glad to know that Jesus calms them.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 30, 2012 at 7:58 am

      Absolutely! And that He walks with us through them. Hugs to you!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
