RSS

Beyond my Comfort Zone

30 Jul

God is great at setting me up!

Not in a bad way

just in a preparation way,

and I love it when I see it.

5 Minute Friday topic was “Beyond”

I thought about being pushed beyond my comfort zone.

I already had a post in my head about some things I know God is working on in my life that are beyond my comfort zone. I am not a good time manager. I can schedule, organize people (NOT! space), and have routine, but I’m not good with time. I really need to help the boys get better at using time wisely. But it’s beyond me and my comfort zone. This past week I actually came to this realization: that’s ok and it’s exactly where God wants me. He created time, so He can help me teach the boys and improve a weak area in my life also. It’s His work, not mine, and I can depend on Him for it.

I also finished the book God’s Smuggler. A challenge to living a life of true faith. I highly recommend it! My take away from that one: am I truly depending on God for everything? Every.  little.  thing?

Then came the weekend. Saturday I attended an event at our church called AMAZING, where Christine Caine spoke. She had so many one-liners I almost got writer’s cramp! I really was challenged. (There’s a link to her talk in the next post, Beyond my Comfort Zone PS).

Here are just a few (and I mean a few) nuggets from Christine:

  • When we don’t embrace the place God has put us in His body, we cripple it
  • Don’t sacrifice your destiny on the altar of position
  • You can’t bypass the process. God is preparing you
  • Staying faithful where God has put you, even in obscurity, brings you along

And the 2 kickers for me:

  • It’s better to be marked by God than marketed by man
  • Stop chasing! Embrace your place

I just have to say, I am (in my flesh) afraid God is calling me to lay some things down.
To stop chasing – pushing – trying.
I know He only has my best in mind,
and if He resurrects what I give Him it will only be because HE did it.
Not anything I did.
And, really, that’s the way I want it to be.
I just am nervous (which I really shouldn’t be).
I’m praying for clear direction.

Will you pray with me that He will give me the strength to be obedient?

 
20 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

20 responses to “Beyond my Comfort Zone

  1. motheringfromscratch

    July 30, 2012 at 11:46 am

    {Melinda} I will pray for you! God usually has me way out of my comfort zone — and it’s so scary, but that’s where His blessings are! 🙂 And He uses it to build my faith time and time again.

    I LOVED God’s Smuggler. I should read it again. I read it about 5 or 6 years ago and it made me view my (small) faith in a very different way. It helped me see the very BIG God we serve.

    God’s going to do something amazing when you’re out of your comfort zone! 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 31, 2012 at 11:12 am

      Oh thank you so much for praying and for your encouraging words!! We do serve a BIG GOD! I just need to get out of the way and let Him be BIG! Hugs to you!

       
  2. inhistiming

    July 30, 2012 at 1:21 pm

    I’ll pray! 😊

     
  3. Ells....ro elliott

    July 30, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    we are neighbors today…to be marked by God…not marketed by man…love it…I pray right now that you will rest in God’s perfect love for you…and when He speaks…He provides the Grace…blessings as you listen for love to speak.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 31, 2012 at 11:14 am

      Thanks so much for your kind words! Blessings to you also.

       
  4. Jean Wise

    July 30, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    will be praying, Michelle. Love the You can’t bypass the process. God is preparing you. that one really struck me!!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 31, 2012 at 11:14 am

      Thanks, Jean. I was struck by that one, too, because I don’t like process! Hugs to you! 🙂

       
  5. rkloves2read

    July 30, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Michelle, your post has really spoken to me today as I am in a similar place. I will definitely be praying for you. I have been reading in Nehemiah lately, and God has been using it to speak to me. I look forward to reading more about your journey.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 31, 2012 at 11:15 am

      Thank you for your prayers! Nehemiah is one of my favorite books. I’m glad to know I have company on the journey. I will pray for you as I post this. God Bless you!

       
  6. Dolly@Soulstops

    July 31, 2012 at 12:03 am

    Wow…thanks for sharing these nuggets…the gift of waiting on His timing…process…praying God will give you the grace to keep following Him…love being on this journey with you, friend 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 31, 2012 at 11:19 am

      Dolly, she was a great speaker! Thanks for your prayers. I love being on the journey together, too! Can’t wait to hear some of your road soon. 🙂 Hugs to you!

       
  7. ljbmom

    July 31, 2012 at 1:54 am

    Oh, yes, I’ve been hearing this same message about striving ringing in my ears, Michelle. Sounds like a good weekend. I just love it when a conference gets me all inspired. Hugs to you.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      July 31, 2012 at 11:24 am

      Thanks, Laura. It really was a great weekend. Striving is my downfall. I constantly look for the balance between doing what I can do but not taking that too far. Hugs back atcha 🙂

       
  8. Jennifer 'Miner' Ferguson

    August 1, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    I love this — “embrace your place.” Such a great reminder that I am where He put me and that is the best place to be.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 6, 2012 at 6:35 pm

      Thanks, Jennifer. It’s my new mantra 🙂 I did think of you and how you’re beginning each day with God’s agenda and not your own. I’m with you, friend! 🙂

       
  9. Joanne Norton

    August 2, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    I have read God’s Smuggler so many times in the past 43 years! The Lord taps me and says to do it again. The reason? To remind me what people went through in persecution and how to help us stay on focus so if it comes our way He will show us the same ways to survive during those dangerous and stressful times. Brother Andrew has been one of my heroes ever since I read the book. I’d only been a Christian for about 3 years. But, as I indicated, I have read it many times. In fact, He laid it on me again a couple months ago. I’ve given it away to so many over the years. [New Believers who come from difficult backgrounds that are dropped into my life receive 3 books: David Wilkerson’s The Cross and the Switchblade; Brother Andrew’s book; and, The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom. I really want them to see how intense spiritual growth can be and how focused and on alert we may be.] Obviously, you hit my heart and my attention. Thanks much.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 3, 2012 at 11:48 am

      How awesome, Joanne! I appreciate your heart and love to see how God uses His body to work together. Thanks so much for sharing your heart! Hugs 🙂

       
  10. Joan

    August 4, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Praying for you, Michelle. A few years ago, God clearly spoke to me and told me that I needed to get out of my comfort zone. Not always easy, but always best to be obedient to Him.

    Blessings,
    joan

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 6, 2012 at 10:59 am

      Oh thank you for that encouragement, Joan! So thankful you stopped by and shared your wisdom. Have a wonderful day!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
