RSS

Here in 5 Minutes

03 Aug

I’ll be there in 5 minutes

not!

One word – “HERE

succinctly captures one of the main points I learned this weekend at the Amazing conference & at church.

“STOP CHASING. EMBRACE YOUR PLACE”

That’s one of the themes I heard over and over. Stay faithful to where God has planted me. If I run ahead of Him, I run the risk of injuring His body. I shouldn’t “confuse my due date with His due season.” (Christine Caine)

I need to be HERE – NOW (not later, not in 5 minutes)

I need to be HERE – NOT THERE in what I think are greener pastures

I need to be HERE – WHERE GOD PLANTED ME, doing what He wants me to do with the people He’s given me (like my boys)

I need to see HERE as God’s great place, even if somewhere else looks more enticing. Because it’s in the faithfulness God can build what He needs to build in me.

HERE is a word of contentment. And God says that Godliness with contentment is great gain.

So HERE I am. Choosing to tweak my focus a bit. Choosing the joy of being content with God’s plan, because it’s so much better than mine!

Where are you today?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

10 responses to “Here in 5 Minutes

  1. Monika Zimmerman

    August 3, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Amen. I don’t know if it’s a societal expectation or an inborn curiosity (if you want to call it that), but I don’t know anyone that doesn’t look for greener pastures. All the time. Contentment is hard. Great post!

    (Here from Lisa-Jo’s bloggy linkup.)

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 6, 2012 at 10:56 am

      Thanks so much for the encouragement, Monika! Glad you stopped by.

       
  2. Sarah Koci Scheilz

    August 3, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    Michelle! So glad I stopped by today. “Embrace your place” — now those are words I needed to hear. Thank you, friend, for sharing!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 6, 2012 at 10:57 am

      Oh, Sarah, I’m so glad you stopped by also! 🙂 I need to keep hearing those words!! Have a wonderful day!

       
  3. acupofearlgreywithme

    August 3, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    Amen! “Here” is where faith resides. 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement. Keep on writing!

     
  4. Debbie Breuninger

    August 3, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    Thank you, Michelle!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 6, 2012 at 10:58 am

      Debbie, I’m so glad you stopped by the blog! 🙂 Enjoy your day. Hugs! 🙂

       
  5. cuoreq

    August 4, 2012 at 11:33 am

    Embracing your place! How apt for “here”! =)

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 6, 2012 at 10:58 am

      That’s what struck me. God’s definitely working on me!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
