RSS

Strength in Silence

08 Aug

Today I had the gift of coffee with a wonderful friend and former co-worker.

Sandy is from Ecuador. She is a joy and such a woman of faith! She went from religion to a relationship with God. Now, because of Jesus’ death on the cross, her sins are forgiven and she is growing in her knowledge of her loving Heavenly Father. That joy and faith permeate our conversations always. She encourages me!

However, that transformation has come with some pain. Not all her family has that personal relationship with God. Sandy has such a passion to see her family united as brothers and sisters in Christ! We have prayed together for her family for many years, often with tears.

This morning, Sandy shared something with me that was amazing! A while ago she was having a conversation with one family member, praying all the while, “God, give me a word. Please just give me a word.”

The word He gave her blew me away.
One word –
“SILENCE.”

And she’s been obedient! Oh, I know I would have double checked the reception when I heard that word!! But not Sandy. She has been obediently silent, knowing that with God all things are possible. Trusting that His ways are higher than hers. Knowing He loves her family more than she does.

She said today, “They need to know HE’s the medicine, not what they’re putting in their bodies.” Man, I would have preached that analogy to death!! But she’s being obediently silent. Our conversation challenged me today!

Will you pray with me that Sandy’s family would join her in God’s family
so they can be family twice over –
by earthly blood
and
by HIS blood?

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

16 responses to “Strength in Silence

  1. Crazy Blessed

    August 9, 2012 at 9:39 am

    I had that happen once. It was very clear. The Lord just impressed on me to to “shut my trap” 😉 It was amazing what He did. There was freedom for this person to watch and eventually they began to ask questions and it became a fantastic open conversation that led to a passionate follower of Christ. Since that day, there have been times to speak and times to be silent, I love how our Father knows exactly what we should do and we can trust Him with it. Thank you for sharing! It is a great reminder for me to take stock and make sure I am following His steps, and speaking when He requests or staying quiet. 😉 I am praying her life speaks volumes of His love to her family and that they will hunger for the Lord.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 9, 2012 at 9:52 am

      Thank you so much for sharing that encouragement & for praying! Blessings to you.

       
  2. Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

    August 9, 2012 at 9:47 am

    I have been praying since childhood for a man I know to come to the Lord… He’s in his 80’s now and I am still praying. But God has shown me several scriptures to “declare” as His truth over this man in prayer. One of my favorites is Jeremiah 24:7 – the promise to change our hearts and draw us to Him. God’s whisper to me too is how it is 24:7… He will move through this Word mightily. I pray this for Sandy’s family too!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 9, 2012 at 9:53 am

      Pam, what a blessing! Thank you so much for sharing that scripture. Praying God’s Word is powerful and I appreciate being united in praying for Sandy’s family! Blessings!

       
  3. Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

    August 9, 2012 at 9:48 am

    Meant to mention another wonderful scripture to pray for these… Ephesians 1:17 – 22 is a great one!

     
  4. Gisela

    August 9, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    Hello there, I am visiting from Thought Provoking Thursdays and your post has been thought provoking, indeed! I have been struggling with sharing my faith with my brother and his family (an several other members of my extended family and co-workers, etc, etc, etc) but reading this post has made me think that sometimes the best word is really prayerful silence. Thank you so much and have a blessed day.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 21, 2012 at 10:28 pm

      I’m so glad God spoke to you through my wonderful friend, Gisela! I’m praying for wisdom for you and for changed hearts for your friends and family as I reply! Hugs 🙂

       
  5. Tereasa

    August 9, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    Michelle, thank you for sharing this. I will pray for Sandy. I was in Ecuador for six months as a student missionary and I have a deep affection for the people there.

     
  6. Strength From Above

    August 9, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    With my oldest son it is often better to shut up and leave it to God. I thank God that He is working in his life, and I know He is, and I know He knows what it will take to bring him around. Blessings, Tammy

     
  7. Joan

    August 11, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    Michelle – I join in prayer for Sandy’s family. Silence….so hard to follow. Praise God for Sandy’s obedience.

    Blessings,
    Joan

     
  8. Pamela

    August 11, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    Beautiful! That instant obedience must be beautiful to God, too. I join my prayers with the others.

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
