RSS

Take The Land-part 1

20 Aug

My world turned upside down.

“Take The Land

Reap a harvest

Don’t look at it, take it

The victory is ours. At the end of the book God wins

The gates of hell will not prevail against what God has called you to do

God has called you right now to move right now

Your destiny isn’t some far off future; it’s now.

When God calls you to move, your procrastination is sin”

And I’m in the back thinking, “Oh yes! Preach it! Amen! Throw down the gauntlet to THOSE kids! What a great message for THOSE middle-schoolers! Wow!”

And it was.

until…

MY son (who’s been home schooled all his life & has NEVER wanted to go to school) said on Monday,
“Mom, I think God is calling me to Landings.”(the local middle school.)
Me: Really? Why?
Nathan: Because of what Allans said on Sunday. And because of the Sun Stand Still (another series they did over a year ago based on Joshua 10).

WHAT?!?!? ARE YOU SURE YOU HEARD CORRECTLY?!?!? I’M SURE THAT’S NOT WHAT YOU HEARD!!! I CAN HEAR GOD’S VOICE BETTER THAN YOU CAN!!!  God was gracious and stopped the flood of things that were on my tongue! After I stopped hyperventilating, I thought OK – maybe it was a fluke. He said it after he was frustrated with math. Let it ride.

But he said it again on Tuesday. And his main reasons were spiritual. He was responding to what he’d heard in church. What do Tim & I do with that one???

  • we had him list his pros and cons of both Home School and Landings Middle
  • we told him he needed to be 100% sure that’s what God wanted him to do
  • we tried to help him be realistic without being overly negative
  • we told him to pray & that we would too

I tried to talk him out of it by reminding him he’d already doubled his territory at Landings this year since he was planning on going to both advanced and jazz band classes. Nathan’s response: “Well I’ll just sextuple it!” (since there are 6 periods in the day!)

When Nathan seemed pretty sure Tuesday night that God wanted him at Landings, Tim & I huddled up in our room. We discussed the reasons we didn’t want Nathan to go. Most of them were fear-based. We decided the bigger fear – the bigger miss – would be to step in and make Nathan feel like he really didn’t know how to listen to God – that his response to the message wasn’t valid unless it looked like we thought it should.

God kept whispering to me – “Isn’t that why you wrote the journals?
So that kids could know they can hear God’s voice and respond to His leading on their own?
To give them that courage and independence?
To know that the Holy Spirit is their teacher and He lives inside of them as long as they have trusted my Son & His death on the cross?
Why are you freaking out that your son is responding to Me??

and I’m thinking, “Darn it! Those journals worked just a little too well!”

What other choice did we have? When Nathan confirmed God’s calling to him Wednesday morning we gave him our blessing and enrolled him at Wellington Landings Middle School as a full time student. You can’t argue with God.

click to read part 2 – and I’m sure there will be many other parts throughout the year! 🙂

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “Take The Land-part 1

  1. Dolly@Soulstops

    August 20, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    I’ve been praying for Nathan, and I love how you and Tim listened to God, and didn’t give into your fears…what an amazing young man and how blessed he is to have you both as his parents…HUGS to you, Michelle 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 21, 2012 at 11:15 am

      Love you’re encouragement, Dolly! Hugs back to you. I’m glad God brought us together!

       
  2. inhistiming

    August 20, 2012 at 10:35 pm

    We are praying for you all, and we’ll be cheering Nathan on all year!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 21, 2012 at 11:15 am

      Thanks, Wendy! Sure enjoyed our chat yesterday, and I know Nathan appreciates the prayers and cheers! 🙂 Love ya!

       
  3. Seashore

    August 20, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    You taught your son well.

     
  4. Crazy Blessed

    August 21, 2012 at 9:54 am

    I so enjoyed your honesty and candor in this post! I love that He is responding to the Lord in this way, yet I completely relate to you in the fear departments! (fellow homeschooler/youth worker) What an awesome foundation that has been laid in him to be prepared for school. I will be praying for Nathan to be a mighty warrior for Christ and shine God’s love and light in it. I will also be praying for all of you as you navigate these new changes. 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 21, 2012 at 11:18 am

      Oh, thank you, thank you, thank you! It’s because of prayers like yours that we’ll see fruit. I appreciate your comments!

       
  5. Judy

    August 21, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    Just stumbled on this via Ann Voskamp’s.

    Like Samuel. God calling. Nathan listening with an obedient heart.

    May you have Hannah’s confidence in entrusting Him to the Lord.

     
  6. ljbmom

    August 21, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    You are brave, Michelle. Stepping out of the comfort zone is never easy. I’ll be praying for your sweet boy. I’m thinking he is going to be a blessing to Landings. 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 21, 2012 at 10:26 pm

      Thank you, Laura, for your encouragement. It’s prayers like yours that will make him that blessing (and keep me sane! :-)) Hugs!

       
  7. Sandra at Thistle Cove Farm

    December 4, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    Yeah, me too. I’ve got all the faith I’ll ever need and all that’s in the world.
    until God asks me to move.
    But every time I’ve stepped out in faith, God has used it/worked it for His good. Even those times I still don’t have a clue why I did what I did.
    Except.
    Obedience is better than sacrifice.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      December 11, 2012 at 7:36 pm

      So true, Sandra! Isn’t God amazing?! I love it that His principles are always true. Keep obeying, girl 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
