RSS

Take The Land part 2-Middle School Mission Field

22 Aug

Nathan has been called to the Middle School Mission Field.

How I appreciated those words from my friend Joy as I tried to explain to other home school moms why I had just enrolled my son at Wellington Landings Middle School! That’s exactly what happened. I’ve just been too shocked, then super busy, to be able to put it into words. (read Part 1 here)

Seems like God never gives me a ton of time with this kind of decision! He must know I’d over-think it and try to get out of it or control it. We put Michael in school for his 3rd grade year – which happened in a matter of days. Same thing here. Nathan’s initial suggestion about going to Landings came exactly one week before the first day of school!  (By the way, I fired most of the student ministries staff last week and took the book of Joshua out of the Old Testament – or at least told them they can’t use it for any messages any more, so I think we’re ok now. Not that any of that really happened, but it made me feel better to think it & threaten it! :-))

Seriously, though, I loved seeing what God has done during the week.

1 – Tim gave Nathan the Object Lesson of the year. Nathan was on a chair & Tim said, “Pull me up.” Of course, Tim went nowhere! When Tim pulled on Nathan, down he went – easily. I think Nathan got the picture!

2 – Nathan has been very realistic about what to expect and how he’s going to approach the year. I’m praying for a specific proactive plan for him. Most of what he’s thinking right now is reactive. It’s good, just reactive.

3 – I’ve so appreciated and enjoyed the enthusiastic support friends & family have given us! My friend Kadi reminded me that Nathan’s been prepared to face hostility from his teachers because of his football experience last year! Only GOD!

4 – God even gave Nathan a little bump in the road over the weekend, which provided a great chance to talk about opposition and how sneaky the enemy can be.

5 – I really do have an absolute gut-centered peace about this year, even though it doesn’t look anything like I planned it! I was as certain as I could be that all 3 boys would be home this year. But in the planning and prep, I put Michael & David together for this year for the 1st time. Usually it’s Michael paired with Nathan. God had me ready without my knowing it! Nathan’s decision didn’t really impact the flow of my home school day.

6 – As I typed out the last post, line after line confirmed Nathan’s decision. Then the sermon in middle school this week was another confirmation. It was “Next Steps” (Joshua 3) – absolutely perfect for Nathan before his 1st day!

  • Get your heart right: Make sure you don’t have sin in your life. Make sure you take every step with Christ
  • Decide who you’re walking with (Nathan starred this point)
  • Know your role (Nathan starred this point, too & wrote – Plant the seeds) more confirmation for me that Nathan is being realistic and not idealistic. One of my fears was that he’d be discouraged if he didn’t see any fruit this year. But planters don’t see the fruit! 🙂
  • Celebrate the GOD moments – in both high and low places.
  • Bottom Line (this was for me!) – if you don’t take your next step you’ll miss the God moments

So today, Nathan took his first Next Step. He went to Wellington Landings Middle School. He was nervous about the schedule, since he hadn’t seen it before, and getting around.

When he got in the car this afternoon he said, “One blessing we have to thank God for. My first class was band! Then one of my friends showed me where to go to my next class since he was going that direction. Nice move.”

Ready to Take The Land!

We’re looking forward to many more blessings we need to thank God for on this journey!
We know it won’t all be sunshine, rainbows and cotton candy,
but every lesson will be worth it!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Take The Land part 2-Middle School Mission Field

  1. Dolly@Soulstops

    August 22, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    Love how God goes before us, for you and Nathan (Deut. 31:8)…still praying…love how you and Tim are preparing him…Hugs to you, Michelle 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 26, 2012 at 5:09 pm

      Thanks tons, Dolly! Keep praying and thanks for the hug! 🙂

       
  2. Sherrey Meyer

    August 23, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    We’re neighbors at Grace Cafe this morning, and I enjoyed reading both parts of Take the Land. You have an incredible son in Nathan, one who obviously listens to the words all around him. And all of you are listening to God and His plan! How wonderful to raise children to be God listeners. 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 26, 2012 at 5:10 pm

      Thank you, Sherrey, for your encouraging words! I agree, but have to admit I was taken aback just a bit with this change! Really (in my flesh) wanted to step in there and adjust the tuning! 🙂

       
  3. Jean Wise

    August 23, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    Been praying for Nathan and you through this transition. I love your heart that sees how God’s hand in is all this. so often we missed His touch.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 26, 2012 at 5:11 pm

      Oh thank you, Jean! Please keep those prayers coming. It’s what will get all of us through & will give those victory stories that are coming.

       
  4. Joan

    August 24, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    Oh Michele – it seems you have a little evangelist here. I’m thinking of a verse in Joshua: “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:9)

    Blessings,
    Joan

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 26, 2012 at 5:12 pm

      A perfect verse for him this year, Joan! Thank you so much for sharing. Blessings to you also. 🙂

       
  5. Dolly@Soulstops

    August 25, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    Hi Michelle,

    I tagged you in my post http://soulstops.com/post/2012/08/23/Eleven-Random-Things-About-Me-and-then-some.aspx I hope you will join in as I would love to get to know you better 🙂

     
  6. Sandra at Thistle Cove Farm

    December 4, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    Obedience is better than sacrifice so God will enlarge that Godly young man’s territory even more. Bless your son for being willing to be used by God. Bless you and your husband for leading Nathan the way God would have him go.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      December 11, 2012 at 7:37 pm

      Thanks so much, Sandra! Nathan’s had some neat opportunities to share his faith. Knowing that Nathan was responding to God’s working in his life has helped me have some peace. I really appreciate your encouragement! 🙂 Blessings to you!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
