RSS

11 Random Questions to answer

30 Aug

This one’s because of a new blogging friend, Dolly, at Soul Stops. She sent me this.
My 11 questions to my Liebster Award winners are:

1. Are you a morning person, or a night owl? Or neither?

Definitely a night owl!

2. Who has had the biggest positive influence in your life?

My parents, especially my mom

3. Why? if you answered Question #2

Both Mom & Dad made God their priority and lived that out in front of my brother & me. When my dad went to seminary I was in 5th grade. Although he had a tough work load, he never missed a piano recital of mine or a soccer game of my brother’s. He even coached Matt’s team one season! Mom is wonderful at discerning and asking questions to help me see where I’ve been and where I’m going. She still asks great questions & they both pray for Tim & me & the boys daily. They instilled Biblical principles into us from an early age. Some of my earliest memories are of them reading The Bible In Pictures for Little Eyes at bedtime, and of us going to church as a family. I sure do appreciate the Godly heritage I’ve been given!

4. What is something God is teaching you lately?

I’m still processing this one, but (little scary for me here!) the theme of silence has come up often in the past few weeks. hmmm. That’s a toughie for me since my favorite spiritual gift is the gift of gab πŸ™‚

5. What do you know now that you wish you knew 5 years ago?

I’m not sure, but I do know that I appreciate who I am more now than I did when I was younger. (That makes me sound old, I think, and I’m not old! :-))

6. What makes your heart sing for joy?

Seeing God reveal Himself to me or others in His word. I just love reading the Word and having something jump out at me! Then being able to see His hand in what’s happening in the circumstances of life. That’s mainly what I blog about.

7. What are your favorite foods?

Appetizers – Super Bowl Party food!

8. What do you look for in a friend?

Probably the biggest thing is reciprocity.

9. How did you come to have a love relationship with God based on faith?

Through my parents, which is another reason they’re my biggest influence. I remember the morning I climbed into their bed and told them I wanted to trust Jesus. They explained to me that I was a sinner and that sin separated me from God. Then they told me that Jesus had come to earth to die on the cross & take the payment for my sin on Himself. I accepted God’s gift of eternal life that morning with my parents’ help. The more I get to know God the more amazed I am!

10. What do you most want me to know about you? OR How can I pray for you today?

I love to read! Absolutely love!
As far as prayer goes, I’ve got two. 1st – pray that I will listen to God daily (even if He’s going to take me down a road learning about silence!), and operate in His strength, not mine. 2nd – pray for schooling this year: for Nathan, who’s in public school for the 1st time because he’s obeying God’s call to be a light, and for Michael & David who are home with me. With Nathan gone I lost my buffer between my last 2 πŸ™‚

BONUS – here is one more random fact about me and one more random tip from me.

1st – I love practical jokes, especially being on the giving end! The best ones are those that aren’t super intentional on our part. Like the time Dave & Kim let us use their house since it was close to church, (& ours wasn’t) we had a youth event on a Saturday night, and they were gone. We made copies of pictures of ourselves & stuck them in their frames. Just for fun we put “Caution, enter if you dare” yellow tape outside their door to make them think we’d really done something to their house. Cute.

The best part was the fact that it was October. And Dave was the pied piper of his neighborhood, always giving to the kids, encouraging them, etc. So when Dave & Kim came home, their front yard was full of kids expecting the haunted house they just knew was behind the “Caution” tape! We couldn’t have done any better!

OR…the time Bart & Shonda let us stay overnight at their house on the way home from vacation. I totally didn’t want to deal with changing sheets for just one night, so we all slept on sleeping bags on top of the beds. Therefore, we didn’t realize that Bart & Shonda’s kids had short sheeted the beds! When they got home they thought we’d done payback, but really they’d short sheeted their own beds. πŸ™‚ Perfect!

Anybody want to invite us over?? πŸ™‚

2nd – Random Tip: it is not wise to combine different brands of bullion cubes without keeping the instructions of both brands. πŸ™‚

PS – Forgot to say: I LOVE that my married initials are ME, cuz that’s who I get to be with Tim. πŸ™‚

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “11 Random Questions to answer

  1. Dolly@Soulstops

    August 30, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    This was so much fun to read, Michelle, and I felt like I got to know you better. Thank you so much for answering. Hmm, I will have to think twice before I invite you over (wink). What a blessing to have had such loving parents, and to have that modeling…Wow! Blessings to you, and your family πŸ™‚

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 30, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      This was fun. Thanks for the award and the idea. Have a wonderful weekend! πŸ™‚

       
      • Dolly@Soulstops

        August 30, 2012 at 7:46 pm

        If you want, feel free to post a link to your answers in the comments section of my blog post. Like Jean, I recommend a silent or semi-silent retreat, even for a day…it is hard at first but then it is great..I have heard from God in new ways whenever I have tried it. Hugs!

         
      • Michelle Eichner

        August 30, 2012 at 10:28 pm

        Thanks, girl. Hugs to you, too.

         
  2. Jean Wise

    August 30, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    I really enjoyed reading these answers. I put mine on Dolly’s comment section if you want to read mine.

    I find silence to be a wonderful place of growth. ever try a silent retreat?

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      August 30, 2012 at 7:31 pm

      I’ve never tried a silent retreat, but I have had 2 times where I spent one hour of silence. It was profound. Thanks for your encouragement. And I loved reading your answers, too. πŸ™‚

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
