RSS

CHANGE in 5 minutes

31 Aug

God did it.

Again!

Had me ready for the 5 minute Friday topic…

CHANGE of running time this morning

Sharing with the girls that I wasn’t sure it would work.

Why?

The less than stellar beginning of our home school year.

Yep. Reality Check

(funny, God was convicting me I needed to post about this side of life anyway,
lest any of you think things here are always peachy!! 🙂
and funny that the home school front has been the battle ground!
Landings has been easy peasy..so far. Nathan’s had some battles, just not on that front.))

Lost my buffer when life CHANGED & my oldest enrolled at Landings

Left with my 2 sparks – who are all in!
Either all in giggly and silly with each other (which frustrates their No Nonsense Mama to no end!)
OR all in – fighting like cats and dogs.
Not a lot of middle ground with my 2 youngest.

Sooo… I was sharing with the girls how things weren’t going as smoothly as I would like.
Lots of pulling teeth to focus and finish (yep, that’s my mantra lately!)

What a CHANGE when I came home! Both David & Michael were busy with their work and had been!

My question to Tim – “What on earth did you tell them this morning? I want to use it daily!”

His response: “We wrestled in bed for a little this morning.”

hmmm. Maybe need to CHANGE the morning routine?? 🙂

In reality, though, as I processed the day I realized CHANGE is needed

IN ME!

God convicted me today that my attitude hasn’t been right.

There’s land to take right here! In my home!

Attitudes and habits that need to CHANGE to be in line with God’s.

And that CHANGE starts with me, so battles can be won in God’s strength.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “CHANGE in 5 minutes

  1. heatherlapierre

    August 31, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    This was soooo good! I just started home schooling our 7th grade daughter; but only 2 days a week; this was our first week; and while it went well I see too I need to change my attitude about it. I tend to be strict and by the book- I’m not the type who likes to veer in any other direction but my own. This experience is going to change our relationship for the better, I just know it. The part about battles being won by Gods strength through our change is just PERFECT! Thank you so much for sharing.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      September 1, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      Oh Heather, I’m so glad God brought you this way!! I love how He encourages us. Blessings in your year!

       
  2. kelli- AdventurezInChildRearing

    August 31, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    Yay! Michelle – I love this – very sweet – and the honesty is so needed. Thanks! I often blog about things that are working for us and snap pictures of our cute projects – I don’t think to snap a picture when the boys are fighting with each other – 6, 7, and 11 year old boys- yup – they are either fighting or wrestling silly on a regular basis! 🙂 thanks for sharing

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      September 3, 2012 at 8:18 pm

      Thanks for the encouragement, Kelli! I too often fall into the “never let ’em see you sweat” trap. My 3 boys are 9,11,13. The 11 & 13 are 18mo. apart. In October I’ll have 9,12,13. 🙂 They keep us on our toes, don’t they?

       
  3. Denise

    August 31, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    Enjoyed this.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      September 1, 2012 at 8:23 pm

      Hey Denise! Thanks. Glad you’re back. I’ve missed seeing you.

       
  4. Wendy

    August 31, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    I was thinking the same thing when I saw the word for today. I had been thinking on change and open doors all day Thursday. Love how He prepares our hearts. Thanks so much for sharing! Blessings!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      September 1, 2012 at 8:23 pm

      Isn’t that so cool? I love it. Glad you stopped by and thanks for your encouragement, Wendy. Blessings to you, too! 🙂

       
  5. Charissa Steyn

    September 1, 2012 at 1:51 am

    soooo true!! there’s always ground to be taken inside our hearts! oh so difficult sometimes!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      September 1, 2012 at 8:24 pm

      Oh yes. Glad He is victorious already!! Thanks for your encouragement, Charissa.

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
