RSS

The Finish Line

17 Sep

God gave me a neat analogy on my morning run today,
thanks to a conversation with my new friend, Holly.

We were talking about how mental running is. Conversation turned to the last (and I do mean LAST!) half-marathon I ran in December. (The first half I ever ran was an amazing experience.) The only reason I wanted to do this local half involved having my family at the finish line. It was a windy day and I didn’t feel too well from about mile 9 to the finish line.

We talked about how tempting it is when you’re by yourself to walk, give up, and not push through. I told her the only thing keeping me going, besides prayer, was knowing my man and my boys were waiting for me at the finish line.  Holly said, “How great is it that God provided someone for you at the finish line to help you get through the race?!” As I processed that comment (because I was too winded to respond! :-)) I thought of how that could be such an encouragement in my spiritual life.

God is waiting for me at the Finish Line!
(this might not be a new revelation to many of you, but it just hit me in such a sweet personal way today!)
He, along with the saints in heaven, is cheering me on!
He gives me everything I need to run this race of life well!
He has plans for my success!
What inspiration to keep going, not walk, not give up, and not faint!! (Galatians 6:9)

Here are some of the scriptures that came to mind as I thought about the Finish Line.

  • Hebrews 12:2 “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him (at the Finish Line – my addition) endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”
  • Hebrews 12:1 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.”
  • 1 Corinthians 9:4 “Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.”
  • 2 Timothy 4:7-8 “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 8 Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.”
 

We’re in this for the long haul.
Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, knowing He’s waiting for us at the finish line, cheering us on as we run.
I want to hear, “Well-done, good and faithful servant”
I want to “run and not be weary, walk and not faint”
I want to keep that Finish Line in sight!
and I’m glad I have people here on earth and in heaven who help me do just that!
How’s it going, fellow race-runners?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 responses to “The Finish Line

  1. inhistiming

    September 17, 2012 at 11:55 am

    So glad he revealed Himself to you in such a personal way this morning! 🙂

     
  2. jeanwise

    September 19, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    What a great reminder! I know when I finished my masters degree and graduated one of my best memories was having the kids and hubby there, front row, cheering me on. will tweet this post. great message.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      September 19, 2012 at 10:26 pm

      Thank you so much, Jean. I’m so glad God put us together!

       
  3. kelli- AdventurezInChildRearing

    September 20, 2012 at 12:03 am

    I love those verse in Timothy! They’ve been favorites since I was a little girl (many many moons ago) Great life lesson – and visual too!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      September 20, 2012 at 9:36 pm

      Thanks, Kelli! I’m so glad you stopped by. Have a super day!

       
  4. Judith

    September 20, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    This is an excellent analogy between running a race and fixing our eyes on Jesus. I stopped over from Hear it on Sunday as I am your neighbor.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      September 20, 2012 at 9:37 pm

      Hi neighbor! 🙂 Thanks for stopping. Keep focused, my friend, and have a great day!

       
  5. Pamela

    September 20, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    I’m running to get the prize! Such an inspiring post to ponder as I fall asleep.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      September 20, 2012 at 9:38 pm

      So glad to have a fellow runner, Pamela! Hope your evening is restful and refreshing so you’re ready for the next leg tomorrow.

       
  6. Theresa@HeavenlyGlimpses

    September 21, 2012 at 10:29 am

    I can relate to this one, as I ran a 30k trail run this past June and wrote a similar post! Well done. 🙂

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
