RSS

Yom Kippur

28 Sep

Today is Yom Kippur

The Day of Atonement

A few weeks ago I had the privilege of taking the boys to a class on Jewish Feasts, taught by a mom and daughter who are Messianic Jews. We learned about Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur. I so loved learning some of the Jewish traditions that I didn’t know about. I also enjoyed participating in some. At the end of class we walked quietly over to the lake, where we cast our bread crumbs on the water, signifying that our sins are buried in the deepest sea, as far as the east is from the west. We wrote our names on red heart-shaped balloons, which we let go, to symbolize God’s love for us. We followed that with communion.

2 things the ladies said stuck out to me.

  1. When the scapegoat was lead out of the tabernacle through the camp to the wilderness, the people would have been gathered around. They would have jeered at, mocked, spat at, and generally denigrated the scapegoat. Such a picture of Jesus’ walk to Calvary!
  2. The SON of the priest was the one who had a large part of the atonement ceremony. When the gals said that, it leaped out at me! What another amazing parallel! The SON involved in making atonement for the people. Anyone who says God’s Word isn’t alive just hasn’t read it!

Today I’m celebrating the Atonement made by Jesus Christ on the cross.
I’m covered by His blood and my sins are gone – in the depths of the sea – as far as the east is from the west. Hallelujah!
Just had to share those neat insights God gave me last week.
What is God showing you from His Word?
I love hearing!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Yom Kippur

  1. DollyL (@SoulStops)

    October 2, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    what great insights…can see Jesus in the OT if one knows how to see…blessings, Michelle 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      October 11, 2012 at 9:51 pm

      It was a neat class. I hope to learn more! Hugs 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
