RSS

Pass It On

15 Oct

Pass It On –
remember that game?
God’s been reminding me that it’s so much more than a game!
Here’s how.

I was featured at HHM
1st – I read my own post (doesn’t that seem self-serving!!) But I marvel at God’s timing – how I hadn’t sent the post in at first because He wanted to show me something more, and then reading it several months later just when I needed that encouragement to stay the course! He reminded me of the importance of Passing It On to my kids.

2nd – I found a friend’s post that’s got a lot of these same ideas in it, especially the importance of Passing It On to our kids! You can read it here. 

3rd – Today’s message in the Live To Give series. Pastor Robert Morris from Gateway Church was speaking from Exodus 13 on the principle of first. The practice was to take the firstborn of the clean animals and sacrifice to God. The clean redeemed the unclean. What struck me was Exodus 13:14

“In days to come, when your son asks you, ‘What does this mean?’
say to him, ‘With a mighty hand the Lord brought us out of Egypt,
out of the land of slavery.”

The son was to ask, and the parent was to impart the spiritual tradition and lesson of the practice. The parent was to Pass It On. My takeaway?

  • I need to be living a consistent life, a consistent example for my boys. There should be some things in my life that are different from the world’s way of living, so that the boys are curious and ask, “Why?” We should have some spiritual practices in our family that cause the kids to wonder, to ask questions.
  • I need to wait for them to ASK, not simply go around telling all the time. When they ask, their hearts are prepared for the answer and the lessons. How often have I just spouted off, not paying attention to where the boys’ hearts are, and if they’re even receptive to what God has to say. Sometimes they do just need to listen; they do just need to be told. But I’m afraid I too often give info and principles regardless of whether they’re really looking for them or not. (and I end up sounding like the Charlie Brown teacher!! :-))

3 things this week.
And 3 is a pretty neat number in the Bible! 🙂
Are you encouraged? motivated?
Pass It On!

(especially to your kids!)

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “Pass It On

  1. inhistiming

    October 15, 2012 at 9:16 am

    Love your thoughts here. I’ve often thought I should be “spouting off” more. Glad to see that maybe it’s okay that I’m not! Thanks for sharing your heart, and my link. ☺

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      October 20, 2012 at 11:08 am

      Absolutely, my friend! Glad you were encouraged. 🙂

       
  2. Judith (@WholeHeartdHome)

    October 16, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Linking up right after you on Hear it on Sunday. Thank you for sharing your heart in this post today.

     
  3. DollyL (@SoulStops)

    October 16, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    oh, I can relate to your last point of listening more for what our girl is asking about….blessings to you 🙂

     
  4. shortybear

    October 16, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    Really good thoughts.

     
  5. Alecia

    October 17, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    I need to wait more too instead of always telling. I have a very short window when it comes to their attention spans, and I’ve been asking God lately to give me the words that will make the biggest impact in that short time. Sometimes not saying anything, but living it out in front of them makes the biggest impact, and I’m so thankful for the opportunities to get to do this.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      October 20, 2012 at 11:10 am

      So very true, Alecia! I love your wise request for words that make the biggest impact in a short time. Thanks for sharing that and for stopping by. God Bless!

       
  6. Laura Hodges Poole

    October 18, 2012 at 8:00 am

    Great reminder that as parents we need to be listening, not only to our children, but to the leading of the Holy Spirit at work in our children’s lives. I enjoyed this post! (Visiting from OYHT linkup.)

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      October 20, 2012 at 11:10 am

      Thanks, Laura. I need that reminder so often! I appreciate your encouragement.

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
