RSS

Fall Break

22 Oct

Twice in 2 years

I’ve had a crazy chance to go away for a weekend.

And each time has been an amazing blessing!

Last year, at the end of September, I had an amazing weekend with my dear friend Michelle. I flew in, she picked me up, we went to her house to grab a few things and hit the road to attend a women’s event at a church some friends, Mia & Bethany, are involved with. The speaker, Lisa, was a friend from my church. It was like Old Home Week! Lots of friends meeting up together. But the best part of all was God met with me that weekend – through His Word, and through wonderful friends. I was a weeping mess! (and that’s pretty unusual for me).

Patty & Andy

Last weekend I had another amazing opportunity to take a road trip with Patty & her son to visit my parents. David got to go, too. The other boys were sooo disappointed, but they had sports and school, so enjoyed a bachelor weekend with Dad! I was super blessed this weekend! Here are some of the wonders:

  • weather that got nice and cool at night, but was beautiful during the day. I had to put my jacket on for the last of the Liberty football game.

    fire in the fireplace!

  • Being able to watch Liberty win their homecoming game!!

    prayer after the game

  • visiting an apple orchard and being able to pick some apples. We learned a lot about apples and had the chance to taste a wide variety!
  • such rich conversation – on the road (14 hours – that’s a lot of talkin’!), and at Mom & Dad’s
  • David got to visit with his friend who just moved to the area in the summer

My biggest take away from this past weekend was the reinforcement
that I’ve got the best parents in the world!

If you’re one of the blessed ones who’ve met them, you know what I mean! 🙂
I love how I can share them with so many people!
Friday afternoon I sat in the living room with Wendy, who lives in the area, Patty, and Mom.
I just marveled at how Mom & Dad can make people feel right at home.
Wendy’s family had dinner with Mom & Dad a few weeks ago.
Patty and her husband stayed with Mom & Dad during graduation in May.
College friends still call them “Mom & Dad Babbitt” and love seeing them.

I am who I am because of them, and I couldn’t be more proud of my heritage.
What an awesome weekend!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2012 in Family Fun, My Musings, WOW! Only God!

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Fall Break

  1. Patty

    October 22, 2012 at 9:52 am

    I am so blessed to have been apart of your 2nd fall getaway. Thank you for the awesome conversation, your excitement and your unconditional love. Your parents are the models of what we should be striving for. I see why you are such an amazing woman! Thanks again for the stellar trip. Hugs, Patty

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      October 22, 2012 at 11:22 am

      And I’m so blessed that you thought to take that trip! It was stellar and I appreciate you! Hugs to you, too. Love ya. 🙂

       
  2. Lisa

    October 22, 2012 at 11:51 am

    Your parents sound wonderful! So glad you’ve been blessed with such great get-aways!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      October 30, 2012 at 12:26 pm

      Lisa, they absolutely are! 🙂 Thanks for rejoicing with me. Have a great week!

       
  3. elizabeth ann babbitt

    October 23, 2012 at 3:46 pm

    My dear Michelle, how precious are you words to Dad and me. We are so blessed to have you as our daughter and friend. We love you so very much. You are who you are, however, because of God’s grace in taking care of you through our parenting mistakes. You have learned, regardless of our blunders, to be a woman of God on your own. We thank God for you.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      October 30, 2012 at 12:27 pm

      Mommy, you are the best! Thanks for your example to me. Hope I’m half the mom you are!!

       
  4. path of treasure

    October 26, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    What a wonderful heritage to have been blessed with parents who love the Lord! Sounds like you had a wonderful time. And what a sweet message from your mother, above.

    Thanks for your lovely comment on my blog earlier this week! 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      October 30, 2012 at 12:30 pm

      Isn’t my mom amazing?! 🙂 I’m thankful to be able to share my blessings and am so glad you stopped by. Have a super week!

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.