RSS

political aftermath

07 Nov

Here’s a post I posted on a Facebook group to a group of homeschoolers
who just finished up an election unit coop.

Hey troops.

If you’re like me, you’re feeling a little deflated about the election results. I’ve been thinking about them a lot today, and wanted to challenge you kiddos especially, (but myself as well!)  If we’d had a meeting today, here’s what I’d share with you.

1st – A few verses:

• Isaiah 55:8-9   “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,”  declares the Lord.  “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

• Romans 8:28  “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called  according to his purpose.”

  • Does this mean I like what happened last night? No!
  • Does this mean everything in life will happen like I want it? No
  • Does this mean I will never have tough times? No
  • Does this mean that God is in control? Yes!
  • Does this mean that God wants to use everything that happens for my good? Yes! Not that everything that happens SEEMS good to me, or is easy for me, but that God will use it for good in my life.
  • Does this mean that God is bigger than I am? Yes!
  • Does this mean I can’t always understand what He does or why? Yes!

 It does mean that God has a plan that’s bigger and better than mine.
He is sovereign and what He wants to do is bigger and better than what I can see.
He uses circumstances in ways I could never imagine, and even if things get tough,
He has lessons for me and my family to learn, and areas of growth for us.

 I’ve been convicted during this unit that I’ve placed a lot of my hope in the election, instead of in God.  This season has been a great reminder to me that, ultimately, the answers don’t lie in candidates, but in CHRIST! “In Christ alone, my hope is found, He is my light, my strength, my song. This cornerstone, this solid ground, firm through the fiercest drought and storm.”

Even now, as I’m disappointed in the results, I have to ask “Why?” My honest answer to myself is “Fear.” I’m afraid of what will happen. But – that’s the wrong attitude! 2 Timothy 1:7 “For God did not give us a spirit of fear, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline.” (some translations say “sound mind” at the end). That’s my prayer for us all.

As I’ve pondered this election result, I remembered we are a republic – a representative form of government. What happened last night represents where our country is. And it shows us that lots of people – the majority of people – aren’t seeing things God’s way and they’re not living God’s way. We can’t expect them to elect the right leadership when they’re not seeing clearly. That’s where we need to start – with the people, not the leadership.

 SO. Here’s my challenge.

1 – Influence your land! Take the land that God has given you. Start now to change the course of your elections by influencing those around you.

  • Be bold to share Jesus Christ with those around you
  • Live a life that makes Jesus Christ look amazing
  • Educate people about the foundation of our great country
  • Remember that we also elect senators and representatives in both the US House/Senate, and the FL state House/Senate. There’s another election coming up in 2 years that’s every bit as important as the one we just had!

2 – Pray about being a candidate some day! We need people who are strong spiritual leaders to lead our country, just like our founders were. Start practicing that kind of life-style right now and be like Daniel. When his enemies (in government!) wanted to get him, they couldn’t find anything bad to say about him. So they had to make it illegal to pray.

3 – Pray for our elected leaders. Just like we talked about in class 🙂 Remember the week we talked about submitting to the governing authorities, and praying for our leaders. Do it. Often. 🙂

Love you guys. Thanks for the privilege of studying our country and the election process together!

Mrs. Michelle

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “political aftermath

  1. elizabeth ann babbitt

    November 8, 2012 at 8:12 am

    Great post! I needed that. Last night I shared a verse in Life Group that has been an encouragement to me as I have said it over and over to myself. It is Joshua 1:9 where God said, “Have I not commanded you to be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or discouraged. The Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

     
  2. Jennifer@GDWJ

    November 14, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    Such a thoughtful, Christ-like response. Good work, here.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      November 26, 2012 at 1:37 pm

      Jennifer, thanks for that encouragement! I appreciate it.

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
