RSS

What color is your thumb?

19 Nov

My friend Holly gave me a plant today!

(Bless her heart, she has NO idea what I do to plants!
In fact, this summer Mom, Auntie, & Honey went out for a girls’ lunch.
It was a super special time! We decided to commemorate it with little pots that we could plant things in.
Mine’s still empty because I can’t kill air!!)

My friend Kerri then told the story of 2 plants she was given on her wedding day.

  • One plant-giver told her, “You can’t kill this thing! You could put it under your bed and it would still survive.”
  • The 2nd plant-giver told her, “You really need to take care of this plant. It needs lots of attention.”

Which one do you think survived? Kerri told us that the one that was supposed to be indestructible was dead before their first anniversary, but the one that needed attention was still alive and thriving, 25 years and 2 states later!

Immediately I was struck and told Kerri, “That’ll blog, girl!!”
Kerri has been cultivating her plant and her marriage and is going on 25+ years for both!
She’s a great example to me. What a great object lesson!
I love it when God gives me tidbits like that!
The plant, or relationship, that I take care of and give attention to will thrive.
The one I neglect and put under the bed will die.
And if I’m afraid to put anything in the pot, what beauty do I miss?

        

What color is your thumb?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 19, 2012 in My Musings

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “What color is your thumb?

  1. Jennifer 'Miner' Ferguson

    November 19, 2012 at 11:14 am

    You know, I take better care of my plants outside than inside. I can’t seem to remember to water my houseplants. What does this say about me??

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      November 26, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      I do, too – because God or the sprinkler system does the work for me!! 🙂 You made me laugh. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂 Hugs!

       
  2. elizabeth ann babbitt

    November 19, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    Great food for thinking and doing.

     
  3. studiojru

    November 20, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Love, love, love this lesson and reminder!! 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      November 26, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      I’m so glad you were encouraged! Thanks for stopping by.

       
  4. laura

    November 21, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    Michelle, this is such a good story. And so, so true. So many relationships that I need to pill out from under the bed…

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      November 26, 2012 at 1:39 pm

      I love it when things just pop out and almost write themselves. 🙂 Glad you were encouraged. Have a wonderful day! Hugs to you, Laura 🙂

       
  5. Jean Wise

    November 21, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    I am a plant killer too. Tending and cultivating is a skill. I heard a few months ago a quote by Plato that stayed with me: What you honor will be cultivated. Sounds like your friend Kerri honors her marriage. good thought, Michelle. Have a great Thanksgiving

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      November 26, 2012 at 1:40 pm

      You know, Jean, I never really looked at tending and cultivating as skills. I’m glad I’m not alone in the plant killer category!! 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, too. We enjoyed ours & it provided several blog post opportunities 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
