RSS

Cruise Control!

26 Nov

Van packed with people

Open road ahead

Cruise Control!

Eat up the miles

I thought about this as our family was traveling together. Cruise Control. It can be a good thing.

  • keeps you traveling habitually at the same rate of speed
  • keeps the gas mileage good
  • makes the drive a bit easier for the driver – he/she (usually Tim in our case!) has a little more freedom to move
  • the driver is able to concentrate on other things than keeping the speed constant

Then I thought about my spiritual walk. I’ve written before that my background makes it pretty easy for me to switch on the cruise mode. Is Cruise Control a good thing in my spiritual life? Is it a good thing

  • to have habits?
  • to have the journey a bit easier?

I love it when I’ve had a post brewing in my head for awhile,
and before I get to the keyboard,
God gives me just a little something!

First – I thought about the fact that with cruise control on Tim does have a little more latitude in his ability to move around. And I think that’s a good thing. Instead of being focused on keeping his foot on the gas, Tim can enjoy the scenery a bit more, pay attention to other aspects of driving. He has more freedom. For a little bit on our trip it went out, and Tim really missed it! The driving wore on him more.

I think that’s a good thing in my spiritual walk. Instead of being worried about basics, I can enjoy the scenery a bit more, pay more attention to God’s leading moment by moment, have more freedom, and not get as worn down.

Then – yesterday I was helping our Student Ministry team with Next groups. The students met to study in more depth the passage used in the message over the weekend. What a thrill! 🙂 God spoke to me (as always!) through His word.

Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—
put it into practice.
And the God of peace will be with you.
Philippians 4:9

PRACTICE! Doing something over and over. Why does anyone practice anything?

  • to become better
  • to make a skill become more commonplace or habitual (you know – muscle memory)
  • to get the basics down so that he/she can move on to more complicated things

And I appreciated spiritual Cruise Control!
Not that I want to rely on myself, but God showed me the benefit of that practice.
“Cruise Control” in my spiritual life
– good spiritual habits –
is a blessing!
And I was encouraged!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2012 in My Musings

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Cruise Control!

  1. DollyL (@SoulStops)

    November 26, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    Hi Michelle,

    Good spiritual habits/practices…grateful…hope you had a great Thanksgiving with your family 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      November 27, 2012 at 7:19 pm

      Yes, I did. Hope you did too. Thanks for your encouragement. Hugs! 🙂

       
  2. Tereasa

    November 26, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    Rest was created by God. It can be a good thing to get to a point that we can use cruise for a while. It is a state of rest without being in a rut.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      November 27, 2012 at 7:19 pm

      What a profound thought, Tereasa! Not surprised 🙂 Hugs to you!

       
  3. Jean Wise

    November 27, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    wow lots to chew on with this post. one I reread several times. Often when I know the road is safe and use cruise control in my spiritual walk is also the time to explore new ways to hear God, like through contemplative prayer, more indepth journaling. Great post, Michelle

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      November 27, 2012 at 7:20 pm

      Thank you so much, Jean. Your encouragement is music to my ears.

       
  4. laura

    November 28, 2012 at 11:29 am

    This is an interesting perspective, Michelle. I am a creature of habit and tend to get in ruts if I keep that cruise control in for too long. That is one reason Playdates with God was created–to keep me open to the wonder. But this–thinking of it as practice…this is a good way of viewing our spiritual disciplines.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      December 2, 2012 at 6:11 pm

      Thank you so much, Laura. I understand the tension between the 2 because I feel it so often. I enjoy Playdates for that very reason! 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
