RSS

OVERWHELMED!!

25 Dec

Beautiful Saturday morning – and not just the cool weather. I was looking forward to breakfast with the Firehouse 7 (my runnin’ buddies), and wasn’t disappointed with the food or the conversation. It sure is easier to chat around a breakfast table than when you’re running 5 miles!

DSC05558

Then came the gifts. Honestly, words fail. The Firehouse 7 had me in tears, which is no small feat.

Here’s the back story.
I had been participating in an exercise program called HEW (Hard Exercise Works)

because I had a coupon for 5 weeks. I actually enjoyed it (as much as I can enjoy exercise!), and saw 
results in lost weight and inches. But I knew going in that I could only do those 5 weeks due to cost.  I was a little bummed to be finished, but pleased with my results. I planned to keep working on my own.

Earlier this week I got an email about a possible tutoring opportunity.
You know those kind that just scream your name?
The “this is a No-Brainer!” kind?
Yeah, this was that kind of opportunity.
I talked with the lady
 and made arrangements to meet her and her child at a park.
Tim saw no red flags, which is
 always a great sign!
A direct answer to prayer, I thought! I had been praying about a part-time job.
This was perfect!

And I started counting chickens before they hatched. In fact, mine were flying everywhere!
My 1st thought was, “YEA! I’ll get to do  HEW again!”…and I had other dreams.
After meeting the lady, I went to church to
 help a friend.
When I got home Tim told me, “I’ve got some bad news.
The lady emailed to say the tutoring
 wasn’t going to work out.”
Crushed, disappointed, bummed, sad – all of the above.

I really struggled to see positives in this, to be honest.
I did find a few, but overall I was
 super disappointed.
Really. Really. Disappointed.
As I talked with Tim and shared with Kerri both said, “God
 has something better.”
Which I knew in my head, but was really having a hard time with.

Until this morning.

DSC05562

The Firehouse 7 girls got together to give me a month at HEW! Like I said, it brought me to tears! Not only to see God’s blessing of more HEW, but to realize the blessing of their friendship. Because HEW conflicts with running schedules. That’s the beauty of their gift – totally unselfish, totally demonstrating their friendship. Friends who know me well enough to know how I’d appreciate that gift. Friends who bless me beyond words! Really, all these words don’t do today justice.

The gift is amazing.
The friends behind the gift are beyond amazing!
I am OVERWHELMED!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 25, 2012 in 1000 Gifts, WOW! Only God!

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “OVERWHELMED!!

  1. Dionne

    January 1, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    What a beautiful way to be overwhelmed!!! Blessing to you in the new year.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      January 1, 2013 at 1:41 pm

      Thank you so much, Dionne. Happy New Year to you today. God’s Blessings to you also.

       
  2. Jennifer 'Miner' Ferguson

    January 1, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    Oh! That is awesome! God rocks!!

     
  3. seashore

    January 1, 2013 at 10:10 pm

    Thanks for sharing this beautiful story of friendship.

     
  4. Kathleen Jaeger

    January 2, 2013 at 2:05 am

    Your story reminds me of my own birthday story this past year == thank you for calling it into remembrance. It is good to remember how we are loved! All that to say, I’m so glad you were suurounded by deep loving friends at just the right time…I can relate.

    –Visiting from SDG.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      January 2, 2013 at 9:21 am

      Isn’t it such a neat experience? Thanks for visiting & Happy New Year! 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
