RSS

Many Words for the One Word

07 Jan

Of course, in my world, one word is never sufficient!
(It would be fine in my brother’s world, but not mine!)

OneWord2013_Discipline

It was the first and only word that came to me when thinking about one word for the year. Not that I pondered long, studied hard, or thought deeply as some of you have! (feeling just a bit guilty here!) But I liked all the different nuances this word has for me, and I know I need to be more disciplined in…

  • my use of time (this is my major focus this year) I have to be the oddest combination of a structured- scheduled free-spirit that exists! My goal is to bring some of that free spirit under control to be more productive with time! This includes getting enough sleep, too. Not easy for this night owl!
  • how I discipline the boys
  • what I eat
  • exercise
  • my spiritual disciplines – consistency in reading, prayer, journaling

I have to admit – part of the reason I resonated with this word relates to the relative success I’ve had in the past month with eating and exercise. Pretty sneaky, huh?! Pick a word that I’m already successful with!

WELL… let me be honest.

Since I’ve put that out there for everyone in cyberspace, I have NOT been as successful with my discipline of what goes into my mouth. God has a way of humbling me! He’s reminding me that the success I had in late November & early December with HEW (Hard Exercise Works) really was about HIM, not ME!!! And HE’s the ONE, the only One, Who will help me with discipline this year.OneWord2013_Discipline

I’m thinking that this discipline thing is going to be more involved than I thought. In other words, I won’t be able to hit “cruise control” like I thought. It’s pervasive! Kinda like the word in the button – running into and over and around everything. (Thanks again, Melanie!)

But it’s also a great chance for me to listen for God’s voice
and respond in obedience. And that’s a discipline, too!

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Many Words for the One Word

  1. Dolly@Soulstops

    January 7, 2013 at 8:07 pm

    Yes, so true, what you wrote…it is a discipline to hear and obey His voice…I just picked my word after praying as it kept coming up…yes, I need things to be obvious 🙂 I hope to blog on it later this week…Happy New Year, Michelle 🙂 or should I just wish you much discipline (wink)

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      January 8, 2013 at 9:55 pm

      I think I’ll take the Happy New Year!! 🙂 Can’t wait to read about your one word. Hugs to you and Happy New Year, too!

       
  2. Dionne

    January 7, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    Oh, discipline is a great, but hard word. Mine is weak and not my first choice. Don’t we all have an area (or more if we are honest) that could use some, ahem, God spankings? I don’t mean to sound harsh (definitely not what I am intending here) so I hope that ya know that I am on board to encourage you (if ya need or want some)! But, you said the best thing when you said it was Him and not you doing all that work which means YOU will succeed (smile). Blessing to you and praying for you!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      January 8, 2013 at 9:56 pm

      Thanks so much for your kind words, Dionne! I sure appreciate the prayers! Happy New Year 🙂

       
  3. laura

    January 9, 2013 at 12:28 pm

    Tis is a good word, Michelle, because you can apply it to any area of life. Wishing you that good things would come from your discipline in 2013!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      January 11, 2013 at 9:47 pm

      Thank you, Laura. I’m beginning to realize it’s bigger than I thought it would be!! Hugs 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
