RSS

5 Minutes on DIVE

11 Jan

It’s 5 Minute Friday. Write for 5 minutes on one topic. Go.

DIVE

Well, really more like STEP – as in step out of the boat
or it could be DIVE in there and dig up that buried talent.

Yes, I said buried talent – as in the guy Jesus talked about who dug a hole and put his talent in it
because he was afraid.

That was me these past few weeks.

I have a treasure and I’ve wanted to hang on to that treasure. Because to use it means the certainty of it goes away. Yes, it would be helpful to me and enjoyable to me. But when it’s gone, it’s gone and I have no guarantee I can continue.

I’m talking about my precious gift certificate for 4 more weeks of HEW. (You can read the whole story here.)

God convicted me that I was operating in fear by not using that.
So next week I start back.
It’s a DIVE – A step out of the boat, like Peter.
And just like a kid on the high dive, I’m a little apprehensive!

Do I have any opportunities for income on the horizon? No.
Might this be my last 4 weeks at HEW? Yes
Does God want me to step out and enjoy them without worry or fear? Yes
So I will.

I’m DIVING into this treasure. And I’m DIVING into exploring income-generating opportunities for me. Since my 1st priority is homeschooling the boys, it has to be just the right opportunity.

Mostly, I’m DIVING into a deeper dependence on God. (more on that in a later post!)

Time’s up.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2013 in 5 Minute Fridays

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “5 Minutes on DIVE

  1. Nicole

    January 11, 2013 at 9:30 am

    Hi Michelle! Visiting from #FMF. I really like this- that diving in can mean trusting that when once you let go- God is holding on for you. Good luck in your new opportunities! (I’m going to read up on the links to get the whole story!) Happy Friday! 🙂

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      January 11, 2013 at 9:48 pm

      Glad you stopped by, Nicole. Hope you enjoy the story. The last chapter hasn’t been written… 🙂 Happy Friday to you also.

       
  2. Dionne

    January 11, 2013 at 10:04 am

    I hope you relish in enjoyment of your gift certificate! Praying for your courage to step out of the boat and know that the treasures aren’t going away. 😉 Blessings to you.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      January 11, 2013 at 9:48 pm

      Thanks, Dionne. I know I’ll enjoy being at HEW again. I really appreciate that idea that the treasures aren’t going away! Thanks for the encouragement 🙂

       
  3. Jennifer 'Miner' Ferguson

    January 11, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    I just saw a quote on FB today by CS Lewis that says “Don’t let your happiness depend on something you can lose.” That really convicted me — my joy needs to be in Him and not the gifts He gives me. The gifts are for me ENjoy.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      January 11, 2013 at 9:49 pm

      So very true! And I can never out-give Him anyway, right?! Thanks, girl! Hugs 🙂

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
