RSS

5 Minutes on BARE

08 Feb

It’s 5 Minute Friday. And I’m taking 5 Minutes to write – something I haven’t done all week.

The topic is BARE

as in…stripped,
no mask,
no pretensions,

vulnerable,
open,
real

as in…don’t have it all together

as in…the homeschool coop coming over when

  • the week has been utterly chaotic
  • there’s no water in the house because it’s day 3 of repairs
  • my room looks like a tornado hit it!
  • the water department is here as everyone arrives
  • it was too late to cancel or re-schedule the coop
  • I’m so incoherent I can’t even tell Jenny how to help
  • I have to leave 45 minutes into the coop to get Nathan from school early so I can take him to church in 20 minutes because he’s playing drums for middle school
  • I’m so incoherent I can barely string a sentence together

in short – UNCOMFORTABLE!!
NOT my favorite position to be in!!
lacking,
not together
falling short

BUT
(as always – only GOD!)
without BARE…

there’s no need for covering
no chance for others to pitch in & cover…
no chance for the homeschool coop moms to…

  • wipe my table
  • wash my dishes
  • clean my kitchen
  • accept the chaos with unmatched grace
  • love unconditionally
  • be the hands and feet of Jesus

No need to practice the discipline of depending on God.

When I’m BARE,

HE’S THE ONE THERE!

Because less of me is more of Him.

Thank you Jesus!!

5-minute-friday-1

PS – Then I visited Ann Voskamp’s blog and saw this – perfect!

AnnFB388.6

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2013 in 5 Minute Fridays

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “5 Minutes on BARE

  1. 3dLessons4Life

    February 8, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    Amen to that! So thankful that He gets me through those “crazy days.” Hugs

     
  2. Dolly@Soulstops

    February 8, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    I hear you, sweet friend…He is there, but can I say sometimes the process to get “bare” is a little painful…at least for me 🙂 Blessings to you, Michelle and hugs 🙂

     
  3. acupofearlgreywithme

    February 9, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    Excellent encouragement! The “bare” truth. 🙂

     

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
