RSS

Princess Weekend

04 Mar

What a weekend!

We ran the Disney Princess half-marathon last weekend,
which was fun
– as fun as running 13.1 miles can be πŸ™‚

Don’t tell anyone I said this….
but I might actually be willing to do this one again next year if they do it.
When the reason for running is for others & their benefit
it makes it easier to say yes. πŸ™‚

Here are highlights of the weekend:

  • being able to raise awareness of human trafficking
  • Hope Runhearing about how God is working in the lives of the girls at Hope House. It was soooo cool to hear about how God is doing wonderful things with the girls, and softening their hearts more quickly than anticipated!
  • We also heard that Hope for Freedom has gotten permission from the school district to go into middle schools to raise awareness! They’re already scheduled for one high school. Nathan is praying with his prayer group that Hope for Freedom will be able to get to their middle school! Awesome!
  • having dinner with all the girls running the race – being able to connect and share with precious friends and meet new ones!
  • photo-93seeing other runners from a completely different group with T-Shirts about ending human trafficking! How cool was that?!
  • Having our own personal cheerleaders during the race! Connie & Lynn were at every possible cheering spot, and that is NO small feat! We saw them every time! What a boost!! I know the picture is blurry (proof we were running :-)) but the joy on their faces radiates! Like Tim said, this is such a demonstration of encouragement! This was the 1st encouragement stop.
  • 1-Connie-LynnGreat conversation with my roommie – even though we should have stopped talking earlier to get ready for the 3:15am wake up call! But you get 2 gals together with the gift of gab, and…. well you can guess πŸ™‚
  • Thinking about training and how that relates to my spiritual walk – but that’s another post πŸ™‚
  • Having the perfect encouragement card sent to me with a donation before the race
  • DSC05667Having fun along the way
  • castleFinishing!! (especially after saying I’d never do another half!! :-)) And feeling pretty good about it. Ok, I have to admit, I did throw up just a little bit when I ate too fast after the race. But, seriously, that was just the food going down & coming back up. Michael thought that was the best part of the race though!

1 ME medal

It was a fun weekend!

As I looked at my bib, I kept thinking of the girls who are at Hope House right now,
learning that they are indeed Princesses,
that they were created to be Daughters of the King!
I don’t know their names, but I wanted to substitute theirs for mine!!

1Princess

Thanks to all of you who supported my effort to raise funds for Hope House,
the safe house for the girls
who have been rescued out of human trafficking.
You’re welcome to visit the site and donate still!

 
16 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2013 in My Musings, WOW! Only God!

 

Tags: , ,

16 responses to “Princess Weekend

  1. Jennifer 'Miner' Ferguson

    March 4, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    It would be so fun if you could come run one in Texas!! We could do it together!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 7, 2013 at 1:56 pm

      Oh yes! 2 Texas girls together for 13.1 miles – might be dangerous!! πŸ™‚ It would be fun. Hugs!

       
  2. Erin

    March 4, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    I love you roomie! You are precious! This is a wonderful post!! Xxxooo! Give yourself a hug 😘

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 7, 2013 at 1:57 pm

      You are wonderful!! So glad I had such a super roomie. Hugs to you, too! πŸ™‚

       
  3. Lisa notes...

    March 4, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    That is so incredibly awesome that you ran a half-marathon and for such a great cause. I’m glad the Lord rained down blessings on you, and I pray he will keep it up, on you and on the girls at Hope House.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 9, 2013 at 4:29 pm

      Thanks so very much, Lisa! It really was a special weekend.

       
  4. Mia

    March 5, 2013 at 7:30 am

    Hi Michele
    Oh, I enjoyed the race with you by reading your post and sharing in the delight of the pictures. Connie and Lynn are precious! I am so glad that things are going well at Hope House. Yes, there truly is no hurt that the love of Pappa cannot heal.
    Much love
    Mia

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 9, 2013 at 4:30 pm

      So true, Mia. I’m so very glad that the excitement came through! It was a blessed weekend all around and I’m so glad I got to share it with you. I love your last line – there’s no hurt that the love of Pappa can’t heal. Beautiful! Hugs to you!

       
  5. elizabeth ann babbitt

    March 5, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    Dad and I are proud of your participation in such a worthy cause. We love you.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 9, 2013 at 4:31 pm

      I love you, too, and appreciate your support. Mainly I just flat-out appreciate you 2!! πŸ™‚

       
  6. Jean Wise

    March 5, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    so cool and congrats! I love your enthusiasm and the fun you had too.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 9, 2013 at 4:31 pm

      Thanks, Jean, and thanks so much for being a part of it! Hugs to you!

       
  7. jdukeslee

    March 7, 2013 at 12:10 am

    Awesome! I ran a couple half-marathons to raise money for charity, about two years ago. Am eager to go at it again. So proud of you!

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      March 9, 2013 at 4:32 pm

      Thank you, Jennifer. This one was definitely the most fun I’ve had. It was a special weekend. Can’t wait to hear when you get back out there! πŸ™‚ Hugs to you. I appreciate you!

       
  8. MarshaMarshaMarsha

    March 31, 2013 at 1:05 am

    Congratulations on a race well run!!! Wowzers, I honestly cannot imagine running that far! Way to go!!! Thank you for letting me be a part of this– WITHOUT having to break a sweat! LOL

    You bless me.

     
    • Michelle Eichner

      April 17, 2013 at 7:57 am

      I think next time I’ll try that – be a part without the sweat! πŸ™‚ It’s all in the training and who you hang with. I soooo appreciate your support, more than words can convey! I think YOU’RE the blessing. Hugs

       

I enjoy reading your comments and look forward to connecting! Thanks for stopping by.

 
